If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


YA Historical Fantasy Audiobook Review: Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria 


Audiocopy courtesy of Audible Studios

Synopsis from Goodreads
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose "afflicted" blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10

* * *
 The year is 1919. Boston on the verge of Prohibition is teeming with hemopaths: people with magical talents which develop suddenly in their teens, and a strong aversion to iron. Corinne and Ada - two sixteen year-olds work in an underground club Cast Iron as its star performers, but six months ago using their talents became illegal, and they rely more and more on tricking crooks to part with their money to keep the club which is their safe haven afloat.

December New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!

Huh... Slim pickings this month, don't you think? I just didn't fancy anything else among the new releases.
What about you, ladies and gents? What are you waiting for?

Sci-Fi Novel Early Review and Giveaway: The Blockade by Jean Johnson

The Blockade by Jean Johnson (First Salik War #3)


Egalley courtesy of Ace

Synopsis from Goodreads
The national bestselling author of The V’Dan returns to her gripping military sci-fi series set in the same world as Theirs Not to Reason Why.
 
The First Salik War is underway, and the Alliance is losing—their newest allies must find a way to win, or everyone will be slaughtered.
 
Though committed to helping their V’Dan cousins, the Terrans resent how their allies treat them. The V’Dan in turn feel the Terrans are too unseasoned to act independently. And the other nations fear that ending the Salik War means starting a Human Civil War.

Even as Imperial Prince Li’eth and Ambassador Jackie MacKenzie struggle to get their peoples to cooperate, they still face an ethical dilemma: How do you stop a ruthless, advanced nation from attacking again and again without slaughtering them in turn?


Release date: Nov 29th, 2016.

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10

* * *
 I can't tell you how relieved I was to be enjoying reading The Blockade after two lukewarm impressions from the previous books in series. I am a fan of Jean Johnson's sci-fi, and the ending of the trilogy redeemed this whole series for me!

Friday Mini Reviews #87: Michelle Sagara, J.D. Robb & Madelynne Ellis



Cast in Secret by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra #3)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Still avoiding magic whenever possible, Corporal Kaylin Neya relished investigating a regular theft once again. Until she found out the mysterious box was taken from Elani Street, where the mages and charlatans mingled, and it was sometimes hard to tell the difference between the two. But she was hoping this might be a mundane case-- --when in a back room Kaylin saw a lost-looking girl in a reflective pool...who called out Kaylin's name.

Shaken, Kaylin tried to stay focused on the case at hand. But since the stolen item was ancient, without a keyhole, and held tremendous darkness inside, Kaylin knew unknown forces were again playing with her destiny--and her life....


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10
As it tends to happen around Kaylin, this story is about children. Missing children. The best thing about it is that the child is Tha' alani, which is a race of alien looking psychics, whom Kaylin is very prejudiced against, and she has to fight her fears and learn the history of Tha'alani and their suffering from the hands of other races who're just as afraid and as prejudiced against them as Kaylin herlself. It's a good lesson in humanity. We also see The Oracle Hall for the first time, and it's gorgeous.
* * *
Как часто случается с Кейлин Нэйя, сюжет крутится вокруг пропавшего ребёнка. Однако ребёнок этот из расы Та'алани - расы медиумов, которые вызывают у Кейлин страх и отвращение, которые ей приходится преодолеть, чтобы увидеть как предубеждения людей заставили эту расу страдать на протяжении истории. Эта книга преподносит нам хороший урок, и мы также впервые оказываемся в любимом мною Зале Ораклов. Очень неплохо!


 Possession in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #31.5)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

'The devil killed my body. I cannot fight. I cannot free her. You must. You are the one.'


A dying Romanian woman's words send a chill down Lieutenant Eve Dallas' spine. And soon Eve notices some interesting side-effects: visions of the deceased and even fluency in Russian.



Against her better judgment, Eve is convinced the spirit of the old woman is inside her, unable to rest until she's found her great-granddaughter who vanished two months ago. Desperate to be back to normal, Eve realises a string of young women have gone missing, and if Eve doesn't find them, no one will.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

7.5/10
Again J.D. Robb returns with a paranormal twist to her short story. This time Eve is possessed by a Romanian witch in order for her to find her missing granddaughter who is a ballet dancer. Very atmospheric, gritty and enjoyable. Recommended.
* * *
Джей Ди Робб опять возвращается к паранормальным элементам в её повестях. В этот раз в Ив вселяется призрак румынской ведьмы, которая пэтается найти исчезнувшую внучку-балерину.  Было атмосферно, весело и читалось с удовольствием.

 All Night Long by Madelynne Ellis (Black Halo #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Three hot guitarists. Two people looking for love, but too afraid to admit it. One exhilarating night...

One night of rampant passion with a rock star, that’s all it’s supposed to be. Ginny Walters isn’t looking for love, only some sexy fun with an amazingly hot guy, that is, until she hooks up with Black Halo’s lead guitarist, Ash Gore, on the night the band implodes. When vocalist Xane walks off stage bringing the gig to a premature end, Ash and the guys find themselves unable to reach their hotel due to the presence of an irate mob. Luckily, Ginny offers them the use of her room for the night.

Ginny does her best to be a good hostess. However, it’s not long before she discovers a side to womanizing, bad boy, Ash that she never imagined. Beneath his hard rock image, is a man so hung up on the possibility of being hurt by love that he’s unwilling to risk becoming emotionally involved. How can she convince him that the bond between them is worth exploring, given that she’s not sure dating a rock star is terribly bright idea?

Ash can’t seem to get Ginny out of his head. She’s totally unlike the groupies he normally beds; women who love to fan his ego, but ultimately leave him dismally unsatisfied. Ginny sees through all his bullshit and the media hype to the scarred man beneath. Given that instinctive understanding, does he really want to say goodbye forever coming daybreak?

Maybe it’s time they both gave love another chance.


Amazon kindle US/UK

7.5/10
This book's events are parallel to Come Undone and describe Ginny and Ash meeting each other. It was a fun, quick, read with sassy banter and provocative, hot sex. I also loved the rest of the band, and can't wait to read their stories. They are such an interesting bunch!
* * *
Сюжет этой книги происходит параллельно книге о вокалисте группы, сбежавшим с концерта с подругой Джинни. Эта книга о Джинни и гитаристе группы, Аше. Сэжет незамысловатый, диалоги провокационные и секс очень жгучий. Понравилась вся рок-группа, - незаурядные персонажи. Буду читать дальше!

Historical Romance Novella Early Review: Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran

Sweetest Regret by Meredith Duran


Egalley courtesy of Pocket Star

Synopsis from Netgalley
The spirit of the season is festive—and clouding even the sharpest of judgments—in this Victorian era romance, perfect for fans of Jude Deveraux and Sabrina Jeffries.

At a house party in the countryside, the joyful spirit of the Christmas season threatens to sweep Georgiana Trent under the mistletoe—and back into the arms of the dashing rogue who broke her heart two years ago. Little does she know that Lucas Godwin has no intention of leaving until he has reclaimed her as his own. 


Release date: Nov 28th, 2016

Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10

* * *
This was a lovely Christmas novella about two people who fell in love two years ago but got separated by a meddling father, blaming each other for the break-up all the while.

Erotic Romance Early Review: Over The Edge by Meredith Wild

Over The Edge by Meredith Wild (Bridge #3)


Egalley thanks to Waterhouse Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
Olivia Bridge has always been a good girl—good grades, good friends, and a good job that her wealthy parents handed her. Desperate to carve out a life that is truly hers, Liv walks away from it all and takes on the challenge of helping her brothers open a chain of fitness centers in New York City. Just as she’s beginning to find her footing in a new place, she’s caught between two men who couldn’t be more determined to turn all her goodness inside out.

Will Donovan has the capital to make the Bridge brothers’ entrepreneurial dreams a reality. Taking their uptight sister to bed seems a reasonable perk for the risk. Liv is the smartest, sexiest prude Will’s ever met, and he can’t wait to break her down.

Life is too short for Ian Savo to play by anyone’s rules. Sharing women with his best friend isn’t anything new, so when Will introduces him to Liv, he can’t wait to get a taste. But falling for the same girl, or falling at all, was never in the plans...


Release date: Nov 22nd, 2016

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository 


7.5/10

* * *
Funny how this book has a but of an old school romance feel to it. By the way, I haven't read the first two books in series, but I didn't feel like I was missing out on the plot.

First of all, the description? Why an independent, determined young woman is "a prude" who needs "breaking" I could never understood. She is not an effing horse!

The Postman Knock #167

Hello, everyone! I have no clue where this month is going, but it's going fast! We've been crazily busy and yet see very little done. Friends are visiting, lots of people meeting, local festas happening and there was even an all-nighter party with some awesome electronic music this week...
Anyway, I haven't been reading much, mostly cooking, making stuff, collecting olives and partying. Hope you had a blast this week too!

READ/LISTENED TO:


And they were mostly lovely 4-star reads!

FOR REVIEW/NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS:



Thank you, all the publishers!

KINDLE FREEBIES:


IN OTHER NEWS:

I am still blogging ahead, which is pretty awesome. Just did the first week of January.

* * *

My choice for the book meet-up if you remember was Loving You Easy by Roni Loren. I was expecting more controversy during the discussion last week, but it went down really well. I am going to continue throwing in an erotic romance once in a while to shake things up but the positivity was encouraging!



This is it, have a glorious weekend, everyone! x

Friday Mini-Reviews #86: J.D. Robb, Lou Harper & Michelle Sagara



Indulgence in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #31)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
An indulgence for readers: the new Eve Dallas novel from the #1 New York Times-bestselling author.

First it was a limo driver shot through the neck with a crossbow. Then it was a high-priced escort found stabbed through the heart with a bayonet.

Random hits, thrill kills, murderers with a taste for the finer things in life-and death-are making NYPSD Lieutenant Eve Dallas angry. And an angry Eve can be just as an efficient and dangerous predator as the killer.

As time runs out on another innocent victim's life, Eve's investigation will take her into the rarefied circle that her husband, Roarke, travels in-and into the perverted heart of madness...


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository 

8/10
Oh yes, any book which ends with Eve brandishing a sword is a win-win in my point of view! Good storyline as usual, it was great to figure out with Eve killer's idenity and it was lovely to see her enjoying spending time with Roarke's family in Ireland.
* * *
О да, любая книга, заканчивающаяся Ив, размахивающей мечом, только выиграет в моих глазах! Классический сюжет, и было интересно  вместе с Ив разгадывать личности убийц. Понравилось также то, что Ив провела время с семьёй Роарка в Ирландии.



Spirit Sanguine by Lou Harper (Sanguine #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Is that a wooden stake in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?

After five years in eastern Europe using his unique, inborn skills to slay bloodsuckers, Gabe is back in his hometown Chicago and feeling adrift. Until he’s kidnapped by a young, sexy vampire who seems more interested in getting into his pants than biting into his neck.

Harvey Feng is one-half Chinese, one-hundred-percent vampire. He warns Gabe to stay out of the Windy City, but somehow he isn’t surprised when the young slayer winds up on his doorstep. And why shouldn’t Gabe be curious? A vegetarian vampire isn’t something one sees every day.

Against their better judgment, slayer and vampire succumb to temptation. But their affair attracts unexpected attention.

When Chicago’s Vampire Boss makes Gabe an offer he can’t refuse, the unlikely lovers are thrust into peril and mystery in the dark heart of the Windy City. Together they hunt for kidnappers, a killer preying on young humans, and vicious vampire junkies.

However, dealing with murderous humans and vampires alike is easy compared to figuring out if there’s more to their relationship than hot, kinky sex.

Warning: Fangalicious man-on-man action, a troublesome twink, cross-dressing vampiress, and role-playing involving a fedora.
 


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository 

5.5/10
This is paranormal m/m romance mixed with urban fantasy. The main characters are charming but I felt they were quite simplistic, and so was the storyline. It took me months to finish this book, so maybe it's not the writing style for me.
* * *
Это паранормальный м/м роман с элементами городского фэнтези. Главные герои обаятельны но чересур для меня простоваты, да и сюжет такой же. Я мусолила эту книгу несколько месяцев, и было мне скучно  Видимо авторский стиль не для меня.

Cast in Courtlight by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra #2)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
No good deed goes unpunished…

In Elantra, a job well done is rewarded with a more dangerous task. And so, after defeating a dark evil, Kaylin must enter a place of deceit and treachery. A world where silk and jewels hide deadly secrets…

Kaylin goes before the Barrani High Court, where a misspoken word brings sure death. And Kaylin’s never been known for her grace or manners. But the High Lord’s heir is suspi­ciously ill and Kaylin’s healing magic is the only shot at saving him – if she manages to dodge the traps laid for her.

Only to discover that the healing might turn out to be the simplest of tasks before her…


 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10
Lovely! So many interesting things happen in this book. A they say, the plot thickens. We also discover Nightshade shadowy manipulations into Kaylin's destiny which outs a new spin on their interactions. Overall, very promising, and it's always a pleasure to read about Barrani. The narrator is also excellent here.
* * *
В общем-то, во второй книге серии плот сгущается, и выясняется, что, например, у Найтшейд есть какие-то скрытые мотивы по отношению к Кейлин, и что он манипулирует её будущим, чтобы убедиться, что она идёт по нужному ему пути. Слушала с удовольствием о Дворе Баррани, да и рассказчица прекрасная.

Contemporary Romance Review: Hold Me by Courtney Milan

Hold Me by Courtney Milan (Cyclone #2)


Egalley thanks to Victory Editing

Synopsis from Goodreads
Jay na Thalang is a demanding, driven genius. He doesn’t know how to stop or even slow down. The instant he lays eyes on Maria Lopez, he knows that she is a sexy distraction he can’t afford. He’s done his best to keep her at arm’s length, and he’s succeeded beyond his wildest dreams.

Maria has always been cautious. Now that her once-tiny, apocalypse-centered blog is hitting the mainstream, she’s even more careful about preserving her online anonymity. She hasn’t sent so much as a picture to the commenter she’s interacted with for eighteen months—not even after emails, hour-long chats, and a friendship that is slowly turning into more. Maybe one day, they’ll meet and see what happens.

But unbeknownst to them both, Jay is Maria’s commenter. They’ve already met. They already hate each other. And two determined enemies are about to discover that they’ve been secretly falling in love…


Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
 This series by Courtney Milan is like a cross between Penny Reid's nerdy romance and The Big Bang Theory. There are scientists in love, crazy experiments and big, long words.

Top Ten List of Post-Apocalyptic Holiday Difficulties, A Guest Post from Susan Illene



Hello! I’m author Susan Illene, and I’m excited to reveal the cover today for my upcoming novella release- Christmas with Dragons. It is book 3.5 in the Dragon’s Breath Series and if you couldn’t guess, it has a holiday theme. This story is meant to be a bit more lighthearted than my main books. The poor characters have had to face an apocalypse, and now they have to live with destructive fire-breathing dragons roaming the Earth. I thought it might be fun to write a story showing how they celebrate Christmas despite the circumstances. I had the cover designed to reflect the light-hearted theme. So without further ado, here it is…



 
 
 
 
 
COVER ART– Jeff Brown
PHOTOGRAPHER– Josh McCullock
MODEL– Rahela Mahmood

You can add the book to your Goodreads TBR list here.

This novella will be out on December 15th, but for now you can enjoy a top ten list of difficulties one might face going into the holiday season after an apocalypse. Hope you enjoy!


Top ten list of post-apocalyptic holiday difficulties

1. Is it really a gift if you looted it out of a store?

2. Should gifts count for more if you obtained them while fending off an armed gang of rivals wanting the same thing? It’s Black Friday Hell every day after an apocalypse. Never mind the trip back and the dragons trying to eat you along the way.

3. Do you waste the tiny bit of fuel you’ve been hiding in the back of the storage shed so you can use a chainsaw to cut down your Christmas tree, or do you do it the old-fashioned way with an ax?

4. Candles are the gift that keeps on giving when you don’t have electricity anymore.

5. For the first time, gifting socks might actually be appreciated, but fresh batteries would be even better.

6. The fireplace isn’t just for decoration anymore—it’s how you and your holiday guests stay warm. Just don’t ask a dragon to light it.

7. Going around singing Christmas carols might not be a good idea.

8. Want turkey or ham for your holiday meal? You better be prepared to get it fresh from the farm.

9. Make sure you loot your alcohol early because that’s about the only thing you’ll have to look forward to on New Year’s Eve. The only ball that might be dropping is dragon dung.

10.When you go to the store to search for some holiday cards, you find Hallmark was not prepared for apocalyptic themes.


******************
Hope you all enjoyed the top ten list! Feel free to add your own ideas in the comments below.

Urban Fantasy Audiobook Review: Dancing with Flames by Susan Illene

Dancing with Flames by Susan Illene (Dragon's Breath #2)


audiocopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Book 2 of the Dragon's Breath Series.

Four months ago, fire-breathing dragons invaded Earth from an alternate dimension, wreaking havoc on modern civilization. Bailey Monzac has been training to kill them ever since discovering she was impervious to their flames, but when some of the beasts begin targeting children, she can’t hold back any longer and must hunt them down.

Her ally, Aidan, would help, except the shape-shifter has his own troubles. His clan is battling for territory against the pure dragons and his father—their leader—is dying. As the shifters fight for the pendragon position, fierce rivalry takes over. Aidan’s own brothers aren’t above blackmail and murder if it will get them to the top. He must stay one step ahead if he is to survive and keep his clan safe from the pure dragons who threaten them all.

Bailey and Aidan may be natural-born enemies, but working together might be the only thing that saves them from the danger that lies ahead.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10

* * *
 I feel like this series develops at a steady, good pace. The world-building is clear and established, the romance is a very slow burn, and the action sequences are as tasty as ever. Overall, big thumbs up to Susan and her dragon slayer.

Friday Mini-Reviews #85: Lauren Dane, Michelle Sagara & J.D. Robb



Opening Up by Lauren Dane (Ink & Chrome #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Lauren Dane delivers Book #1 in her Ink & Chrome erotic romance series.

The men of the Twisted Steel custom motorcycle shop are great with their hands... and they're not afraid to get dirty.

PJ is exactly the kind of woman Twisted Steel owner Asa Barrons doesn't need. The last thing he wants to do is mix business with pleasure, and PJ has some of the best custom detailing he's ever seen. But the chemistry between them won't be denied, and soon he's introducing her to a whole new world in the bedroom, pushing her far beyond anything she's ever experienced. PJ finds she can't get enough, but how far is too far before he consumes her completely?
 


Audible US | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

6.5/10
This as one visual candy of a book. Is it bad if I cared about the world far more than I cared about the main characters? I think there as way too much thinking and not enough acting. Reading about it was making me tired.
* * *
Это была прям визуальная конфетка. Правда, наверное это плохо, что я больше облизывалась на описания машин, одежды и татуировок, чем на главных героев? Очень уж они долго мусоли свои мысли друг друге, всё так тщательно пережёвывалось в этом романе, что я читать устала.


 Cast in Shadow by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra #1)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Seven years ago Kaylin fled the crime-riddled streets of Nightshade, knowing that something was after her. Children were being murdered — and all had the same odd markings that mysteriously appeared on her own skin...

Since then, she's learned to read, she's learned to fight and she's become one of the vaunted Hawks who patrol and police the City of Elantra. Alongside the winged Aerians and immortal Barrani, she's made a place for herself, far from the mean streets of her birth.

But children are once again dying, and a dark and familiar pattern is emerging, Kaylin is ordered back into Nightshade with a partner she knows she can't trust, a Dragon lord for a companion and a device to contain her powers — powers that no other human has. Her task is simple — find the killer, stop the murders... and survive the attentions of those who claim to be her allies!


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10
A really great beginning of a vibrant series. The world-building is localised to the city of Elantra, but there are a few exciting races, a lot of magic, and a dragon emperor. The main heroine is a young Hawk (a cop) a stumbles into a lot of magical trouble where she intuitively finds a way to avoid disaster. Fun, sharp series. Recommended.
* * *
Замечательное начало лёгкой, яркой фэнтезийной серии. Построение мира сосредоточено на городе Элантра, однако он полон интересных рас, старой магии и управляется императором - драконом. Главная героиня - молодой Ястреб (полицейский) и как магнит, притягивает к себе магические неприятности, которые разрешает интуитивно. Острая, увлекательная серия. Рекомендую.
 

 Fantasy in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #30)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

The new and reissued J. D. Robb classic from the 'In Death' series, where a game of life and death has gone terribly wrong...
Murder did that. Took lives, crushed others. But why? Money. Jealousy. Revenge. Secrets. Passion. Whatever the answers, the method had been bold and complex. They were best friends, driven by a shared vision to rule the world of virtual reality games. Their newest invention, developed to transport the player into a fantastical virtual world, is about to be launched. But suddenly, Bart, the brains behind it all, is found brutally killed - defeated by his own game. Their close-knit group is torn apart. Who could have engineered such a devastating virtual death? Even Eve Dallas, New York City's most cunning investigator, is thrown. But as she peels back layers of secrets, revenge and misplaced allegiances, she realises the depth of the killer's master plan. And she knows his game is far from over...


 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

                                                                          8/10
This book was so much fun! You know, immersion role play game which turns deadly if you lose? That type of fun! Especially when Roarke and Eve start playing it and realise midway through just how serious the stakes are... FUN!
* * *
Такое мне эта книга доставила удовольствие! Особенно, когда ролевая игра оказалась смертельной для тех, кто проигрывает, что Роарк и Ив осознали только в процессе и чуть ли не умерли... Крутой сюжет, очень понравилось!

Fantasy Romance Novel Review: Keeper by Amanda Ryan

Keeper by Amanda Ryan (The Dynasty Saga #1)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Aren is ruled by magic, a skill held by few and coveted by many. Magicians are powerless, however, without their Keepers – human conduits of power nearly hunted to extinction.

Amalia has managed to keep the truth of her rare Keeper ability a secret, despite serving one of the most power hungry, reviled lords of Aren. When a desperate bid for freedom is thwarted by none other than Lord Ilyas san Merin, the Right Hand to the Royal of Aren, Lia believes her luck has run out. The handsome yet deadly Lord Merin offers her a deal - help him track down a magical tome stolen from the Royal, and he will grant her asylum.

With no other choice, Lia accepts. Ilyas drags her across Aren in a frantic search to recover the ancient book, and in the process Lia learns she is not the only one harboring secrets. She is intrigued by the man and his mysterious methods, and before long Lia finds herself struggling to abide by the most important rule for Keepers who want to retain their freedom: remain untouched.

In uncovering a treacherous plot to launch Aren into civil war, Ilyas and Lia have little time to tread careful lines. Lia learns what it means to be a Keeper in a world rife with magic-hungry madness, and in the end she has to make a decision that not only will change her life, but also the entire world.
 


Amazon kindle US/UK

 6/10

* * *
 Overall, Keeper is an okay read, and there are some good bits in it I really enjoyed, but as a whole it failed to engage.

Contemporary Romance Review: Dirty Like Me by Jaine Diamond

Dirty Like Me by Jaine Diamond (Dirty #1)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
A gorgeous rock star.
An indecent proposal.
How can a girl resist?

Struggling barista Katie Bloom doesn’t even know who Jesse Mayes is until she inadvertently wins the coveted role of sex kitten in his hot new music video. But by the time she’s in bed with him, she knows his reputation.

Love maker. Heartbreaker.

Making out with a stranger in front of a camera crew isn’t how Katie imagined herself getting over a broken heart, but when Jesse touches her, sparks fly. The sex is fake but the chemistry is real, and soon the steamy video is blazing up the charts.

Then Jesse makes Katie an irresistible offer: act as his girlfriend for six weeks while he promotes his new album. The only catch? Their sizzling make-out sessions will be for the cameras only.

Which is fine with Katie, since she's not about to trust her heart to rock's most legendary lover. Her body? Maybe…
 


Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10

* * *
Jess Mayes is a rock star, Katie Bloom is a baker and an artist. She makes an impression on him while visiting her friend's talent studio, and he requests her as a model for his music video.

This is a delicious tangled mess of a relationship, and I really enjoyed reading about it. I liked how yummy Jess was. I was actually more in his camp than Katie's.

The Postman Knock #166

Hello, ladies and fellas! Hope you are having a great week! Mine was super busy, we had tons of social interactions which were really tiring, and unfortunately I haven't had that much time to read. *booo*

READ/LISTENED TO:

Both were actually good reads.

FOR REVIEW/NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS:


Thank you, publishers and Elizabeth! So excited to read all these!!!

KINDLE FREEBIES:



Here you go, this is me! 
Hugs and tchau xxx

Friday Mini Reviews #84: Michelle Sagara, J.D. Robb & Emma Holly



Cast in Moonlight by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra #0.5)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Barely a teenager, Kaylin Neya is a thief, a fugitive and an attempted assassin. She also has a smart mouth, sharp wits and mysterious markings on her skin. All of which make her perfect bait for a child prostitution sting in the city of Elantra - if she survives her first meeting with the Hawks!
 
Audible US | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
 
 
 8/10
This was my introduction to Michelle Sagara, and I was instantly hooked. Vivid world-building, fascinating magic, Kaylin Neya herself, - this was such a delicious start of the series, that I started book #1 straight away! Recommended.
* * *
Это была моя первая книга от Мишель Сагары, и я сразу же влюбилась в авторский стиль. Красочное построение мира, сложная магия, интересные расы, сама Кейлин Нэйя, - всему этому пиршеству я противостоять не смогла, и сразу же начала слушать остальные книги серии. Рекомендую.


Missing in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #29.5)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Aboard the Staten Island ferry, a tourist comes across something she shouldn't have seen - something someone needs kept very quiet. Soon no one can find her. But if she didn't jump, and she's not on board, where is she?

Homicide Lieutenant Eve Dallas is called to the scene and is quickly faced with a shocking web of lies. With time running out and a deadly trail of intimidation and revenge emerging, Eve and her team must find out just what was seen on that ferry . . .


 Audible US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

 7.5/10
I love how Nora always tries to play with her novellas just a little bit more. It's not about plausibility, but instead about having fun while writing a short story. In this regard Missing in Death has certainly delivered. Recommended.
* * *
Я люблю как Нора Робертс всегда старается немного поиграть со своими повестями и завести их в кросс-жанры. то у неё происходит что-то паранормальное, но в этот раз она залезла в шпионский роман. В общем, было весело и интересно. Рекомендую.

 Lord and Master by Emma Holly (The Billionaires #3)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

My name is Mia Beck, and I’m a lucky girl . . .

Billionaire Damien Call didn’t magically stop being moody just because Jake and I moved in with him. Fortunately, I've devised a strategy. I inherited a share in an exclusive erotic club, and they’re beta testing a role-play game. Surrounded by period perfect detail, members pretend to be Edwardian lords and ladies . . . or stable masters, if they prefer.

By switching up our dynamic, I'm hoping to smooth the snags in our otherwise fabulous menage. Neither of my lovers has trouble opening his heart to me, but I suspect Damien would benefit from exploring his dominant side, and he and Jake could be easier with each other.

That’s my goal anyway. My plan might go up in smoke when Jake and Damien concoct their own scheme for me!



Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository


7.5/10
Not as sassy as Beck & Call, and the period immersion game threw me a little bit off, because all three characters were so serious about their roles, and yet you still knew they were playing. However, it was sweet. Recommended.
* * *
 Не так всё дерзко и жгуче, как в книге предыдущей, да и сама историческая ролевая игра приводила меня в замешательство, так как герои были настолько серьёзны в следовании правилам, что сами себе верили... Однако интересно, мило и горячо. Всё-равно, советую.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger