If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


April New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!


It really has been slim pickings for me each month among all the new releases.. I think I am getting very picky in my old age. Anyway, only these 4 this month. I already read Masks and Shadows and it was amazing! I'm also reading Daughters of Ruin for review, but it's Love, Lies & Spies I'm looking forward to most. What about you?

Steampunk Fantasy Audiobook Review: The Masked City by Genevieve Cogman

The Masked City by Genevieve Cogman (The Invisible Library #2)


audiocopy thanks to Audible Studios

Synopsis from Goodreads
 Librarian-spy Irene is working undercover in an alternative London when her assistant Kai goes missing. She discovers he's been kidnapped by the fae faction and the repercussions could be fatal. Not just for Kai, but for whole worlds.

Kai's dragon heritage means he has powerful allies, but also powerful enemies in the form of the fae. With this act of aggression, the fae are determined to trigger a war between their people - and the forces of order and chaos themselves.

Irene's mission to save Kai and avert Armageddon will take her to a dark, alternate Venice where it's always Carnival. Here Irene will be forced to blackmail, fast talk, and fight. Or face death.


 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
It's possible that The Masked City was even better, that The Invisible Library. I'm positive about it. Again the narrator has done a stellar job with the character voices. Irene, Vere and Kai are fabulous, but there is just so much yumminess in this book, the whole experience is like one very decadent cake.

Friday Mini Reviews #67: J.D. Robb, Mary Robinette Kowal & Brandon Sanderson



Imitation in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #17)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Summer, 2059.

A man wearing a cape and a top hat approaches a prostitute on a dark, New York City street. Minutes later, the woman is dead. Left at the scene is a letter addressed to Lieutenant Eve Dallas, inviting her to play his game and unveil his identity. He signs it, "Jack." Now Dallas is in pursuit of a murderer who knows as much about the history of serial killers as she does. He has studied the most notorious and the most vicious slayings in modern times. But he also wants to make his own mark. He has chosen his victim: Eve Dallas. And all Eve knows is that he plans to mimic the most infamous murderers of all starting with Jack the Ripper... 

 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10

This book is a case of solid police work and some delightful banter between Peabody and Eve concerning relationships. It totally made me giggle. The series continue to be utterly captivating, and it's the developing character arc that I find so irresistible. Recommended!
 * * *
Эта книга - экземпляр отличной детективной работы и смешных разговорчиков между Ив и её партнёром Пибоду. Я только знала, что хихикала. Эта серия продолжает меня завораживать именно потому, что она постоянно развивает характеры главных героев. Рекомендую!

   Without a Summer by  Mary Robinette Kowal (Glamourist Histories #3)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Up-and-coming fantasist Mary Robinette Kowal enchanted fans with award-winning short stories and beloved novels featuring Regency pair Jane Ellsworth and Vincent. In Without a Summer the master glamourists return home, but in a world where magic is real, nothing—even the domestic sphere—is quite what it seems.

Jane and Vincent go to Long Parkmeade to spend time with Jane’s family, but quickly turn restless. The year is unseasonably cold. No one wants to be outside and Mr. Ellsworth is concerned by the harvest, since a bad one may imperil Melody’s dowry. And Melody has concerns of her own, given the inadequate selection of eligible bachelors. When Jane and Vincent receive a commission from a prominent family in London, they decide to take it, and take Melody with them. They hope the change of scenery will do her good and her marriage prospects—and mood—will be brighter in London.

Once there, talk is of nothing but the crop failures caused by the cold and increased unemployment of the coldmongers, which have provoked riots in several cities to the north. With each passing day, it’s more difficult to avoid getting embroiled in the intrigue, none of which really helps Melody’s chances for romance. It’s not long before Jane and Vincent realize that in addition to getting Melody to the church on time, they must take on one small task: solving a crisis of international proportions.
  Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

 8/10
Did you know that this book is based on well-known historical fact?I found it fascinating, how Miss Kowal mixes truth with fantasy.Very well written, more contained but no less tumultuous, I enjoyed Without A Summer very much. Great series!
* * *
А вы знаете, что эта книга основана на широко известном историческом факте? Англия действительно осталась без лета, и только годы спустя учёные выяснили, что виновато в этом было извержение вулкана. Мне очень нравится как Мисс Ковал мешает правду с фантастикой, и эта книга хоть и была более локализованной, но оказалась не менее бурной и волнующей, чем книги предыдущие. Классная серия!

 The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson (The Stormlight Archive #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Speak again the ancient oaths,
Life before death.
Strength before weakness.
Journey before Destination.

and return to men the Shards they once bore.
The Knights Radiant must stand again.

Roshar is a world of stone swept by tempests that shape ecology and civilization. Animals and plants retract; cities are built in shelter. In centuries since ten orders of Knights fell, their Shardblade swords and Shardplate armor still transform men into near-invincible warriors. Wars are fought for them, and won by them.

In one such war on ruined Shattered Plains, slave Kaladin struggles to save his men and fathom leaders who deem them expendable, in senseless wars where ten armies fight separately against one foe.

Brightlord Dalinar Kholin commands one of those other armies. Fascinated by ancient text The Way of Kings, troubled by visions of ancient times, he doubts his sanity.

Across the ocean, Shallan trains under eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece Jasnah. Though Shallan genuinely loves learning, she plans a daring theft. Her research hints at secrets of the Knights Radiant and the true cause of the war.
 
 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

 8.5/10
Well, by now I was ready for sheer depressive power of Sanderson's work, so it didn't detract from my enjoyment of the book. Also I was operating under the assumption that everyone dies. Just so we're clear. Kaladin made me want to slit my wrists, and the scholar chapters were the most fascinating, while Dalinar did nothing for me as a character. Otherwise it's an astounding piece of great fantasy. I'll be reading more.
* * *
 К настоящему моменту я привыкла к огромной депрессивности книг Сандерсона, так что я смогла прочитать Путь Королей без особого желания разбить что-то об стену. К тому же, я с самого начала дала себе установку, что умрут все. От Каладена хотелось резать вены, главы про школяров были самыми захватывающими, а Далимар не произвёл на меня никакого впечатления. В остальном, это потрясающая работа фэнтези, и как-нибудь потом я эту серию дослушаю.

Erotic Romance Early Review: The Dirty Secret by Kira A. Gold

The Dirty Secret by Kira A. Gold 


Egalley thanks to Carina Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
From the Desk of Donna Edith…

My services are unconventional. My clients come to me with needs and I match them to other clients with needs of their own…

Promising young architect Killian Fitzroy: Driven, clever, eager to prove himself. Starved for sex, though he’s come to me for professional assistance, not personal. Needs: Someone unique, creative and fast. An artist with a feminine perspective to breathe life into a house he’s built.

Aspiring scenic designer Vessa Ratham: Sensuous, spontaneous, but secretive. Recently returned to Vermont armed with an art degree that qualifies her for little more than waiting tables. Needs: An opportunity to shine.

Yes, Killian and Vessa will satisfy each other nicely—in more ways than one.


Release Date: March 28th 2016.

Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10

* * *
 Honestly, while sex is pretty steamy in this book, mostly it's written as an interior design p*rn! I love whimsical, fairytalish, vintage look in design, and this chick who is a theatrical designer is asked to decorate a show house marketed for single older businesswomen who are comfortable staying on their own. So, she goes wild.

Steampunk Fantasy Audiobook Review: The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman (The Invisible Library #1) 


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
The first installment of an adventure featuring stolen books, secret agents and forbidden societies - think Doctor Who with librarian spies!

Irene must be at the top of her game or she'll be off the case - permanently...

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. And along with her enigmatic assistant Kai, she's posted to an alternative London. Their mission - to retrieve a dangerous book. But when they arrive, it's already been stolen. London's underground factions seem prepared to fight to the very death to find her book.

Adding to the jeopardy, this world is chaos-infested - the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Irene's new assistant is also hiding secrets of his own.

Soon, she's up to her eyebrows in a heady mix of danger, clues and secret societies. Yet failure is not an option - the nature of reality itself is at stake.
 


  Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
 One of the pleasures of being subscribed to Daily Deals on Audible is that you can try books which you otherwise won't read at a ridiculously cheap price. The cover of The Invisible Library is unassuming yet elegant, and in my head I firmly associated it with cozy historical mysteries and put it out of my mind when I first heard about it. Oh boy, was I wrong!

Friday Mini-Reviews #66: Mary Robinette Kowal, C.D. Reiss & J.D. Robb



Glamour in Glass by Mary Robinette Kowal (Glamourist Histories #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Mary Robinette Kowal stunned readers with her charming first novel Shades of Milk and Honey , a loving tribute to the works of Jane Austen in a world where magic is an everyday occurrence. This magic comes in the form of glamour, which allows talented users to form practically any illusion they can imagine. Shades debuted to great acclaim and left readers eagerly awaiting its sequel. Glamour in Glass continues following the lives of beloved main characters Jane and Vincent, with a much deeper vein of drama and intrigue.In the tumultuous months after Napoleon abdicates his throne, Jane and Vincent go to Belgium for their honeymoon. While there, the deposed emperor escapes his exile in Elba, throwing the continent into turmoil. With no easy way back to England, Jane and Vincent’s concerns turn from enjoying their honeymoon...to escaping it. Left with no outward salvation, Jane must persevere over her trying personal circumstances and use her glamour to rescue her husband from prison...and hopefully prevent her newly built marriage from getting stranded on the shoals of another country's war.
  Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
 8/10
This was unexpectedly dramatic and emotional book. Jane truly came out of her shell for the sake of her husband, and kicked some major butt in the process. I was proud of her ingenious ideas. As for Vincent, all his troubles could have been avoided if he trusted his wife from the beginning! Great book.
* * *
Это была неожиданно драматичная и эмоциональная книга. Джейн была вынуждена выбраться из своей скорлупы и показать на что она способна, чтобы спасти своего мужа. Я прямо гордилась её находчивостью. Что касается Винсента, то многих проблем ему удалось бы избежать, если бы он доверил свои секреты Джейн с самого начала. Хорошая книга!


 Break by C.D. Reiss (Songs of Perdition #3)
bought
Synopsis from Goodreads
Everything about Fiona Drazen is forbidden. She’s a party girl with dark desires. She’s beautiful, irresponsible, irresistible. She’s my patient. I’m her therapist. I’m past past wanting her. Past possessing her. Past bedding her or protecting her. I’m willing to be self-destructive, negligent, brave, audacious, and stronger than I ever believed possible. She’s blunt force trauma to the heart. And she calls another man Master. 
 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10
As usual with C.D. Reiss this is a very unorthodox book with an unorthodox ending. Fiona is an extremely complex character, and in the end it's not Deacon or Elliot who save her. It's her on her own who has to heal herself.  I loved that ending, I loved how peaceful it made me feel in the end. Also there are some quotes to die for in here, just beautiful!
* * *
Как обычно с С.Д. Рейсс, книга эта не прямолинейная, да и концовка у неё неортодоксальная. Фиона - очень сложная героиня, и под конец, ни Дикон ни Эллиот спасти её не могут. Она должна залечить свои раны сама. Жутко понравился её тихий и очень реалистичный хэппи энд, да и цитат здесь было безумно красивых просто гора.
 Portrait in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #16)
bought
Synopsis from Goodreads
After a tip from a reporter, Eve Dallas finds the body of a young woman in a Delancey street dumpster. Just hours before, the news station had mysteriously received a portfolio of professional portraits of the woman. The photos seemed to be nothing out of the ordinary for any pretty young woman starting a modeling career. Except that she wasn't a model. And that these photos were taken after she had been murdered. Now Dallas is on the trail of a killer who's a perfectionist and an artist. He carefully observes and records his victim's every move. And he has a mission: to own every beautiful young woman's innocence, to capture her youth and vitality—in one fateful shot... 
 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository  

8/10
This is a heartbreaking book for Roarke as he finds out a very important fact from his past, something which makes him rethink the foundation he built himself on. It's emotionally taxing and it's another important milestone in his relationship with Eve as he has to learn to open up about his troubles to her this time, not the other way round. Fabulous book as usual.
* * *
Это душераздирающая книга для Роарка, так как он узнаёт немаловажный факт из своего прошлого, что разрушает фундамент, на котором он построил свою личность. Это очень эмоциональное для него время и ещё один урок в отношениях с Ив, так как он учится доверять ей и делиться бременем своих проблем. Обычно ведь это Ив, из которой приходится всё вытаскивать клещами. В общем, хорошая книга!
 

YA Historical Fantasy Time Travel Review: Into The Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Into The Dim by Janet B. Taylor (Into The Dim #1)


Egalley thanks to HMH Books for Young Readers

Synopsis from Goodreads
“Seventy-two hours, then we have to be back at the clearing. Sunrise on the third day.”

Being “the homeschooled girl,” in a small town, Hope Walton’s crippling phobias and photographic memory don’t help her fit in with her adoptive dad’s perfectly blonde Southern family. But when her mother is killed in a natural disaster thousands of miles from home, Hope’s secluded world crumbles. After an aunt she’s never met invites her to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic. She’s a member of a secret society of time travelers, and is actually trapped in the twelfth century in the age of King Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine. Now Hope must conquer her numerous fears and travel back in time to help rescue her mother before she’s lost for good. Along the way, she’ll discover more family secrets, and a mysterious boy who could be vital to setting her mother free… or the key to Hope’s undoing.

Addictive, romantic, and rich with historical detail, Into the Dim is an Outlander for teens.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK  | The Book Depository

6.5/10

* * *
I am not sure what to think of this book. On one hand, it was an easy, vivid, entertaining read. On the other hand, someone whose bread and butter for many years was historical fiction and who has always been fascinated by the notion of time travel, Into The Dim felt sloppy and simplistic.

YA Sci Fi Novel Review: Bluescreen by Dan Wells

Bluescreen by Dan Wells (Mirador #1)


Egalley thanks to Balzer & Bray

Synopsis from Goodreads
Los Angeles in 2050 is a city of open doors, as long as you have the right connections. One of those connections is a djinni—a smart device implanted right in a person’s head. In a world where virtually everyone is online twenty-four hours a day, this connection is like oxygen—and a world like that presents plenty of opportunities for someone who knows how to manipulate it.

Marisa Carneseca is one of those people. She might spend her days in Mirador, the small, vibrant LA neighborhood where her family owns a restaurant, but she lives on the net—going to school, playing games, hanging out, or doing things of more questionable legality with her friends Sahara and Anja. And it’s Anja who first gets her hands on Bluescreen—a virtual drug that plugs right into a person’s djinni and delivers a massive, non-chemical, completely safe high. But in this city, when something sounds too good to be true, it usually is, and Mari and her friends soon find themselves in the middle of a conspiracy that is much bigger than they ever suspected.

Dan Wells, author of the New York Times bestselling Partials Sequence, returns with a stunning new vision of the near future—a breathless cyber-thriller where privacy is the world’s most rare resource and nothing, not even the thoughts in our heads, is safe.


  Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
Wow! What a wild ride, peeps! This book totally kicked ass.

While the beginning is a bit clunky, as we are chucked right into a deep end with the world-building and it's up to us to sink or swim, by about 15% into the book you end up totally engrossed in Bluescreen.

Friday Mini Reviews #65: Tracey Sinclair, J.D. Robb & Amy E. Reichert


A Vampire in New York and Other Stories (Dark Dates Short Stories #5)

Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
The hunter Cain investigates a series of grisly deaths in an English tourist hotspot. A lonely vampire joins Laclos for a thrilling, dangerous and blood-fuelled odyssey through New York after dark. While a girls’ night out for Cass, Medea and Katie takes a very deadly turn…

Snarky, sexy and unexpected, these three stories let you catch up with your favourite Dark Dates characters. Find out what they get up to when they think no one is watching… 

Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10
God, the sheep story!.. Worth it on its own! I also loved the gals going to Brighton where I used to live, it was recognizable and at the same time I could see it with new eyes. I loved how the huntress underestimated Cass and couldn't believe that she was a girlfriend of both Cain and Laclos. I giggled to myself especially considering the backstory. Overall, this is an excellent collection of small stories, and I am so hungry for a new book in this excellent series, that reading such tasty tidbits only makes me more frustrated.
* * *
Овечий инцидент один стоит того, чтобы купить эту коллекцию повестей, не говоря уж о девичнике в Брайтоне, о котором я читала с наслаждением. Интересно посмотреть на город, в котором жила новыми глазами и с ностальгией, да и история сама по себе была интересной. А уж удивление охотницы когда та узнала, что Касс - гёрлфренд обоих Каина и Лаклоса, учитывая ее историю с повести об Эдинбурге... Это была просто ржачка!


 Purity in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #15)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Louie Cogburn had spent three days holed up in his apartment, staring at his computer screen. His pounding headache was unbearable - it felt like spikes drilling into his brain. And it was getting worse. Finally, when someone knocked at his door, Louie picked up a baseball bat, opened up the door, and started swinging....

The first cop on the scence fired his stunner twice. Louie died instantly. Detective Eve Dallas has taken over the investigation, but there's nothing to explain the man's sudden rage or death. The only clue is a bizarre message left on his computer screen: ABSOLUTE PURITY ACHEIVED
And when a second man dies under near-identical circumstances, Eve starts racking her brain for answers and the courage to face the impossible...that this might be a computer virus able to spread from machine to man....

 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10
Another book in series, another computer crime. Fascinating plot, and I enjoyed that Trueheart got to play a good role. Roarke as usual helped and Eve kicked butt. Excellence all around!
* * *
Ещё одна книга серии, расследующая компьютерные преступления. Жутко интересный сюжет, Трухарт играет хорошую роль, Роарк помогает, а Ив как обычно поддаёт всем под зад. Читалось на одном дыхании.

 The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy E. Reichert

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

YOU'VE GOT MAIL meets HOW TO EAT A CUPCAKE in this delightful novel about a talented chef and the food critic who brings down her restaurant—whose chance meeting turns into a delectable romance of mistaken identities.

In downtown Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Lou works tirelessly to build her beloved yet struggling French restaurant, Luella’s, into a success. She cheerfully balances her demanding business and even more demanding fiancé…until the morning she discovers him in the buff—with an intern.

Witty yet gruff British transplant Al is keeping himself employed and entertained by writing scathing reviews of local restaurants in the Milwaukee newspaper under a pseudonym. When an anonymous tip sends him to Luella’s, little does he know he’s arrived on the worst day of the chef’s life. The review practically writes itself: underdone fish, scorched sauce, distracted service—he unleashes his worst.

The day that Al’s mean-spirited review of Luella’s runs, the two cross paths in a pub: Lou drowning her sorrows, and Al celebrating his latest publication. As they chat, Al playfully challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee and she’s game—but only if they never discuss work, which Al readily agrees to. As they explore the city’s local delicacies and their mutual attraction, Lou’s restaurant faces closure, while Al’s column gains popularity. It’s only a matter of time before the two fall in love…but when the truth comes out, can Lou overlook the past to chase her future?

Set in the lovely, quirky heart of Wisconsin, THE COINCIDENCE OF COCONUT CAKE is a charming love story of misunderstandings, mistaken identity, and the power of food to bring two people together.

 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10
This was as lovely as promised by synopsis. Lots of gorgeous food - cooking and eating, a case of mistaken identity, a man who becomes a better version of himself the more he appreciates life, and a recipe for a coconut cake in the end. Wonderful, comforting, sweet book! Totally recommended as pick-me-up.
* * *
Книга оказалась милейшей до невозможности, как и обещанно синопсисом. Гора вкусной еды - которую оба персонажа готовят  и едят, случай секретов, выходящих наружу в самый неподходящий момент, герой, превращающийся из лягушки в принца, чем счастливее он становится, ну и прекрасный рецепт кокосового торта под конец. Очень советую, особенно если нужно что-то для поднятия настроения.

Paranormal Fantasy Time Travel Novel Review: Waging War by April White

Waging War by April White (The Immortal Descendants #4)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
War is being waged against the Descendants and Saira Elian is desperate to stop the Mongers’ savage bid for power…

Saira’s search for kidnapped mixed-bloods draws her into the Mongers’ stronghold, revealing the horrible truth behind the irresistible Monger ring and the vile plan to cleanse Family bloodlines … permanently.

To prevent a brutal massacre, Saira and Ringo travel back to Bletchley Park during World War II where they team up with Archer from the past to crack a Nazi code and expose a Monger traitor intent on changing the course of history. They team with a female commando from the French resistance to hunt down an elite unit of Monger soldiers - Hitler’s Werewolves - before the terror squad can strike a fatal blow at the heart of the Allied war effort.

Their desperate manhunt drags Saira, Archer, and Ringo into the London underground on the eve of a Nazi bombing raid where they come face-to-face with the Monger assassin on a suicide mission to split Time. With the lives of all mixed-bloods in peril, Saira must make a sacrifice that even Time and love may never forgive. 


 Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
What a fantastic book! I didn't know what to expect because I did not read the synopsis beforehand (this being a series I'm a huge fan of, no synopsis was necessary), so it was a huge surprise when Saira and Ringo went back into Second World War. Without Archer, but to Archer (or his past self).

Urban Fantasy Early Review: Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop

Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop (The Others #4)


Egalley thanks to Penguin/Roc

Synopsis from Goodreads
For centuries, the Others and humans have lived side by side in uneasy peace. But when humankind oversteps its bounds, the Others will have to decide how much humanity they’re willing to tolerate—both within themselves and within their community...

Since the Others allied themselves with the cassandra sangue, the fragile yet powerful human blood prophets who were being exploited by their own kind, the delicate dynamic between humans and Others changed. Some, like Simon Wolfgard, wolf shifter and leader of the Lakeside Courtyard, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn, see the new, closer companionship as beneficial—both personally and practically.

But not everyone is convinced. A group of radical humans is seeking to usurp land through a series of violent attacks on the Others. What they don’t realize is that there are older and more dangerous forces than shifters and vampires protecting the land that belongs to the Others—and those forces are willing to do whatever is necessary to protect what is theirs…


 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

9.5/10

* * *
  Why am I even surprised that Marked in Flesh was an exceptional read? The thing is, my dear reader, that ever since I've picked my first Anne Bishop book I've always had an extraordinary experience with this author no matter what she writes, - urban fantasy or fantasy.

Friday Mini Reviews #64: Joe Abercrombie, J.D. Robb & Amy Stewart




The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie (The First Law #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Inquisitor Glokta, a crippled and increasingly bitter relic of the last war, former fencing champion turned torturer extraordinaire, is trapped in a twisted and broken body - not that he allows it to distract him from his daily routine of torturing smugglers.

Nobleman, dashing officer and would-be fencing champion Captain Jezal dan Luthar is living a life of ease by cheating his friends at cards. Vain, shallow, selfish and self-obsessed, the biggest blot on his horizon is having to get out of bed in the morning to train with obsessive and boring old men.

And Logen Ninefingers, an infamous warrior with a bloody past, is about to wake up in a hole in the snow with plans to settle a blood feud with Bethod, the new King of the Northmen, once and for all - ideally by running away from it. But as he's discovering, old habits die really, really hard indeed...

...especially when Bayaz gets involved. A bald old man with a terrible temper and a pathetic assistant, he could be the First of the Magi, he could be a spectacular fraud, but whatever he is, he's about to make the lives of Glotka, Jezal and Logen a whole lot more difficult...
Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

7.5/10
Is it me or did this book feel incredibly messy with its plot and world-building? Going back and forth in timeline didn't help either. Overall I can see the merit, and why this author is liked so much, but I wasn't entirely sold on him. The narrator though, was amazing! And I absolutely loved Glokta! What a fabulous character...
* * *
 Либо это я, либо это была очень грязно написанная книга по построению мира. Прыжки из прошлого в настоящего тоже не помогали рассеять моё замешательство. В общем, я вижу почему этот автор так любим, так как характеры у него выходят очень мощные, однако что-то он не для меня. Рассказчик, кстати, был превосходный, а Глокта вообще оказался шикарнейшим персонажем.
Reunion in Death by J.D. Robb (In Death #14)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
A birthday bash sets the scene for a frightening reunion with a killer from Eve Dallas s past...

At exactly 7:30 p.m., Walter Pettibone arrived home to over a hundred friends and family shouting, surprise! It was his birthday. Although he had known about the planned event for weeks, the real surprise was yet to come. At 8:45 p.m., a woman with emerald eyes and red hair handed him a glass of champagne. One sip of birthday bubbly, and he was dead.

The woman's name is Julie Dockport. No one at the party knew who she was. But Detective Eve Dallas remembers her all too well. Eve was personally responsible for her incarceration nearly ten years ago. And now, let out on good behaviour, she still has nothing but bad intentions. It appears she wants to meet Dallas again - in a reunion neither will forget...

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8.5/10
This was absolutely fantastic, one of the best reads in series! Eve is on the hunt for a female serial killer, whom we know from early stages of the investigation. However she also takes on so many personas that it's almost impossible to flash her out, and Eve, Roarke and Peabody have to dig deep into her past to uncover her motives. Well thought, very suspenseful and delightful murder mystery. Well done, Miss Robb!
* * *
По моему мнению, это была одна из лучших книг серии! Ив охотится за серийной убийцей, тия которой нам известно с начала расследование, однако у той так много личин, что Ив необходимо глубоко влезть в её мотивы и мышление, чтобы понять как ту поймать. Очень напряжённая, интересная книга, которая читалась на одном дыхании!

Girl Waits With Gun by Amy Stewart 

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

A novel based on the forgotten true story of one of the nation’s first female deputy sheriffs.

Constance Kopp doesn’t quite fit the mold. She towers over most men, has no interest in marriage or domestic affairs, and has been isolated from the world since a family secret sent her and her sisters into hiding fifteen years ago. One day a belligerent and powerful silk factory owner runs down their buggy, and a dispute over damages turns into a war of bricks, bullets, and threats as he unleashes his gang on their family farm. When the sheriff enlists her help in convicting the men, Constance is forced to confront her past and defend her family — and she does it in a way that few women of 1914 would have dared.  

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10
What an interesting read, all the more fascinating that I know that it's based on a true story. My only problem is that it's extremely slow and it takes perseverance to get to the end where the heroine becomes a deputy. The whole book is a compilation of choices and circumstances which lead her to that decision. It's good, but I'm reluctant to read the next one in series.
* * *
Очень интересная книга, особенно потому, что я знаю, что она написана о реальном историческом персонаже. Проблема в том, что сюжет продвигается мучительно медленно, и под конец я совершенно выдохлась как читатель. Вся книга - это комбинация обстоятельств и решений превёдших Констанс под конец к принятию позиции помощника шерифа. В общем, интересно, но вряд ли буду читать продолжение.

Urban Fantasy Early Review: Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs (Marcy Thompson #9)


Egalley thanks to Ace 

Synopsis from Goodreads
Mercy Thompson has been hailed as “a heroine who continues to grow and yet always remains true to herself.”* Now she’s back, and she’ll soon discover that when the fae stalk the human world, it’s the children who suffer...

Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae.

Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched?


Release date: March 8th, 2016.

 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

 8.5/10

* * *

 As usual with Patricia Briggs, the writing is rock solid. The characterisation is fabulous, the plot is air tight, and I just can't get enough of Mercy Thompson's world. 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger