If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Urban Fantasy Audiobook Review: Forged by Flames by Susan Illene

Forged by Flames b Susan Illene (Dragon's Breath #3)


audiocopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Amazon
Ever since dragons invaded Earth, Bailey Monzac and other survivors have had to adjust to a new world order. But a new threat is emerging that could destroy everything they've been struggling to rebuild—for both man and beast. There's an artifact out there that can control dragons, and many would seek to possess it for dark purposes.

It's going to be up to Bailey, her dragon shape-shifter ally Aidan, and their friends to embark on a long and arduous quest to recover the relic before it falls into the wrong hands. Relationships within the group will be tested in incredible ways that could mean the difference between success and failure. For they must work together—forging the tightest bonds—if they wish to survive this journey.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7.5/10

* * *
Damn, this book has left me restless.

Forged by Flames is a classic quest which was a nice transition book after the previous story arc ended.
Bailey, Aidan, Conrad, Miles, Danae, and Aidan's uncle and sister are traveling together to different parts of the US to reassemble a magical orb which can control dragon shifters, dragon slayers, and magic users. They have to go through a few trials, and in the process learn important things about their history and mutual origins.

Historical MM Romance Review: An Unseen Attraction by K.J. Charles

An Unseen Attraction by K.J. Charles (Sins of the Cities #1)


Egalley thanks to Loveswept

Synopsis from Goodreads
A slow-burning romance and a chilling mystery bind two singular men in the suspenseful first book of a new Victorian series from K. J. Charles.

Lodging-house keeper Clem Talleyfer prefers a quiet life. He’s happy with his hobbies, his work—and especially with his lodger Rowley Green, who becomes a friend over their long fireside evenings together. If only neat, precise, irresistible Mr. Green were interested in more than friendship...

Rowley just wants to be left alone—at least until he meets Clem, with his odd, charming ways and his glorious eyes. Two quiet men, lodging in the same house, coming to an understanding... it could be perfect. Then the brutally murdered corpse of another lodger is dumped on their doorstep and their peaceful life is shattered.

Now Clem and Rowley find themselves caught up in a mystery, threatened on all sides by violent men, with a deadly London fog closing in on them. If they’re to see their way through, the pair must learn to share their secrets—and their hearts.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

7.5/10

* * *
K.J. Charles has a real knack for quiet, cozy period mysteries, and this book is not an exception.

The romance is low-key with two ordinary, quiet men who are forced to be heroes despite their deep fears and desires to avoid any scandal.

Friday Mini Reviews #103: Aleatha Romig, Joanna Cannon & Laurell K. Hamilton



Betrayal by Aleatha Romig (Infidelity #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
One week. No future. No past. No more.
Alexandria Collins has one week to live carefree—no ghosts of her past or pressures of her future haunting her. Reinventing herself as "Charli," she is knocked off her feet by a sexy, mysterious man who brings her pleasure like she never imagined. With her heart at stake, she forgets that decisions made in the dark of night reappear in the bright light of day.

"Some of my tastes are unique. They aren’t for everyone. I understand that.”

Lennox "Nox" Demetri is wealthy, confident, and decisive—he knows what he wants. From the first time he sees Charli at an exclusive resort, he knows he wants her. Although he is usually the one to make the rules, together they agree on one:

One week. No more.

When betrayal comes from those closest to Alexandria, she must decide how far she is willing to go to survive. Choices are not always easy, especially when they involve the heart, body, and soul. After all, Infidelity is a business, and some rules are meant to be broken.

"Is it really cheating if you're doing it to yourself?"

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a sexy, new dominant hero who knows what he wants, and a strong-willed heroine who has plans of her own. With classic Aleatha Romig twists, turns, deceptions, and devotions, this new epic dark romance will have readers swooning one minute and screaming the next. Have you been Aleatha'd?

BETRAYAL is a full-length novel and the first of five in the INFIDELITY series.
 

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7.5/10
I got it on audio, and I have to say I'm hooked.  It's a classic erotic romance with over the top responses, but Miss Romig is such a good writer, she makes it work. I am really intrigued and dying to know what happens next. Sexy, spicy and with a soul. Recommended.
* * *
Я загрузила эту книгу на аудио, и она меня неожиданно цепанула. Вот классический сценарий эротического романа, а автор талантливый, и получилось у неё всё очень интересно. И теперь меня уже раздирает любопытство, что будет дальше. Рекомендую.
The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon 

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Part coming-of-age story, part mystery, The Trouble with Goats and Sheep is a quirky and utterly charming debut about a community in need of absolution and two girls learning what it means to belong.

England, 1976. Mrs. Creasy is missing and the Avenue is alive with whispers. The neighbors blame her sudden disappearance on the heat wave, but ten-year-olds Grace and Tilly aren’t convinced. As the summer shimmers endlessly on, the girls decide to take matters into their own hands. Inspired by the local vicar, they go looking for God—they believe that if they find Him they might also find Mrs. Creasy and bring her home.

Spunky, spirited Grace and quiet, thoughtful Tilly go door to door in search of clues. The cul-de-sac starts to give up its secrets, and the amateur detectives uncover much more than ever imagined. As they try to make sense of what they’ve seen and heard, a complicated history of deception begins to emerge. Everyone on the Avenue has something to hide, a reason for not fitting in.

In the suffocating heat of the summer, the ability to guard these differences becomes impossible. Along with the parched lawns and the melting pavement, the lives of all the neighbors begin to unravel. What the girls don’t realize is that the lies told to conceal what happened one fateful day about a decade ago are the same ones Mrs. Creasy was beginning to peel back just before she disappeared.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository
 
8/10
Okay, I admit I bought this because I thought it will be a comedy about farm animals. Sue me. Instead, this is a quirky, lovely and slightly sad murder mystery from a child's POV in England in the 70s. Really well-written, full of small-minded bigots & naive innocence. A very enjoyable listen, absolutely recommended for something different.
* * *
Признаюсь, что книгу покупала по обложке, думая, что она будет комедией о домашних животных. Ага. Вместо этого получила старомодный, жутко милый и атмосферный детектив в субурбии Англии 70х гг. со взгляда маленьких девочек, окружённых напыщенными, недалёкими соседями. Характеры шикарные, прямо засасывает эта книга с её прекрасной рассказчицей. Очень советую если хочется чего-то другого.

Crimson Death by Laurell K. Hamilton (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #25)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
In her twenty-fifth adventure, vampire hunter and necromancer Anita Blake learns that evil is in the eye of the beholder...

Anita has never seen Damian, her vampire servant, in such a state. The rising sun doesn’t usher in the peaceful death that he desperately needs. Instead, he’s being bombarded with violent nightmares and blood sweats.

And now, with Damian at his most vulnerable, Anita needs him the most. The vampire who created him, who subjected him to centuries of torture, might be losing control, allowing rogue vampires to run wild and break one of their kind’s few strict taboos.

Some say love is a great motivator, but hatred gets the job done, too. And when Anita joins forces with her friend Edward to stop the carnage, Damian will be at their side, even if it means traveling back to the land where all his nightmares spring from...a place that couldn’t be less welcoming to a vampire, an assassin, and a necromancer.

Ireland.
 


Audible US | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

1/10
OMG! This was worse than I expected after the last book which resurrected vintage Anita. No such luck here, peeps. I think Ms. Blake did not fire her gun even once, there is hardly any sex (!) and almost no plot. Basically, you can't win. She does a little bit of metaphysical mojo in a couple of fights. The rest, as you can guess, is endless talk between Anita and any man/woman in the vicinity about her love life ad nauseum. So much possibly good plot wasted, it's not even funny. She is in Europe for the first time, for God's sake! Edward is here! No, nope, nada. Total fail. So sad.
                                                                       * * *
Боже мой, это было ещё хуже, чем я себе представляла, особенно после того как предыдущая книга воскресила винтажную Аниту. В общем, подотрите слюни, здесь нет ни секса, ни боёв, ни развития сюжета. Книга заполнена описанием мужчин и женщин в её жизни и бесконечными выяснениями отношений, а в перерывах все кто Миз Блэйк встречает впервые распрашивает её о её любовной жизни. Ну, вашу мать! Оно если и было скандально-актуально 10 лет назад, то сейчас полигамия в романах встречается довольно часто и никого не удивляет. А потенциала пробухано... Она же впервые в Ирландии, впервые в Европе. Эдвард рядом! Там же можно было зафигачить такую конфетку. Ан-нет, хренушки. Не берите в руки это Г на палочке.

Murder Mystery Review: The Satanic Mechanic by Sally Andrew

The Satanic Mechanic by Sally Andrew (Tannie Maria Mystery #2)


Egalley thanks to Ecco

Synopsis from Goodreads
annie Maria writes the Love Advice and Recipe Column for the Klein Karoo Gazette: words of wisdom for the lovelorn, along with a recipe for something delicious that may help.

But Maria’s own problems resist her attempts to self-medicate, even with an amazing peanut-butter coffee chocolate cake. Her new relationship with Detective Henk Kannemeyer continues to be haunted by the memory of her abusive husband, and she decides to check out a PTSD counselling group run by a man they call the Satanic Mechanic.

But then someone is murdered—poisoned with mustard sauce—before her eyes, and Tannie Maria’s quest for healing takes a more investigative turn. Which means her intimate relationship with Henk is about to get professional. And more importantly, very complicated.

 
Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository
 

8.5/10 

* * *
 I really love Sally Andrew's voice. It's simple, stripped of all the excess and cuts you to the core. Tannie Maria is a wonderful, warm, comforting character. Someone who loves helping people, a nurturer.

Friday Mini Reviews #102: Anthony Doerr, Erin Watt & David Weber


All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.

Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge.

Doerr’s “stunning sense of physical detail and gorgeous metaphors” (San Francisco Chronicle) are dazzling. Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner, he illuminates the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another. Ten years in the writing, a National Book Award finalist, All the Light We Cannot See is a magnificent, deeply moving novel from a writer “whose sentences never fail to thrill” (Los Angeles Times).
 
Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository
 
8/10
Despite the topic of WWII this ended to be a meditative,  quiet listen with a lot of fascinating connections between the main characters. I was so glad one of my friends in Portugal recommended this book to me because I wouldn't have picked it up myself in a million years. It's sad, it's beautiful, it's scary and nerve-wracking. Superb writing, very much recommended.
* * *
Несмотря на тему Второй Мировой, книга эта оказалась медитативной, неспешной, тихой и невероятно интересной, показав как судьба связала таких далёких друг от друга главных героев. Я была так рада, что друг в Португалии мне её посоветовал, так как я бы никогда не взяла её в руки по своей инициативе. Она грустная, красивая, страшная и, читая её, очень нервничаешь. Очень рекомендую!


Paper Princess by Erin Watt (The Royals #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees. 

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

4/10
Honestly, what is wrong with these spoiled, angst-ridden poor rich brats? Oh, wait. I've answered my own question. This was like re-reading Tijan again, who, by the way, wrote in a much more cracktastic way. Who I couldn't understand was the main heroine and her unhinged responses. I kind of thought she was much more put together but apparently, she was hiding it until the very end. Read at your own peril. I am not continuing with this series.
* * *
Что за идиотские роблемы у бедных, неуравновешенных, испорченных богатых подростков? А, подождите. Я уже сама себе ответила. Как-то похоже на творчество Тижан, только у той всё гораздо круче написано. Главная героиня начала книгу собранно, а под конец превратилась в истеричку с чересчур преувеличенными эмоционально реакциями на ситуацию.. В общем, там капец. Я продолжать серию не собираюсь и вам не советую.

On Basilisk Station by David Weber (Honor Harrington #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Honor Harrington in trouble: Having made him look the fool, she's been exiled to Basilisk Station in disgrace and set up for ruin by a superior who hates her. Her demoralized crew blames her for their ship's humiliating posting to an out-of-the-way picket station. The aborigines of the system's only habitable planet are smoking homicide-inducing hallucinogens. Parliament isn't sure it wants to keep the place; the major local industry is smuggling, the merchant cartels want her head; the star-conquering, so-called "Republic" of Haven is Up to Something; and Honor Harrington has a single, over-age light cruiser with an armament that doesn't work to police the entire star system. But the people out to get her have made one mistake. They've made her mad!
 
Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository
 
6/10
I am not sold. The setting is fascinating (or the glimpses of it we get) but it's way too bogged down with the descriptions of space ships and what they can do. There is also zero character development. I don't know if I should continue with this series.
* * *
Что-то меня эта книга не убедила. Сам мир очень интересен (ну те крохи, что нам подсовывают), однако здесь слишком много деталей, описывающих космические корабли и что они могут делать, а вот развития персонажей нет. Не знаю, продолжать ли мне эту серию...

April New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!


God, I don't want to read any of the new releases apart from these two (already read and reviewed The Billionaires)! What's wrong with me?!
What about you, peeps?
What do you fancy?

Erotic Romance Early Review: The Billionaires by Calista Fox

The Billionaires by Calista Fox (Lover's Triangle #1)


Egalley courtesy of St. Martin's Griffin

Synopsis from Goodreads
100 Shades of Sin...

In The Billionaires, Calista Fox delivers a sexy and sensuous friends-to-lovers tale with a delicious love triangle twist.

Jewel Catalano, Rogen Angelini, and Vin D'Angelo had been childhood best friends, spending every possible moment with one another. Rogen became her first love, the first one to show her what pleasure could be. Until a volatile feud erupted between their powerful California wine country families and she and Rogen were torn apart from each other. What she didn't expect was to find comfort and passion like she had never known in Vin's arms and bed. But when that too ended in disaster, Jewel moved to San Francisco to work for the Catalano empire. Years later, a series of daring acquisitions brings Jewel back to River Cross, the hometown where Rogen and Vin have recently returned as well. Jewel has the curves, the smarts, and the success to bring any man to his knees—especially the two men who remained best friends and still burn to possess her.

Mixing family business with erotic pleasure ignites a smoldering love triangle. But in order to pull off the bold deal that will build the trios’ own legacy and to stay in their heady, sensual paradise, they must discover what true love really is—or lose everything their hearts' desire, in The Billionaires by Calista Fox.
 


Release date: April 4th, 2017.

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7/10

* * *
 This was rather flowery, peeps, but also sweet and hot, so I'm of two minds about this book.

It's actually nice to have a working menage with a lighter atmosphere once in awhile, and this is exactly what you'll get here.

Friday Mini Reviews #101: Sierra Simone, J.D. Robb & Карина Демина


American Queen by Serra Simone (American Queen Trilogy #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
It starts with a stolen kiss under an English sky, and it ends with a walk down the aisle. It starts with the President sending his best friend to woo me on his behalf, and it ends with my heart split in two. It starts with buried secrets and dangerous desires…and ends with the three of us bound together with a hateful love sharper than any barbed wire.

My name is Greer Galloway, and I serve at the pleasure of the President of the United States.

This is the story of an American Queen.
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository
 8/10
Despite the predictability of the plot twists, I really enjoyed this book. It was cracktastic in a way Tiffany Reisz and C.D. Reiss books are. Very hot, very magnetic characters, great separation of the chapters going back & forth in time. You can see how talented the author is, and you bet your backside, I'll be grabbing book two in this series pretty soon. UPD: I am reading it right now! Recommended.
* * *
Несмотря на предсказуемый сюжет очень понравилось. По накалу страстей, по магнетичным персонажам напоминает Тиффани Райс и С.Д. Рейс. Классное разделение глав на прошлое и будущее. Видно, что очень талантливый автор, и я кстати уже читаю книгу вторую. Рекомендую!

Apprentice in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #43)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

The shots came quickly, silently, and with deadly accuracy. Within seconds, three people lay dead at Central Park's ice skating rink. There's a sniper loose on the streets of New York City, and Lieutenant Eve Dallas is about to face one of the toughest and most unsettling cases of her career.
Eve knows that only a handful of people could have carried out such an audacious but professional hit. Even more disturbing: this expert in death has an accomplice. Someone is being trained in the science of killing - and they have a terrifying agenda of their own. With a city shaken to its core, Eve and her team are forced to hunt not one but two killers. Worse still - this talented young apprentice has developed an insatiable taste for murder...

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10
Another fast-paced, entertaining, easy read with a great villain. J.D. Robb writes the best sociopaths, you know? *grins* There are some cute moments like Bella's birthday and Eve's office redesign scattered here and there - normal, everyday life, which only sweeten the whole experience that otherwise, would have been more formulaic. Recommended.
* * *
Ещё одна, наполненная экшном, развлекательная, читающаяся очень быстро книга. Классный злодей, но Джей Ди Робб всегда умеет зафигачить персонажей-социопатов ещё ого-го как! *смеясь* Есть и очень милые моменты, как например, день рождения Беллы или редизайн кабинета Ив, что оживляло в остальном формулаичный сюжет. Как обычно, рекомендую!

Невеста by Карина Демина

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Война закончилась, но в мире нет мира. И Оден, бывший пленник королевы Мэб, получает свободу, а с ней - шанс умереть от рук разъяренной толпы, ведь железных псов ненавидят на землях лозы. Его спасение и единственная надежда выжить — Эйо, альва-полукровка. С ее помощью получится пройти по заповедным тропам, добраться до перевала и избавиться от метки королевы. Для Эйо, вынужденной скрываться от охотников за живым товаром, Оден - обуза. Но дорога, разделенная на двоих, многое меняет. И неудобный спутник становится близким человеком, без которого невозможно представить ни дом, ни саму жизнь.
Вот только многим союз альвы и железного пса покажется противоестественным.


ЛитМир

8.5/10
Ну вот, практически никогда не рецензирую книги на русском языке, а тут вышло, что подруга на Гудридс посоветовала мне почитать Невесту, так как я любительница творчества Грэйс Дрэйвен. И я конечно от неё оказалась в диком восторге! Превосходные герои, какая-то цепкая, немногословная и суровая любовь, в которой поступки кричат о чувствах, а не слова. Ну и естественно, богатый, интересный мир. Читалось на лету, очень рукомендую!
* * *
I almost never review books in Russian for obvious reasons, but my friend on Goodreads recommended me The Bride because I am a big fan of Grace Draven, and I loved it to bits! Awesome main characters, understated, quiet, harsh love of few words, which screams about its feelings with its deeds, not words, and of course, lush, gorgeous world-building. I am totally reading book two as soon as I have time. It was fabulous.

Urban Fantasy Book Review: Silence Fallen by Patricia Briggs

Silence Fallen by Patricia Briggs (Mercy Thompson #10)


Egalley courtesy of Ace Books

Synopsis from Goodreads
In the #1 New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson novels, the coyote shapeshifter has found her voice in the werewolf pack. But when Mercy's bond with the pack and her mate is broken, she'll learn what it truly means to be alone...

Attacked and abducted in her home territory, Mercy finds herself in the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world, taken as a weapon to use against alpha werewolf Adam and the ruler of the Tri-Cities vampires. In coyote form, Mercy escapes only to find herself without money, without clothing, and alone in the heart of Europe...

Unable to contact Adam and the rest of the pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, and she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy must be her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves, and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise...
 


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
 It's such a different experience to read an exceptional book instead of an ordinary one, peeps. I always thought of Mercy Thompson series as the former, not the latter, and Silence Fallen only strengthened my admiration for Patricia Briggs' talent.

Historical Horror Fantasy Audiobook Review: Anno Dracula 1899 and Other Stories by Kim Newman

Anno Dracula 1899 and Other Stories by Kim Newman 


audiocopy courtesy of Audible Studios

Synopsis from Goodreads
A brand new collection of chilling stories by master of horror Kim Newman, in which Jack the Ripper still stalks the streets, Frankenstein’s monster rises from the Arctic ice, and the terrifying legacy of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde haunts fog-shrouded London. This volume also includes a brand-new, exclusive Anno Dracula story, ‘Yokai Town: Anno Dracula 1899’, which sets the scene for the forthcoming novel Anno Dracula 1999: Daikaiju.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository


 6/10

* * *
 I actually requested this book for review by mistake, peeps. I've wanted to read Anno Dracula for a long time and thought this was the actual novel and not the collection of stories.

Oh, well. I did enjoy some of the stories, and I did get a feel for Kim Newman's writing which is very much a mix between Justin Cronin and Joe Hill.

So, the stories.

Friday Mini Reviews #100: J.D. Robb, Ilona Andrews & Tiffany Reisz




Brotherhood in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #42)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

JUSTICE IS SERVED.
Edward Mira is a powerful man, with a lot of enemies. But when the former senator is violently abducted, Lieutenant Eve Dallas suspects his kidnap is more personal than political. Someone is seeking justice; the bloodier the better.
Edward's cousin Dennis was injured during the abduction - and that makes things very personal for Eve and her husband Roarke. Dennis is a beloved friend, married to NYPSD's top profiler Charlotte Mira.

But as Eve delves deeper into the case, dark secrets emerge that could tear the family apart. Edward Mira has friends in high places - and they all seem to be hiding something. As her investigation takes a shocking turn, Eve finds that not all victims are innocent, and that some bonds are forged not in friendship, but in blood.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10 
In this book Eve discovers a series of crimes going back many years. It concerns rape, and the people she tries to protect are the bad guys. So, it's definitely a very difficult case and a very emotional one. Dramatic and fast-paced, and as usual, very enjoyable.                                                                          
* * *
 В этой книге Ив расследует серию преступлений, совершённых на протяжение многих лет. Здесь затронута очень трудная для неё тема сексуального насилия, и она ещё к тому же вынуждена защищать злодеев, а не жертв, что превращает дело в очень тяжёлое эмоционально для нашего летейнанта. Драматичный, быстро развивающийся детектив. Читала с удовольствием.



One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews (Innkeeper Chronicles #3)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Gertrude Hunt, the nicest Bed and Breakfast in Red Deer, Texas, is glad to have you. We cater to particular kind of guests, the ones most people don’t know about. The older lady sipping her Mello Yello is called Caldenia, although she prefers Your Grace. She has a sizable bounty on her head, so if you hear kinetic or laser fire, try not to stand close to the target. Our chef is a Quillonian. The claws are a little unsettling, but he is a consummate professional and truly is the best chef in the Galaxy. If you see a dark shadow in the orchard late at night, don’t worry. Someone is patrolling the grounds. Do beware of our dog.

Your safety and comfort is our first priority. The inn and your host, Dina Demille, will defend you at all costs. We ask only that you mind other guests and conduct yourself in a polite manner.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository 

 8.5/10
 How I love this amazing series, peeps!  The plot just keeps expanding beautifully, the characters are yummy, and the world-building - absolutely fascinating. 
 “Yes, the princess you were expecting put on her armor and left to kill the dragon. So sorry.”
THIS. This is pure Ilona Andrews. Can not recommend it enough. READ IT!
* * * 
Как  мне нравится эта офигительная серия, дамы и господа! Сюжет красиво раскрывается всё больше и больше, герои многослойные и построение мира просто завораживает.
"Да, принцесса, которую ты ожидал, надела доспехи и ушла убивать дракона. Ну, извиняйте."
ВОТ. Вот это классическая Илона Эндрюс. Обожаю,ЧИТАЙТЕ!

The Scent of Winter by Tiffany Reisz (The Original Sinners #6.5)

free on author's website

Synopsis from Goodreads
The 2016 Original Sinners Christmas story, free on December 20th.

Kingsley Edge thought he was being driven to the airport. He never expected he'd be kidnapped and relocated to a cabin in the middle of nowhere, Maine to help Søren celebrate his birthday. But it's not quite the sexy party Kingsley hoped for. Søren has been keeping a secret from Kingsley for several years and it's finally time to confess. But will Kingsley absolve his priestly lover of his sins or will this winter be the coldest one yet?

This novella takes place the December before the events of The Virgin and The Queen. Warning: Spoilers ahead--read through The Queen before reading The Scent of Winter. Stars Kingsley and Søren and a cabin in the woods...




Website

7/10
 It's a sweet but very tame novella about Kingsley and Soren spending Christmas in a log cabin and reminiscing about the past. It was an okay read but comparing to Something Nice it had less emotional impact. It's free on the author's website, so judge for yourself.                                                                            
 * * *
 Милая, но очень робкая повесть по сравнениюс предыдущим рассказом от автора. Вот как-то не тронула она меня эмоционально своими воспоминаниями о прошлом Сорена и Кингсли пока они вдвоём отмечали Рождество в лесах Мэйна.В общем, нормальный рассказ,- судите сами. Он выложен на сайте автора.

Paranormal Fantasy Review: Chest of Bone by Vicki Stiefel

Chest of Bone by Vicki Stiefel (The Afterworld Chronicles #1)


ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
As magical and mundane worlds entwine, empath and unawakened Mage Clea Reese must team up with the secretive James Larrimer to hunt her mentor’s killer and stop the forces of corruption from obtaining the Chest of Bone, the ultimate source of otherworldly power.

Larrimer is a predator who stalks endangered-animal traders. Or so it appears. And none are prepared for the fusion of Clea's and Larrimer's song, a wild resonance which can bind one to the other.

Powerful forces align against them, and only Clea, the singular Key, and Larrimer stand between these malignant entities and their ruthless quest.

 

Amazon US | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository 

8/10

* * *
 I wanted to like this book more, but the reality is it didn't fully grab me.

The writing style is innovative, the world is very interesting and provocative, and I did love Clea's crazy hair, but for me, it just didn't flow as much as I would have loved. It does not in any way mean that you should stay away from Chest of Bone. It's a great story!

Friday mini reviews #99: Jim Butcher, Brent Weeks & J.D. Robb



The Aeronaut's Windlass by Jim Butcher (The Cinder Spires #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Jim Butcher, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Dresden Files and the Codex Alera novels, conjures up a new series set in a fantastic world of noble families, steam-powered technology, and magic-wielding warriors…

Since time immemorial, the Spires have sheltered humanity, towering for miles over the mist-shrouded surface of the world. Within their halls, aristocratic houses have ruled for generations, developing scientific marvels, fostering trade alliances, and building fleets of airships to keep the peace.

Captain Grimm commands the merchant ship, Predator. Fiercely loyal to Spire Albion, he has taken their side in the cold war with Spire Aurora, disrupting the enemy’s shipping lines by attacking their cargo vessels. But when the Predator is severely damaged in combat, leaving captain and crew grounded, Grimm is offered a proposition from the Spirearch of Albion—to join a team of agents on a vital mission in exchange for fully restoring Predator to its fighting glory.

And even as Grimm undertakes this dangerous task, he will learn that the conflict between the Spires is merely a premonition of things to come. Humanity’s ancient enemy, silent for more than ten thousand years, has begun to stir once more. And death will follow in its wake…

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository


8/10
It's Jim Butcher, yo! So, the plot is fantastic, there is a really interesting intrigue and. mysterious world-building we find out about bit by bit. There are fab characters as well, and there are CATS. Cats, who are talking, plotting and killing giant spiders. Pure awesomeness! However, I felt that all of this was bogged down by too much detail about airships and aerial battles. Too much.  Which is why I lowered my rating.
* * *
Короче, это Джим Бутчер! Сюжет супер, характеры замечательные, построение мира интригующее и раскрывается по частям... а ещё здесь есть КОТЫ! Коты говорящие, шпионящие, мудрые и дерущиеся с гигантскими пауками, что чертовски здорово. Однако, автор переборщил с деталями, описывающими воздушные корабли и битвы между ними. Прям у меня перегрузка была. А потому заниженная оценка.
 
 The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks (Night Angel #1)
bought on audio
Synopsis from Goodreads 
From New York Times Bestselling author Brent Weeks...
For Durzo Blint, assassination is an art-and he is the city's most accomplished artist.

For Azoth, survival is precarious. Something you never take for granted. As a guild rat, he's grown up in the slums, and learned to judge people quickly - and to take risks. Risks like apprenticing himself to Durzo Blint.

But to be accepted, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins' world of dangerous politics and strange magics - and cultivate a flair for death.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository


6/10
Okay, it started strong, and the plot unravelled at a steady pace.. and then, something happened, and it was like an avalanche, everything collapsed, and the author lost me with the improbable ending. Like I was expecting an apple and received a screwdriver, you know? That kind of ending. Not cool, Brent, not cool.
* * *
В общем, началось всё довольно интересно, но автор не сумел выдержать ритм. С середины сюжет начал обваливаться как снежная лавина. Всё происходило одновременно, без разогрева и с жуткими роялями в кустах. Ну зачем было придумывать пятое колесо когда и так всё хорошо шло? В общем, разочаровалась.
  Devoted in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #41)
borrowed on audio
Synopsis from Goodreads
It's a new year in New York city, and two star-crossed lovers have just discovered an insatiable appetite...for murder.



Lieutenant Eve Dallas has witnessed some grisly crimes in her career and she knows just how dark things can get on the streets. But when a much-loved musician is found dead, Eve soon realises that his murder is part of a horrifying killing spree, stretching right across the country.




Now the killers have reached New York, and they've found themselves another victim. Eve knows she only has a couple of days to save a young girl's life, and to stop the killers before their sadistic games escalate. Eve's husband Roarke is ready to put his brains and his considerable resources behind the search. But even as the couple works closely together, time is running out...



Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository


 8.5/10
Another fantastic read! I don't know how she does it? but J.D. Robb writes excellent serial killers. So, every time Eve investigates one of those, I know I'm in for a treat. It's suspenseful, plus a fresh secondary character from the country was a charming touch. Very satisfying!
* * *
 Ещё одна прекрасная книга от Джей Ди Робб. Я не знаю как она это делает, но серийные убийцы у неё получаются особо сочные. Вот и в этот раз, как только я поняла, кого Ив будет ловить, я знала, что книга будет особо хороша. Да и свежий второстепеный герой из глубинки был очень очаровательный. Читала с удовольствием, рекомендую.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger