If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Halloween Horror Anthology Review: Teeth. Long and Sharp by Grace Draven

Teeth, Long and Sharp by Grace Draven, Antioch Grey, Aria M. Jones, Jeffe Kennedy and Mel Sterling


Ecopy courtesy of Grace Draven

Synopsis from Goodreads
A collection of tales sharp and pointed.

IVORIES by Aria M. Jones - Eleanor resents the afternoons sacrificed to piano lessons and a disagreeable teacher who gloats over her failures and humiliations. Today, it’s Mrs. Lundemann’s turn for a sacrifice of a very different nature…

NIGHT TIDE by Grace Draven - Something hunts the surf at night, luring villagers to their deaths with a lullaby of sorrow and the torture of nightmares. Blessed with the gift of water-sight, Zigana Imre senses the presence of an ancient predator possessing a taste for human flesh sweetened by grief. With the help of a child of earth, she will battle a spawn of the sea to protect a loved one and save a man who will one day save a world.

THE NOISE OF FUR by Jeffe Kennedy - The first time, it came at night…

In the forest, a Thing prowls, picking off members of young Raven’s tribe. If they flee their home, they face starvation. If only Raven can answer the question of what kind of fur makes that noise.

VENETRIX by Antioch Grey - A merchant and a poet come to the City, seeking justice for the murder of a relative, and if justice cannot be found, they will have revenge. They collude with vampires, negotiate with mermaids, share ale and meat pies with gargoyles and navigate the prisons, waterways and court system of a city ruled by a Master possessing long life and even longer teeth.

The City will make you a fortune, or it will kill you, but it will always change you.

THE VAMPIRES OF MULBERRY STREET by Aria M. Jones - Living the simple life in small town Indiana, Mrs. H has everything she could possibly ever want: a cozy house, peace and quiet, and a garden that is the envy of Mulberry Street. But when sinister outsiders disrupt the tranquility of her neighborhood, it might be time for her to come out of retirement and take up tools more deadly than pruning shears and a trowel.

VOICE OF THE KNIFE by Mel Sterling - Biologist Charles Napier doesn’t mind getting lost in a Florida swamp—it’s part of a scientist’s job. Logic and training will get him out safely. Except lurking in this swamp, there’s a monster Napier’s science can’t explain...a lonely, exquisite, desperate monster.

Foreword by Ilona Andrews


 Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10

* * *
 IVORIES BY ARIA M. JONES 7.5/10
This as a creepy little short which started promising but ended very abruptly. So abruptly, I couldn't make sense of it.
* * * 
Очень короткая история, очень атмосферная и жутковатая. Однако обрывается она так внезапно, что я ничего не поняла.

Happy Halloween and November Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!


Happy Halloween, peeps! Have a spooky, wonderful day! I am hankering down with my crocheting and a glass of wine and a good movie.

How about you? What are you watching tonight?

Here's what I'm waiting to read this month:

I am reviewing Over The Edge which was nice, and The Blockade plus Sweetest Regret which I haven't read yet, but I am really curious about The Diabolic. What about you?

The Postman Knock #165

Hello, peeps! It's finally beautiful autumn here, and the weather is perfect. Last couple of days I was planting out my winter veg, and it's all done and dusted now :)





In the last couple of weeks I requested FOR REVIEW:


and downloaded a KINDLE FREEBIE:


but mostly I was busy plowing through my BLOG AHEAD challenge.

As a result I caught up first time in a couple of years on all my reviews of read books! It's mostly on paper as I didn't have enough solar electric for using my laptop and posting a review on tablet is a proper nightmare, but looking at my schedule now I've got reviews done right until the end of this year, and a lot of  Friday mini-reviews to last me into the first 2 months of 2017.
I also have Christmas With feature confirmed with the participating authors, so all in all this challenge was super productive!

Have a fab weekend, you all!
Tchau xxx


Friday Mini Reviews #83: J.D. Robb, V.E. Schwab & Emma Holly



Kindred in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #29)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
When the newly promoted captain of the NYPSD and his wife return a day early from their vacation, they were looking forward to spending time with their bright and vivacious sixteen-year-old daughter who had stayed behind.

Not even their worst nightmares could have prepared them for the crime scene that awaited them instead. Brutally murdered in her bedroom, Deena's body showed signs of trauma that horrified even the toughest of cops; including our own Lieutenant Eve Dallas, who was specifically requested by the captain to investigate.

When the evidence starts to pile up, Dallas and her team think they are about to arrest their perpetrator; little do they know yet that someone has gone to great lengths to tease and taunt them by using a variety of identities. Overconfidence can lead to careless mistakes. But for Dallas, one mistake might be all she needs to bring justice.
Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
8.5/10
This is a brutal book, and Eve has to deal with one of her triggers here repeatedly, trying to catch a serial killer. As usual, top-notch writing , fantastic investigation, and I completely inhaled this book. Recommended.
* * *
Очень жестокая книга, и Ив здесь приходится работать с одним из триггеров её детских травм, пока она следует по пятам серийного убийцы. Как обычно, замечательно написано, фантастическое напряжённое расследование. Я просто проглотила эту книгу на одном дыхании.

 A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab (Shades of Magic #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Kell is one of the last travelers--magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes connected by one magical city.

There's Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, and with one mad King--George III. Red London, where life and magic are revered--and where Kell was raised alongside Rhy Maresh, the roguish heir to a flourishing empire. White London--a place where people fight to control magic and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London. But no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red traveler, ambassador of the Maresh empire, carrying the monthly correspondences between the royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they'll never see. It's a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand. .

Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they'll first need to stay alive.
 
Audio US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
 7.5/10
Mostly my beef is with the narrator  of the book, who made young people sound like cantankerous old men. Not cool! Overall, I don't think it's Schwab's best, but I absolutely loved the imagery. Each London as vivid and different, and the villains were gorgeous.
* * *
Я тут поворчу по поводу рассказчика на аудио, которому удалось озвучить молодых персонажей как брюзжащих стариков. Не самая лучшая книга Мисс Шваб, однако картины миров здесь очень живописные, да и злодеи у неё вышли шикарные. Так что, продолжать серию буду.

 Beck & Call by Emma Holly (The Billionaires #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Women can’t keep their hands off billionaire Damien Call. The mysterious mogul has it all: fast cars, killer looks, and a brain that just might be his best asset.

Mia Beck loves her job at a PI firm. Her coworker Jake stars in most of her daydreams, so seeing him everyday is no hardship.

Jake hasn’t believed in human goodness since he worked black ops for the CIA. Romancing innocent Mia is unthinkable, no matter how enticingly submissive she seems to be. Then a case of corporate espionage forces them to pose as a dom/sub duo, to catch the eye of accused wrongdoer Damien. No fantasy is off limits for this voyeur—until the attraction the pair exerts lures him to go hands on . . .
Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
8.5/10
One of the better menage stories I've read, this was a cross between Cherise Sinclair and Roni Loren. Very hot, and the characters didn't behave like toddlers as in no throwing temper tantrums in face of adversity. Give me more stories like that any day!
* * *
Ах, Эмма Холли! Я всегда могу на неё положится. Эта была одна из лучших менаж-историй в жанре эротического романа. Что-то между творчеством Чериз Синклэйр и Рони Лорен. Характеры были взрослые и не бросались в истерику, если у них что-то не получалось, да и постельные сцены были очень жаркими. Рекомендую.

Romantic Comedy Review: Beard Science by Penny Reid

Beard Science by Penny Reid (Winston Brothers #3)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Make a deal with the devil and you might get what you want, but will it be what you need?

Jennifer Sylvester wants one thing, and that one thing is NOT to be Tennessee’s reigning Banana Cake Queen. Ever the perpetual good girl and obedient daughter, Jennifer is buckling under the weight of her social media celebrity, her mother’s ambitions, and her father’s puritanical mandates. Jennifer is officially desperate.

And desperate times call for Cletus Winston.

Cletus Winston is a puzzle wrapped in a mystery covered in conundrum sauce, and now he’s in a pickle. Despite being convinced of his own omniscience, extortion by the exalted Banana Cake Queen of Green Valley has taken him completely by surprise. So... what’s a maniacal mastermind to do?

Likely, the last thing you expect.


'Beard Science' is the third book in the Winston Brothers series, is a full-length romantic comedy novel, and can be read as a standalone. 


 Amazon US | Amazon kindle US/UK

9.5/10

* * *
 You know, I finished Beard Science couple of weeks ago and had to keep radio silence for a bit. Never mind that I was suffering from a toothache and couldn't think straight, this was my PRECIOUS, dammit, and I wasn't ready to share the FEELS!

Sci-FI Novel Audiobook Review: Fortune's Folly by Sara King

Fortune's Folly by Sara King (Outer Bounds #2)


audiocopy courtesy of Audible Studios

Synopsis from Goodreads
Fortune has a secret.

Humanity, in its struggle to escape its own planet's demise, began sending colony ships from Earth almost seven hundred years ago in the desperate hope a handful would find some place habitable to human life and be able to continue our species. Only one ship survived.

It only survived because it found a vast swath of alien planets, all terraformed, all utterly abandoned. Alien megastructures cold and lifeless. Alien vehicles left in panicked lines, sealed from the inside, no corpses within. Empty space stations, with no one to run them but the dust. Resources everywhere, ripe for the taking.

But Fortune is different. Of all the planets colonized by humans after the chaos of Migration, this single, jungle-infested colony on the very edge of the known universe holds the key to the alien collapse…and to humanity’s survival. Everywhere else, advanced alien ruins mar every surface, every planetoid, every debris ring and asteroid, but of the creatures that made them, there is no sign. On Fortune, something survives…

Unfortunately for humanity, while time is running out, a rebellion is brewing, one that could save our species—or consign it to dust like the aliens that came before us. Now, seven hundred years after our first brush with extinction, the fate of the human race once again rests on the shoulders of a few: a seven-year-old sociopath and her combat-gifted big sister, a man who’s dreamed of the future, an infamous smuggler, and a Coalition pilot sworn to destroy the rebel cause.

This time, however, the stakes are higher. For lurking on Fortune is a secret.

An epic, post-apocalyptic science fiction adventure that will make you hold your breath, cry, curse the powers that be, and in the end question what, exactly, it means to be human. This is the SECOND book in the Outer Bounds series. Please start with Book 1: Fortune's Rising.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10

* * *
There is one problem with reviewing audiobooks, peeps, and it's remembering names and trying to spell them correctly. I just spent 30 mins going through other people's reviews to get the names I need, and I still couldn't find them all. *grins*

Friday Mini-Reviews #82: G.S. Jennsen, Roni Loren & J.D. Robb



Starshine by G.S. Jennsen (Aurora Rising #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Space is vast and untamed, and it holds many secrets. Now two individuals from opposite ends of settled space are on a collision course with the darkest of those secrets, even as the world threatens to explode around them.

The year is 2322. Humanity has expanded into the stars, inhabiting over 100 worlds across a third of the galaxy. Though thriving as never before, they have discovered neither alien life nor the key to utopia. Earth struggles to retain authority over far-flung planets and free-wheeling corporations while an uneasy armistice with a breakaway federation hangs by a thread as the former rebels rise in wealth and power.

Alexis Solovy is Earth Alliance royalty, her father a fallen war hero and her mother an influential military leader. But she seeks only the freedom of space and has made a fortune by reading the patterns in the chaos to discover the hidden wonders of the stars.

Nothing about her latest objective suggests the secret it conceals will turn her life— not to mention the entire galaxy—upside down. But a chance encounter with a mysterious spy leads to a discovery which will thrust Alex into the middle of a galactic power struggle and a sinister conspiracy, whether she likes it or not.

When faced with its greatest challenge, will humanity rise to triumph, or fall to ruin?

AURORA RISING is an epic tale of galaxy-spanning adventure, of the thrill of discovery and the unquenchable desire to reach ever farther into the unknown. It's a tale of humanity at its best and worst, of love and loss, of fear and heroism. It's the story of a woman who sought the stars and found more than anyone imagined possible.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10
Whoa! A proper space opera, and a really well written one. Basically it's about to explorers/spies from enemy states who find a huge secret on the verge of war between aforementioned states. Then the war starts, and these two try their best to stop it as there is a bigger threat ahead... Very exciting, full of action, and you bet I'll be continuing with this series! Recommended.
* * *
Вау! Самая настоящая космическая опера, да и ещё так классно написанная. В общем, книга эта о двух исследователях или шпионах из враждебных государств на грани войны. Они раскрывают огромный секрет, война начинается, и теперь они пытаются убедить глав своих государств всё отбросить так как у них теперь огромная общая угроза. Написано блестяще, полно экшна и очень интересного построения мира. Точно буду читать продолжение. Рекомендую!

Wanderlust by Roni Loren 

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
From the New York Times bestselling author of the Loving on the Edge series and Off the Clock, a story of sex, love, rock & roll, and a reporter who’s about to learn a new meaning for staying on top of her assignment...
 
Restaurant critic Aubrey Bordelon is never at a loss for words to describe her meals in the fancy restaurants of New Orleans. But after her magazine’s high-profile music reporter falls ill, she finds herself out of her element and in a sea of screaming fans awaiting Wanderlust’s lead singer, Lex Logan. The sound of his voice gives her goosebumps, and the stage presence of the hard-bodied rock star takes her breath away. So when he pulls her onstage for a sexy stunt, she knows she’s in real trouble.

Lex doesn’t want to pretend that the sparks on stage between him and Aubrey never happened, but it certainly makes the fact that she’s writing a story on his band all the more dangerous. The last thing he needs is some nosy reporter revealing their problems to the world. But the sexy Southern belle doesn’t give up easily, and soon he’s wondering if the best way to chase her off the story is to coax her into his bed… 


Amazon kindle US/UK

7/10
A sweet read, and an inspiring story about someone ho is putting their life together. It felt quite short and it didn't have usual for Miss Loren BDSM elements, but hey, there is a rock star here, and that counts for something, right? Recommended.
* * *
Милое чтиво, и воодушевляющее, так как главная героиня - перестраивает свою жизнь заново после трагедии в юности. Здесь нет обычных для Мисс Лорен элементов бдсм, однако Лекс - рок-звезда, а это за что засчитывается, правда? В общем, хоть и коротко, но рекомендую.

Promises in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #28)

borrowed on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Inside the paralysed shell, she struggled, she strained. She looked up into the eyes of her killer. Into the eyes of a friend. Why?
Every cop gets angry when a police officer is killed. And Lieutenant Eve Dallas is no exception. Throwing every resource into solving Amarylis Coltraine's brutal murder, Eve encounters bitter opposition from Coltraine's fellow officers, who are desperate to take over the case. But when Eve receives a strange parcel containing Coltraine's badge and gun together with a note threatening the imminent arrival of her own ID, she knows the case has just got personal.
Then a link to millionaire Alex Ricker, son of a criminal she had put behind bars, heats things up even further. Ricker was romantically involved with Amarylis - did she leak information to him and then have a change of heart? Eve must put herself in extreme danger to get to the truth . . .

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10
I loved this one. Not only it involves both Roarke and Eve's pasts, it's about a very tragic loss for Morris, Eve's old friend and medical examiner. A loss he'll feel for many more books to come. Great investigation as usual, a very enjoyable read.
* * *
С большим удовольствием читала эту книгу. Она не только затрагивает прошлое Рорка и Ив, она немного раскрывает нам характер Морриса, который в этой книге теряет возлюбленную, и который будет по ней горевать на протяжение многих книг серии. Хорошая детективная история, слушалась на лету.


Historical Mystery Review: A Study in Scarlet Women by Sherry Thomas

A Study in Scarlet Women by Sherry Thomas (Lady Sherlock #1)


Egalley courtesy of Berkley

Synopsis from Goodreads
USA Today bestselling author Sherry Thomas turns the story of the renowned Sherlock Holmes upside down…

With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the fairer sex in upper class society.  But even she never thought that she would become a social pariah, an outcast fending for herself on the mean streets of London.

When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her sister and her father, Charlotte is desperate to find the true culprits and clear the family name. She’ll have help from friends new and old—a kind-hearted widow, a police inspector, and a man who has long loved her. But in the end, it will be up to Charlotte, under the assumed name Sherlock Holmes, to challenge society’s expectations and match wits against an unseen mastermind.
 


 Audio US | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
I've seen some reviews where people haven't been happy with the pace and style of this book, but let me assure you, dear readers, this is not the case for me. I loved A Study in Scarlet Women.

The Postman Knock #164

Sorry, peeps!
I pretty much dropped out of circulation for 2 weeks. I had a terrible toothache, and between insomnia and pain couldn't think straight, and I'm a bit fuzzy with a cold even now. 
So my schedule of Blog Ahead challenge went nowhere, and I could only binge watch TV series instead of reading and reviewing books.

Not mentioning what I read because it's a minuscule amount of mostly Penny Reid re-reads. BEARD SCIENCE put me into a major book hangover it was that GOOD. Go and buy it now, I tell you! Which is why I could not touch any other author for awhile.

FOR REVIEW/NETGALLEY:


GIFTED:

From my gorgeous pal, Betsy, who alerted me to Acton & Doyle's new and much anticipated release and then sent it to me as a gift! Thank you, sweetheart!
 
I am dropping everything and going to read it now, peeps...

Have a lovely weekend, you all!
I'll do my best to revert to normal blogging schedule from Monday onwards.
Over and out.


October New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!

A Study in Scarlet Women was fab, and I am not holding my breath for newest Courtney Milan which most likely will be delayed. The rest however, look like spectacularly good reads! What about you, peeps?


The Postman Knock #163

Hello, everyone!
How was your week? I haven't read much but managed to blog or comment much more than usual which made me proud :)

READ/LISTENED TO:


What a crazy read, this COMFORT FOOD. I didn't know what to think of it but it was compelling. RANDOM ACTS OF CRAZY was hilarious and really cute. SCOT IN THE DARK was okay. I loved the heroine much more than the hero! FORTUNE'S FOLLY was fab but I don't expect anything less from this author. Same goes for LOVING YOU EASY. Roni Loren always delivers. OBSESSION IN DEATH was a fantastic listen as well.

FOR REVIEW:

Thank you so much, Penny, Jaine, Grace!

BOUGHT OR BORROWED:


This is it for me, enjoy your weekend and until next week!
Tchau x
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger