If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


The Postman Knock #168


Wow. I've just checked and I haven't done one of those since November last year!
Sorry about it, peeps.
There is tons to do on the farm with building, gardening and animals, and I put all non-essential posts on the back burner. Sorry about non-commenting to all my fellow bloggers as well. I haven't been checking anyone's blogs, and to those of you who still comment on mine, - huge thanks, sisters! It always warms my heart to see you saying hello :)

My reading speed has gone down as well, so I'll be struggling a bit in the next month catching up with reviews. I've run out of all the scheduled posts...
but I'm doing a mini Blog Ahead session in the last 2 weeks of March as I need to travel to Russia to see my family, so hopefully I'll be able to catch up.

Anyway, I've been reading and watching some good stuff lately (mostly watching, to be honest)!
This TV series is totally adorable and gorgeous in many ways. It's in Chinese, based on a book I was talking about last year, and so far 30 episodes have English subtitles (more added every week) so you will be able to watch it as well.
What series am I talking about?


This! Holy sh*t, THIS!
Watch it, peeps. I just can't heart it enough.
i even gushed about it here :)

I am reading and listening to some good stuff too, just not fast enough. However,
I can't not recommend this book. SOOO GOOOD!


This is it from me. Stay safe, read some good stuff, lots of love and peace out xxx



Friday Mini Reviews #98: Julia Kent, J.D. Robb & Michelle Sagara




Random Acts of Crazy by Julia Kent (Random #1)

ecopy from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
I never intended to pick up a naked hitchhiker wearing nothing but a guitar. A guitar. Really. I don't collect guys like that (don't ask what kind of guys I do collect), but when you spot a blonde, tanned, sculpted man with a gorgeous smile and his thumb poking up and practically begging you to stop – you stop.

And I definitely never thought I'd be staring into the bright blue eyes of Trevor Connor, the lead singer for Random Acts of Crazy, an indie rock star I followed like the slobbering fileshare fangirl I am. How he came to be nude and lost six hundred miles from home is quite the tale, but how we fell in love is even more unreal.

Because someone like Trevor Connor, headed to Harvard Law next year, isn't supposed to want someone like me, a rural Ohio chick majoring in Boredom at Convenience Store University who is all curves and frizzy blonde hair and manners so unpolished they have sharp edges that make you bleed.

But he did.

When his best friend, Joe Ross, the bass player for Random Acts of Crazy and a man who makes Calvin Klein models look like Shrek, drove eleven hours through the night to rescue him, though, it got real complicated. It's one thing to like two different guys and be torn.

What do you do, though, when maybe – just maybe – you don't have to choose?

As my Aunt Josie says sometimes, "It's always complicated."

* * * * * *
Random Acts of Crazy is a standalone, full-length novel (300+ pages, 85,000 words) featuring Darla Jo(sephine) Jennings, the 22-year-old niece of Josie Mendham from the Her Two Billionaires series. It has, like many New Adult novels, an exploration of sexuality for the three main characters, doesn't shy away from mature content, and Darla has a sailor's mouth.


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10
This was lovely, hot, cute and sweet. A classic story of a lost soul finding what really matters in life because of love of a good woman. It totally didn't need a menage as Trevor and Darla were enough for each other. However, I really enjoyed it. A great comfort read, recommended.
* * *
Это было мило, жгуче, обаятельно и неожиданно пронзительно. Классическая история о блуждающей в потёмках душе, которая находит, что действительно важно в жизни из-за любви хорошей женщины. Здесь совершенно не требовался менаж, он был как палка в колесе, так как Тревору и Дарле было достаточно друг друга. Однако, история вышла всё-равно хорошая и уютная. Рекомендую.


 Obsession in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #40)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

A crisp winter morning in New York. In a luxury apartment, the body of a woman lies stretched out on a huge bed. On the wall above, the killer has left a message in bold black ink: FOR LIEUTENANT EVE DALLAS, WITH GREAT ADMIRATION AND UNDERSTANDING.
Eve Dallas is used to unwanted attention. Famous for her high-profile cases and her marriage to billionaire businessman Roarke, she has learned to deal with intense public scrutiny and media gossip. But now Eve has become the object of a singular and deadly obsession. She has an 'admirer', who just can't stop thinking about her. Who is convinced they have a special bond. Who is planning to kill for her - again and again...
With time against her, Eve is forced to play a delicate - and dangerous - psychological dance. Because the killer is desperate for something Eve can never provide - approval. And once that becomes clear, Eve knows her own life will be at risk - along with those she cares about the most.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10
Eve has a stalker and an impersonator who wants to be her best bud & who kills everyone who might have "wronged" Dallas. This is a scary and fascinating insight into a mentally disturbed mind. The investigation is brisk and the killer falls into Eve's lap, so it ends rather abruptly. Overall, not bad.
* * *
У Ив появляется сталкер и имперсонатор, хотящий быть ей лучшим другом и убивающий тех, кто, по его мнению, её "обидел". Холодящая, жуткая концепция и взгляд на ум с сильным психическим расстройством очень интересны. Расследование продвигается быстро и убийца падает в руки Даллас, так что книга заканчивается довольно резко. А так, неплохо.


 Cast in Flame by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra #10)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Any day that starts with dragon arguments is going to be bad

Kaylin returned from the West March in one piece. Now that piece is fraying. She's not at home in the Imperial Palace—and she never intends to be. All she wants is normal garden-variety criminals and a place of her own. Of course, normal in her new life involves a dragon as a roommate, but she can handle that.

She can't as easily handle the new residents to the city she polices, because one of them is Nightshade's younger brother. On a night when she should be talking to landlords in perfectly normal buildings, she's called to the fief—by Teela. A small family disagreement has become a large, complicated problem: Castle Nightshade's latent magic is waking.

And it's not the only thing.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7.5/10
This is not a bad read, actually. I am still supremely irritated by Kaylin's reckless stupidity... And everyone is still enabling her. But. We finally see the Emperor and listen to him talk. Looks like he is another antihero or a very intriguing man to know at least, so I got excited about it!
* * *
Неплохая вообще-то книга в этой серии. Я всё также раздражена  из-за безумно импульсивной и идиотской натуры Кейлин, которая отказывается учиться на своих ошибках, и что ещё хуже, это ей сходит с рук. Однако... Мы наконец встречаем Императора и слушаем как он разговаривает с Кейлин, и он оказывается, вполне возможно, ещё одним антигероем, что меня очень, ну очень порадовало!

Paranormal Fantasy Review: Omens & Artifacts by Elizabeth Hunter

Omens & Artifacts by Elizabeth Hunter (An Elemental Legacy Novella #3)


ecopy from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
In the elemental world, reputation is everything, but gaining it can get you killed.

Setting up shop as an antiquities hunter means nothing if you don’t have clients. Benjamin Vecchio, nephew of a famed vampire assassin, is the subject of widespread speculation, but so far that speculation hasn’t translated into work.
What Ben needs is a job. A big job. A profitable job.

A legendary job.

Finding the lost sword of Brennus the Celt, the mythical Raven King of the British Isles, would make Ben’s reputation in the immortal world, but it could also draw dangerous attention. The Raven King’s gold hoard isn’t famous for being easy to find. Luckily, Ben has his own legend at his side.

Tenzin is a wind vampire who doesn’t like digging, but she’s more than happy to let Ben do the dirty work while she provides the muscle he needs to make other immortals pay attention. They’re partners. Or so Ben thinks.

But when finding this treasure puts Tenzin’s future plans at risk, will their partnership survive? Tenzin isn’t used to taking orders from anyone, particularly from a young human who used to be her student. Digging into ancient Scottish history can get you dirty. It can also get you killed.


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
I love that couple so much, ladies and gents! Maybe the mostest *grins* after Gio and Bi.

Tenzin and Ben have this rapport, this camaraderie & banter which are very hard to find in UF. It comes from long-term relationships. Kate Daniels and Curran have it with such a fun way of communicating with each other. I can't help but feel that Benzin is destined for great things.

Sci Fi Romance Review: Sky Raiders by Michelle Diener

Sky Raiders by Michelle Diener (Sky Raiders #1)


ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
When the people of Barit first saw the sky craft, they felt awe. Then awe turned to fear and they found a name for the mysterious newcomers. Sky raiders.

Garek's one year of duty as a guard walking the walls of Garamundo was extended to two when the sky raiders appeared. Two long years away from home and his lover, Taya. When he finally returns, the town is empty. While Garek was protecting Garamundo, the sky raiders were taking their victims from his hometown.

Taya can't bear looking into the night sky. All she can see is Barit, her home planet. Impossibly, the sky raiders have brought her and their other victims to Shadow, the planet that shadows her own, and looking up makes her aware of everything she's lost. Garek is out there somewhere. She knows he'll look, but he'll never find her.

She and the other captives have to find a way to escape. Without the food and clothes the sky raiders bring them from their raids on Barit, they'll starve on the almost barren wastes of Shadow. And when they've given the sky raiders enough of what they want, that's exactly what the sky raiders will leave them to do.

She does have an idea of how she can break free--the sky raiders have brought them to Shadow to mine for ore. A very special ore which Taya has worked out is as dangerous to the sky raiders as it is valuable.

What she doesn't realize is she'll have some help with her plan. Because Garek isn't giving up. And he's even more resourceful than she could ever have imagined.

Nothing is going to keep him from Taya. Not even space itself.


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7.5/10

* * *
 While I was a little bit disappointed that Sky Raiders wasn't connected to Diener's previous space opera series, it was still a very entertaining read. A clash of high technology with a medieval magical world made for a fascinating story.

Friday Mini Reviews #97: J.D. Robb, Jaine Diamond & Michelle Sagara




Festive in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #39)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads


The kitchen knife jammed into his cold heart pinned a cardboard sign to his well-toned chest. It read: Santa Says You've Been Bad!!! Ho, Ho, Ho!
It's Christmas, but Lieutenant Eve Dallas is in no mood to celebrate. While her charismatic husband Roarke plans a huge, glittering party, Eve has murder on her mind.
The victim - personal trainer Trey Ziegler - was trouble in life and is causing even more problems in death. Vain, unfaithful and vindictive, Trey had cultivated a lot of enemies. Which means Eve has a lot of potential suspects. And when she and Detective Peabody uncover Trey's sinister secret, the case takes a deadly turn.
Christmas may be a festival of light, but Eve and Roarke will be forced once more down a very dark path in their hunt for the truth.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10
Hah! An obvious villain and a despised victim who thought of himself as Casanova, but aside from that I was loving magical Christmas at Eve and Roarke's. Loooovely! t made the investigation pretty uninteresting in comparison. Or am I too jaded?
* * *
Ха! Очевидный злодей да и жертва, которую никто не любил, зато Рождество у Ив и Роарка было просто сказочное. Расследование по сравнению было бледненьким. Или я просто избалована хорошими детективами?

Dirty Like Us by Jaine Diamond (Dirty #0.5)

ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
What happens in Vegas… better stay in Vegas.

Maggie Omura has never been a gambling woman. As assistant manager of Dirty, the hottest rock band on the planet, she brings order to the lives of four crazy-ass rock stars.

But when the band lands in Vegas, a streak of bad luck lands Maggie in a bind--and in the penthouse suite, with the last man she'd ever want for a roommate.

Zane Traynor, lead singer of Dirty. Rock god. Sex god. Total nightmare for women.

And the only man who'd make Maggie a proposal so insane it just might work.

A night of chance.
An irresistible gamble...
It's time for Zane and Maggie to go all in.
 


FREE

7.5/10
Well, a surprising read at the least! I am actually looking forward to Maggie and Zane's story now, as it's as intriguing as it's convoluting. *grins* A read well worth your while, peeps. Hot, lively and funny. It's Vegas, there is serious drinking and some silly decisions about. I really enjoyed it!
* * *
Ну и удивила меня эта повесть, ребята! Я теперь с нетерпением жду продолжения истории Магги и Зэйна, так у них всё интригующе переплетено в отношениях. *смеясь* Стоит читать, весело жарко и живо написано. Вегас, попойка и дурацкие решения из неё вытекающие... Мне понравилось!


Cast in Sorrow by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra #9)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
THE END OF HER JOURNEY IS ONLY THE BEGINNING...

The Barrani would be happy to see her die. So Kaylin Neya is a bit surprised by her safe arrival in the West March. Especially when enemies new and old surround her and those she would call friends are equally dangerous...

And then the real trouble starts. Kaylin's assignment is to be a "harmoniste"-one who helps tell the truth behind a Barrani Recitation. But in a land where words are more effective than weapons, Kaylin's duties are deadly. With the wrong phrase she could tear a people further asunder. And with the right ones...well, then she might be able to heal a blight on a race.

If only she understood the story....
 


Audible US | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

6/10
To be honest, judging by the plot, book #8 and #9 is one long story split into two parts for no reason. I lost my will to live and couldn't care less if anyone lives or dies. The whole recitation which was the whole point of the journey, which involved many deaths, had hardly any air time and was beside the point. If I was Barrani who went into this journey to hear that recitation I'd be mightily pissed by now.
* * *
М-да, в общем-то, эта книга - продолжение книги предыдущей по сюжетной линии была такой резиной, что мне хотелось резать вены и было по фигу кто умрёт, а кто выживет. Целью всего путешествия, стоившего жизни многих Баррани, был Пересказ Происхождения Расы, но концовка книги практически не уделила ему никакого внимания! Если бы я была Баррани, дожившая до конца, я была бы в бешенстве. Как читатель, требую своё время и деньги обратно.

SCI FI YA Novel Review: Ones and Zeroes by Dan Wells

he

Ones and Zeroes by Dan Wells (Mirador #2)


Egalley thanks to Balzer+Bray

Synopsis from Goodreads
From Dan Wells, author of the New York Times bestselling Partials Sequence and the John Cleaver series, comes the second book in a dark, pulse-pounding sci-fi-noir series set in 2050 Los Angeles.

Overworld. It’s more than just the world’s most popular e-sport—for thousands of VR teams around the globe, Overworld is life. It means fame and fortune, or maybe it’s a ticket out of obscurity or poverty. If you have a connection to the internet and four friends you trust with your life, anything is possible.

Marisa Carneseca is on the hunt for a mysterious hacker named Grendel when she receives word that her amateur Overworld team has been invited to Forward Motion, one of the most exclusive tournaments of the year. For Marisa, this could mean anything—a chance to finally go pro and to help her family, stuck in an LA neighborhood on the wrong side of the growing divide between the rich and the poor. But Forward Motion turns out to be more than it seems—rife with corruption, infighting, and danger—and Marisa runs headlong into Alain Bensoussan, a beautiful, dangerous underground freedom fighter who reveals to her the darker side of the forces behind the tournament. It soon becomes clear that, in this game, winning might be the only way to get out alive.
 


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

  9/10

* * *
This is absolutely glorious series for the lovers of anything to do with computerised dystopian societies, and this one was also a highly believable one.

Both Bluescreen and Ones & Zeroes left me buzzing high on adrenaline with their fast-paced, riveting stories and fantastic characters.

Contemporary Romance Review: Sugar by Kimberly Stuart

 

Sugar by Kimberly Stuart 


Egalley courtesy of Skyhorse Publishing

Synopsis from Goodreads
After realizing her coworkers at L’Ombre, a high-profile restaurant in NYC, will never appreciate or respect her, Charlie Garrett allows her ex-boyfriend, Avery Michaels, to convince her to work for him as executive pastry chef at his new Seattle hotspot, Thrill. She’ll have her own kitchen, her own staff—everything she ever wanted professionally.

When she arrives at Thrill, however, she realizes that Avery wanted more than a pastry chef for his restaurant—he wanted a costar for the reality show they’re filming about the restaurant and its staff. Charlie is uncomfortable with the idea at first, but she soon realizes that this is her chance to show the world what women in the kitchen are capable of. She sets some ground rules with the film crew, signs a non-disclosure agreement, and promptly meets the man of her dreams, Kai, off-camera.

The show, and her demanding work schedule as head of the pastry kitchen, makes it nearly impossible for Charlie and Kai to spend time together. Drama on and off the set soon take a toll on Charlie’s well-being, forcing her to choose if life in front of the camera is worth sacrificing life behind the scenes.

Sugar is a contemporary romance, set in the high-pressure commercial kitchens of New York and Seattle. A funny and clever story of how a female chef learns to thrive in the ruthless world of premier restaurants.
 


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10

* * *
 I always enjoy books where cooking is a part of passion or profession, and Sugar did not disappoint in that regard.

Friday Mini Reviews #96: Karina Halle, Madelynne Ellis & J.D. Robb


Dirty Angels by Karina Halle (Dirty Angels #1)

kindle freebie

Synopsis from Goodreads
**warning: this book contains situations which might be triggers for some people. Please see the bottom of this description to see if this is the kind of book that you'll love or piss you off**

For Luisa Chavez, a twenty-three year old former beauty queen, a better life has always been just out of her reach. Sure, she’s had men at her feet since she was a young teenager but she’s never had the one thing she’s craved – security. Having grown up in near poverty, her waitressing job in Cabo San Lucas can barely let her take care of herself, let alone her ailing parents. Every day is another unwanted advance, every day is a struggle to survive.

When Salvador Reyes, the depraved leader of a major Mexican cartel, takes an interest in her, Luisa is presented with an opportunity she can’t afford to pass up. She’ll become Salvador’s wife and exchange her freedom and body for a life of riches – riches she can bestow upon her deserving parents. But Luisa quickly finds out that even the finest wines and jewels can’t undo the ugliness in her marriage, nor the never-ending violence that threatens her every move.

Soon, Luisa is looking for an escape, a way out of the carefully controlled life she’s leading. She finally gets her wish in the worst way possible.

As it is, being the wife of Salvador makes her an ideal target for rival cartels and there’s one particular man who needs Luisa as part of his cartel’s expansion. One particular man whose quest for power has destroyed lives, slit throats and gotten him out of an American prison. One particular man who will stop at nothing until he gets what he wants.

That man is Javier Bernal. And he wants Luisa. He wants to take her, keep her, ruin her.

Unless she ruins him first.

***WARNING*** This book deals with drug cartels and as such it contains a lot of sex and violence and some violent sex. It can get pretty ugly, pretty dark and pretty crazy. There is drug use, abuse, a bit of torture and dubious consent. The hero is not a hero and the villains...well, they're even worse. If this sort of thing bothers you, PLEASE DO NOT READ IT. This ain't no cupcake farting unicorn kind of book. If you are even a bit squeamish about violence, brutality and rape, this is your warning to stay away from a book that you certainly will not like (and why read books that you know you won't like?)***

***While this is a spin-off of The Artists Trilogy, prior knowledge of the books is not needed. DIRTY ANGELS is the first in a trilogy, however each book can standalone and follows or introduces different characters***
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10
This was one of my attempts to clear my kindle, and I'm sure I had this book on it for a few years. Wow, folks, this was a dark romance, which is nowhere near my comfort zone, and yet, the writing was so strong I felt compelled to finish. A brutal Stokholm syndrome; a love, raw and masterfully written. Recommended to fans of Narcos and Breaking Bad. And obviously to the fans of the genre itself.
* * *
Это была одна из моих попыток подчистить полки на киндле, и я уверена, что Грязные Ангелы лежала у меня на полке уже несколько лет... Вау, ребята! Вы знаете, что тёмный роман - совсем не комфортабельный для меня жанр, однако книга зацепила своим магнетизмом и силой авторского таланта. Это история любви с с тяжёлым Стокгольским синдромом. Оторваться невозможно до самого конца. Рекомендую поклонникам жанра, а также шоу Нарки и Во Все Тяжкие.
Anything But Ordinary (Anything But... #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
The long awaited sequel to New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Madelynne Ellis' Amazon bestseller, Anything But Vanilla.

Their 'no strings' affair is about to get complicated.

One disastrous marriage was all it took for Ric Liddell to give up on commitment, so when his 'no strings' arrangement with Zach Blackwater and Kara North hits the rocks due to a plague of interfering busybodies, he retreats to what feels safe -- sex, filthy sex, and even more filthy sex, in no particular order.

Zach wants Ric, and not just for their connection in the sack. When his lover hurts him, he's willing to look elsewhere for the stability he craves -- and he doesn't have to look far, because Kara's right there.

The guys are hot, and the sex is dirty, but for Kara, caught in the middle of Zach and Ric's emotional absurdity, it's painfully clear their threesome just can't last. Unless -- they can somehow set their fears aside and accept they need one another to be whole.


Amazon kindle US/UK

7/10
I think, while I loved Anything But Vanilla, its sequel was a bit disappointing. Primarily, because one of the main characters behaved like a total jerk, and it pissed me off to no end. Basically, his temper tantrums put the livelihood of his loved ones at risk, and it was tres not cool.
* * *
Я думаю, что хоть и люблю я " Всё Кроме Ванили", продолжение этой истории меня разочаровало, потому что Рик, один из главных героев, своими идиотскими истериками поставил под угрозу благополучие своих любовников, что было совершенно не клёво. Прям детский сад какой-то!


 Concealed in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #38)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
In a decrepit, long-empty New York building, Lieutenant Eve Dallas’s husband begins the demolition process by swinging a sledgehammer into a wall. When the dust clears, there are two skeletons wrapped in plastic behind it. He summons his wife immediately—and by the time she’s done with the crime scene, there are twelve murders to be solved.

The place once housed a makeshift shelter for troubled teenagers, back in the mid-2040s, and Eve tracks down the people who ran it. Between their recollections and the work of the force’s new forensic anthropologist, Eve begins to put names and faces to the remains. They are all young girls. A tattooed tough girl who dealt in illegal drugs. The runaway daughter of a pair of well-to-do doctors. They all had their stories. And they all lost their chance for a better life.

Then Eve discovers a connection between the victims and someone she knows. And she grows even more determined to reveal the secrets of the place that was called The Sanctuary—and the evil concealed in one human heart.
 


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10
 A heartbreaking story like anything involving children and opening  Eve and Roarke's own wounds. The identity of the killer was pretty obvious so there wasn't much investigation here, but it was a good read.
* * *
История, щемящая сердце, так как она затрагивает детей  открывает душевные раны самих Ив и Роарка. Как такового расследования здесь нет, так как убийца очевиден, однако книга была всё-равно хороша. 

Sci Fi Fantasy Audiobook Review: The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman

The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman (The Invisible Library #3)


audiocopy courtesy of Audible

Synopsis from Goodreads
"The third title in Genevieve Cogman's clever and exciting The Invisible Library series, The Burning Page is an action-packed literary adventure!

Librarian spy Irene has professional standards to maintain. Standards that absolutely do not include making hasty, unplanned escapes through a burning besieged building. But when the gateway back to your headquarters dramatically malfunctions, one must improvise. And after fleeing a version of Revolutionary France astride a dragon (also known as her assistant, Kai), Irene soon discovers she's not the only one affected. Gates back to the Library are malfunctioning across a multitude of worlds, creating general havoc. She and Kai are tasked with a mission to St Petersburg's Winter Palace, to retrieve a book which will help restore order.

However, such plans rarely survive first contact with the enemy - particularly when the enemy is the traitor Alberich. A nightmare figure bent on the Library's destruction, Alberich gives Irene a tainted 'join me or die' job offer. Meanwhile, Irene's old friend Vale has been damaged by exposure to Chaotic forces and she has no idea how to save him. When another figure from her past appears, begging for help, Irene has to take a good hard look at her priorities. And of course try to save the Library from absolute annihilation. Saving herself would be a bonus.

Irene's adventures feature stolen books, secret agents and forbidden societies - think Doctor Who but with librarian spies!


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10

* * *
 I admit that I've enjoyed The Masked City much more than The Burning Page which in comparison felt muted. Still, there was plenty going on for the reader or listener not to get bored.

Time Travel YA Review: Cheating Death by April White

Cheating Death by April White (The Immortal Descendants #5)


ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads

In the thrilling conclusion to The Immortal Descendants series, a life has ended, the future is lost, and a war has just begun.
An explosion has split Time and Archer has paid the ultimate price, leaving Saira heartbroken and desperate to repair the rupture. But the blast has trapped Saira in an alternate future where Mongers are cornered predators and Death is the ultimate judge. If Saira and her larcenous friend, Ringo, ever want to see Archer alive, they must pull off the impossible – alter history at a moment in time to which they cannot return. But saving Archer will restore a timeline where Mongers have complete control, mixed bloods are hunted prey, and the Descendant world is spiraling into chaos.


As Saira uses her Clocking skills to prevent her worst nightmares from coming true, she travels from the dirty streets of Victorian London to the secret archives of the Vatican. She seeks a purpose that is greater than smashed hope, greater than lost love, greater than the prophecy that has shaped her very existence. She must use the lessons of history to free the present and shape the future. And in the end, Saira and her friends will face War and Death in the most important battle of all – the one for Peace.
 


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
 This was a really spectacular ending to the series, peeps, and I feel happy about it!

First of all, tons of things happen here: in time, in space and with many revelations in between.

Saira starts the book separated from Archer by the time stream split in 1944. Together with Ringo and Tom she has to travel into the past to repair it in order to reunite with everyone she knows and love.

Friday Mini Reviews #95: Alisha Rai, J.D. Robb & Michelle Sagara



Play With Me by Alisha Rai (Bedroom Games #1)

kindle freebie

Synopsis from Goodreads
Playing for a night…or for keeps?

Jewelry designer Tatiana Belikov may have matured enough to curb her impulsive nature, but wickedness is still her best accessory. When family troubles bring her to Las Vegas and face-to-face with the man who knows all her darkest desires, resisting temptation is futile. A night of no-holds-barred sin? Jackpot.

Once Wyatt Caine had nothing to offer Tatiana except his heart, but time has changed his fortunes. Now he’s the king of vice, and the king always gets what he wants. Especially when all he wants is her, all grown up and ready to play every dirty game he can devise.

They ignite like fireworks on the Strip, blazing hot enough to melt the best intentions. But their roll in the sheets turns into a roll of the dice, and when morning comes, Wyatt and Tatiana are left wondering whether to walk away…or go all in.

Game on.


 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

 7.5/10
I heard of Alisha Rai before, and this was free on kindle, which meant it was a safe way to try a new author for me. Straight away I noticed strong writing. A delicious backstory, complex characters, and hot intimate scenes. Absolutely will be reading more of her!
 * * *
Я слышала об Алише Рэй до этого и наконец решила попробовать этого автора, благо книга была бесплатной на киндле. Сразу видно: сильный автор. Сложные герои, глубокая, неоднозначная история с весьма любопытным и жгучим прошлым, между ними разделённым. Рекомендую и буду читать мисс Рэй дальше.

 Taken in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #37.5)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

A new and fantastically gripping Eve Dallas short story

'The evil witch killed Darcia. Henry knew it because he'd seen Darcia on the floor, and all the blood. Everything felt funny and sleepy and wrong. He knew he was under a spell. The evil witch's magic spell.'

When twins Henry and Gala are kidnapped and their nanny killed, Lieutenant Eve Dallas steps in to take control. But video footage shows what appears to be their mother arriving and leaving with the obviously drugged seven-year-olds. Something is wrong, and Eve, her husband Roarke and her brilliant team are ready to work round the clock to get the children back alive...


 Audible US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

 8/10
A very witchy, slightly paranormal take on Hansel and Gretel. As always, very enjoyable and fast-paced. Roarke can't stay away even from a tiny investigation like this one. *shakes head*
* * *
Очень ведьмовской, немного паранормальный вариант сказки о Ханселе и Гретель. Как обычно, стремительное, полное событий, развитие сюжета, и даже в этом очень коротком расследование Роарк никак не может остаться в стороне! *качая головой*

 Cast in Peril by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra #8)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

It has been a busy few weeks for Private Kaylin Neva. In between angling for a promotion, sharing her room with the last living female Dragon and dealing with more refugees than anyone knew what to do with, the unusual egg she'd been given was ready to hatch. Actually, that turned out to be lucky, because it absorbed the energy from the bomb that went off in her quarters.... So now might be the perfect time to leave Elantra and journey to the West March with the Barrani. If not for the disappearances of citizens in the fief of Tiamaris--disappearances traced to the very Barrani Kaylin will be traveling with...


 Audible US | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7.5/10
Not what I was expecting from this book at all. It kind of stopped n the middle of the journey with Kaylin appointed as Harmonist, and Nightshade as Teller without reaching their goal, which left me pretty confused. Maybe it will continue where it left off in the next book?
* * *
Не то, чего я ожидала от этой книги. Она как-то неожиданно оборвалась на середине путешествия, когда Кэйлин назначается Гармонистом и Найтшейд - Рссказчиком. Что-то я осталась в недоумении от концовки, однако я так понимаю, что следующая книга начнётся как-раз таки с этого момента.

February New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!

Sugar and Ones and Zeroes were pretty awesome, and the other two I still have to review. How about you? What are you waiting for?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger