If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


October New Book Releases I'm Dying To Read!


There are some really interesting books coming out next month, right, peeps? I've read The Queen which was awesome, and still have The Immortal Heights, An Ancient Peace and Beneath a Waning Moon for review. I am dying to read Radiance, what about you?

Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy Review: Blood Dark by Lindsay J. Pryor

Blood Dark by Lindsay J. Pryor (Blackthorn #5)


Egalley thanks to Boukouture

Synopsis from Goodreads
‘There are guardian angels, and there are monsters with wings’

Caitlin Parish should have been the last person to fall for a vampire. A member of the Vampire Control Unit, her relationship with master vampire Kane Malloy had explosive consequences. Caitlin’s colleagues count her as the enemy. And now she’s going back.

Kane has made powerful enemies of his own – and is being targeted by the head of the Global Council, Sirius Throme. With the stakes higher than ever before, Kane knows caring for Caitlin makes him vulnerable. Worse, her decision to return to VCU feels like betrayal.

With Throme threatening to tear Blackthorn apart, and the prophesied vampire leader finally revealed, Kane and Caitlin must both fight with everything they have to stop an all out war. But they’re fighting on opposite sides…

Right when she needs him most, Caitlin makes a shocking discovery about Kane. Has he been playing her all along? And can she trust him with her life when he won’t even trust her with the truth?

The choice Caitlin makes will change the game in Blackthorn forever. 


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
I am so glad I gave this series another chance, ladies and gents! What happened is that I loved book one and two, was disappointed in book three and skipped book four... However, when I saw that the main characters in book five are Caitlin and Kane - the couple which made me fall in love with Blackthorn, I HAD to give it another go... and it was darkly delicious!

The Postman Knock #136

Hello, ladies and gents!
Busy week as usual, although I have been trying to become more organised.

READ/LISTENED TO:


INDULGENCE IN DEATH had an interesting set of villains. I enjoyed it! SLAVE TO SENSATION was a welcoming surprise as I fully expected not to like this PNR. While the macho alpha male crap is an eye-rolling experience, the backstory arch is very interesting. BLOOD DARK was very, very good. It's book five in the series, and while I missed book four and didn't enjoy book three, this was a delicious return to my favorite couple! So many people mentioned Jennifer Blackstream to me before, so I had to investigate, and luckily, the first book in series, BEFORE MIDNIGHT was free on kindle and very enjoyable. Grace Draven mentioned RUNE SPELL on her FB, and I had to buy and read this short story for breakfast, which was fun. AT last, VISIONS OF HEAT wasn't as good as Slave to Sensation, but still interesting. 

FOR REVIEW:

An audio copy from Susan, which I'm looking forward to!

BOUGHT:
Before Midnight is a freebie, so go get it! :)

This is it, peeps, enjoy your weekend and I'll speak to you next week.
xxx

Friday Mini Reviews Audio Edition #46: Ben Aaronovitch, Jacqueline Carey & Jim Butcher


Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch (Peter Grant #5)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
In the fifth of his bestselling series Ben Aaronovitch takes Peter Grant out of whatever comfort zone he might have found and takes him out of London - to a small village in Herefordshire where the local police are reluctant to admit that there might be a supernatural element to the disappearance of some local children. But while you can take the London copper out of London you can't take the London out of the copper.

Travelling west with Beverley Brook Peter soon finds himself caught up in a deep mystery and having to tackle local cops and local gods. And what's more all the shops are closed by 4pm...

 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10
For Peter Grant this book represents a bit of a break, as it's not as crazily busy as the previous books in the series. It's also funnier I'd say, cuter... *shrugs* It's out of the city, it's in the middle of countryside, and sometimes it felt like The Wickerman. I liked it quite well, but I can't say I enjoyed it as much as the previous one with its shocker ending.
* * *
Для Питера Гранта книга эта отпускная. По сравнению с предыдущими атмосфера в ней более расслабленная и неспешная. Ведь Питер отправляется в сельскую глушь для расследования исчезновения детей, и иногда сюжет напоминает  старый британский фильм ужасов Викермэн. И всё же она удалась автору очаровательной, юморной и милой, несмотря на то, что соревноваться ей с шокирующей концовкой книги предыдущей было трудно.

 Naamah's Blessing by Jacqueline Carey (Moirin's Trilogy #3)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Returning to Terre d'Ange, Moirin finds the royal family broken. Wracked by unrelenting grief at the loss of his wife, Queen Jehanne, King Daniel is unable to rule. Prince Thierry, leading an expedition to explore the deadly jungles of Terra Nova, is halfway across the world. And three year old Desirée is a vision of her mother: tempestuous, intelligent, and fiery, but desperately lonely, and a vulnerable pawn in a game of shifting political allegiances.

As tensions mount, King Daniel asks that Moirin become Desirée's oath-sworn protector. Navigating the intricate political landscape of the Court proves a difficult challenge, and when dire news arrives from overseas, the spirit of Queen Jehanne visits Moirin in a dream and bids her undertake an impossible quest.

Another specter from the past also haunts Moirin. Travelling with Thierry in the New World is Raphael de Mereliot, her manipulative former lover. Years ago, Raphael forced her to help him summon fallen angels in the hopes of acquiring mystical gifts and knowledge. It was a disastrous effort that nearly killed them, and Moirin must finally bear the costs of those bitter mistakes.

 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10

Well, in the whole trilogy, this was a book I least enjoyed (same can be said for the whole nine books in this world, - this is the weakest one). It's just more predictable and deviates less from the history as we know. I also admit that Raphael's parts are the least favorites of mine because I dislike his character as much as I love Bao. Moirin saves everyone again because she is just that perfect and that devoted to her goddess. All I felt in the end was relief that I don't have to deal with her anymore. Still, it's a superbly written series.
* * *
Во всей трилогии да и из всех девяти книг этого мира, книга эта - самая слабая. Сюжет предугадать довольно легко, так как построение мира очень напоминает конкистадоров в Южной Америке и практически не отступает от истории, как она нам известна. Я также неохотно слушала эту книгу из-за Рафаэля, характер которого я не люблю так же сильно, как я обожаю Бао. Мойрин опять всех спасает благодаря своему неукоснительному поклонению своей богине, а я же была просто рада, что больше мне с ней связываться не придётся. Однако, серия эта всё-равно очень хороша для реалистичного фэнтэзи.
  

 Proven Guilty by Jim Butcher (Harry Dresden #8)

bought on audio 

Synopsis from Goodreads
There's no love lost between Harry Dresden, the only wizard in the Chicago phone book, and the White Council of Wizards, who find him brash and undisciplined. But war with the vampires has thinned their ranks, so the Council has drafted Harry as a Warden and assigned him to look into rumors of black magic in the Windy City.

As Harry adjusts to his new role, another problem arrives in the form of the tattooed and pierced daughter of an old friend, all grown-up and already in trouble. Her boyfriend is the only suspect in what looks like a supernatural assault straight out of a horror film. Malevolent entities that feed on fear are loose in Chicago, but it's all in a day's work for a wizard, his faithful dog, and a talking skull named Bob....

 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

 8.5/10
Aww, Molly Carpenter, charming and clueless enters the scene, and Harry Dresden becomes so much more adorable! Now he has a very young and rebellious friend's daughter to deal with and save from trouble.The thing is Harry is not a loner, he is surrounded by more and more people he cares about, and this is exactly what makes him such an engaging and gorgeous character to feel for. Loved this book!
* * *
 Ах, Молли Карпентер выходит наконец-то на сцену! И от этого характер Гарри Дрездена только выигрывает. Юная, приносящая неприятности ученица - это то, к чему Гарри абсолютно не готов, но Молли - дочка его лучшего друга, и бросить её в беде он никак не может. Классный сюжет как и всегда и прекраснейшие характеры.

Epic YA Fantasy Audiobook Review: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #4)


Audiocopy courtesy of Audible Studios

Synopsis from Goodreads
Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series reaches new heights in this sweeping fourth volume.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

8/10

* * *
 OMG, where do I start?!

This book was so long, that the epic moments were just overshadowed by the general messiness of mundane things, plus Celaena/Aelin kept pulling a rabbit from the hat, and I got really annoyed by her general perfection in all things. Certainly, in Heir of Fire she was more human and more hesitant. I felt like I could relate to her more.

Paranormal Fantasy Early Review: Menagerie by Rachel Vincent

Menagerie by Rachel Vincent (Menagerie #1)


Egalley thanks to MIRA

Synopsis from Goodreads
From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent comes a richly imagined, provocative new series set in the dark mythology of the Menagerie…

When Delilah Marlow visits a famous traveling carnival, Metzger's Menagerie, she is an ordinary woman in a not-quite-ordinary world. But under the macabre circus black-top, she discovers a fierce, sharp-clawed creature lurking just beneath her human veneer. Captured and put on exhibition, Delilah in her black swan burlesque costume is stripped of her worldly possessions, including her own name, as she's forced to "perform" in town after town.

But there is breathtaking beauty behind the seamy and grotesque reality of the carnival. Gallagher, her handler, is as kind as he is cryptic and strong. The other "attractions"—mermaids, minotaurs, gryphons and kelpies—are strange, yes, but they share a bond forged by the brutal realities of captivity. And as Delilah struggles for her freedom, and for her fellow menagerie, she'll discover a strength and a purpose she never knew existed.

Renowned author Rachel Vincent weaves an intoxicating blend of carnival magic and startling humanity in this intricately woven and powerful tale.


Release date: September 29th 2015

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

9/10

* * *
 The closest I can compare this new series from Rachel Vincent is The Others by Anne Bishop and Mercy Thompson by Patricia Briggs. It has the same level of nasty tension between people and cryptids as in Bishop's books, and it has mythology more familiar to Briggs. And it's also wholesomely awesome! So, if you are a fan of one or the other, buy it! It has a decent price on kindle.

The Postman Knock #135

Morning, everyone!
I'm baking the cake this morning and then will be in our garden weeding and preparing the soil for the next planting season. It's sunny and crisp, and there are so many pumpkins and squashes I feel Halloween will be something special this year. Hope you are all having a wonderful weekend!

READ/LISTENED:


FANTASY IN DEATH is perhaps one of the most innovative novels in this series so far, and I really enjoyed it. RELEASING THE DEMONS had a great potential but wasn't for me. On the other hand, MENAGERIE was amazing, and I'll tell you why on Monday. QUEEN OF SHADOWS was a massive 50 hour long listen and in many ways epic. I now need to gather my many thoughts to understand why I wasn't as excited by it as I thought I would be.

NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS:


Thanks to the publishers!

BOUGHT:


Both are on audio, and I'm looking forward to listening to them while I'm working in the garden :)

By the way, I finished watching Sense8, and it was superb!


This is it. Over and out.

Friday Mini Reviews Audio Edition #45: Amy Lane, Ann Leckie & Jenny Colgan



The Winter Courtship Rituals of Fur-Bearing Critters by Amy Lane (I'll Be Home For Christmas)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Narrated by Philip Alces

Rance Crawford is an alpaca rancher, fiber mill owner, and self-proclaimed grumpy bastard. When sweet, charming tenderfoot Ben McCutcheon moves onto Crawford's rural road, Rance is very aware that Ben makes it a grand total of two gay men in their tiny town, and even though he is instantly, painfully smitten, any move he makes could be simply chalked up to being hard up. Using his best weapon and favorite skill, Crawford launches an awkward, wordless effort to make sure Ben is kept warm during the cold Colorado winter, every last piece of him - especially his heart.

Audible US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

7.5/10
  Okay. Guys? This was freaking adorable! A very Christmasy adorable short-novel from Amy Lane about a grumpy, awkward alpaca grower with a knitting shop and a new comer computer whiz trying to do some off grid living. I listened to it last January while chopping wood, which was sooo apropriate, and smiled all the way. It's funny and it has a genuine love for knitting shining through. The price for audiobook is very cheap as well, so grab it.
* * *
 Ну милейшая просто короткая книженция от Эми Лэйн с очень рождественским настроением. Я слушала её в прошлом январе, распиливая поленья, что прямо подходило этой книге по духу, и всё время улыбалась. Фермер, выращивающий альпаку и владеющий магазином по вязанию в холодной американской глуши встречает милого молодого соседа, компьютерного инженера, который пытается научиться жить офф-грид. Смешно и пропитано любовью к вязанию. Рекомендую!




Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan (Little Beach Street Bakery #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Polly Waterford is recovering from a toxic relationship. Unable to afford their flat, she has to move miles away from everyone, to a sleepy little seaside resort in Cornwall, where she lives alone above an abandoned shop. And so Polly takes out her frustrations on her favourite hobby: making bread.

But what was previously a weekend diversion suddenly becomes far more important as she pours her emotions into kneading and pounding the dough, and each loaf becomes better and better. With nuts and seeds, olives and chorizo, with local honey (courtesy of local bee keeper, Huckle), and with reserves of determination and creativity Polly never knew she had, she bakes and bakes and bakes.... And people start to hear about it. Sometimes, bread really is life...and Polly is about to reclaim hers.


 Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

 7.5/10
Another lovely read especially because I love reading about small communities and cooking or baking. In this heroine gets a chance to start a new life on a grim island which has no decent bread or baked goodies, and she is slowly changing its residents lives. Also, there is a slightly eccentric, sexy American beekeeper! *grinning* 
* * *
Ещё одна нежная, милая книга, прочитанная мною в прошлом году. Я люблю читать о маленьких городках и о готовке еде или выпечке. Здесь героиня пытается начать жизнь снова, переехав на полкмёртвый остров без нормальной пекарни. Она начинает печь свой хлеб и медленно меняет жизнь своих соседей к лучшему. Готовьтесь также к экцентричному и очень симпатичному американцу-пчеловоду... *смеясь*



Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Imperial Radch #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Winner of the Hugo Award for Best Novel 2014

The spectacular debut novel nominated for every major science fiction award in 2014, Ancillary Justice is the story of a warship trapped in a human body and her search for revenge. Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Nebula Award, the British Science Fiction Association Award, a James Tiptree Jr. honour, and a Kitschie. Currently shortlisted for the Hugo Awards.

They made me kill thousands, but I only have one target now. The Radch are conquerors to be feared—resist and they'll turn you into a 'corpse soldier'—one of an army of dead prisoners animated by a warship's AI mind. Whole planets are conquered by their own people. The colossal warship called The Justice of Toren has been destroyed - but one ship-possessed soldier has escaped the devastation.

Used to controlling thousands of hands, thousands of mouths, The Justice now has only two hands, and one mouth with which to tell her tale. But one fragile, human body might just be enough to take revenge against those who destroyed her.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository 

7.5/10
 Alright, I know it won all the awards, but I found it slightly off kilter. It was very dry, probably because it's told from the point of view of AI, Justice of Toren, but the ending is pretty epic, and I enjoyed it and some other parts of this book as well. The human companion was a great touch, but I don't think I'll be listening to the rest of this series.
* * *
Значит так, я знаю, что эта книга выиграла много наград, но для меня она была слишком странной, повествование очень сухим, что хорошо подходит по духу главному персонажу - искусственному уму  - Правосудие Торена. В основном читала с удовольствием некоторые части и особенно эпичную концовку, и скучала между ними. Я не думаю, что продолжу эту серию.

Paranormal Romance Review: Releasing The Demons by L.D. Rose

Releasing The Demons by L.D. Rose (The Order of The Senary #1)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Blaze Knight has been through hell and back, but the nightmares aren't over yet.

Five years after Blaze was maimed by Cyrus Chimola, a powerful vampire with a penchant for torture, he’s still trying to pick up the pieces of his shattered life. As a genetically engineered mercenary with the ability to bend fire to his will and to see in infrared, Blaze’s mission is to protect what’s left of humanity. When Chimola and his crew return to the Bronx gunning for Blaze’s blood, Blaze is forced to face the demons of his past. Hell-bent on revenge, he seeks the help of Valerie Medeiros, an NYPD detective who manages to steal his heart and save his life in more ways than one.

Motivated by her sister’s gruesome death, Valerie has made it her life’s goal to bury every vampire in the ground where they belong. When she brings in Blaze Knight for suspected murder, she discovers he’s not only innocent, he isn't a man at all—he's a half-vampire hybrid working with a band of brothers for the U.S. military. Valerie has a hard time trusting anything with fangs, yet she quickly falls headlong into Blaze’s life, a life full of darkness and horror she can’t even begin to fathom. The bodies are stacking up, but Valerie can’t seem to let go of this hybrid, a beautiful monster filled with pain, rage, and passion unlike anything she's ever known.

In a world where the line between good and evil is blurred, Blaze and Valerie will find danger at every turn, risking everything they’ve come to know and love, including one another.


Amazon kindle US/UK

4.5/10

* * *
 First of all, peeps, I have to reinforce that this is not a bad book, but it needs more work. I can only speak for myself, and I know that I tend to be more critical of paranormal romance genre than many other readers. As it is, read other reviews before you discount this book completely. I'll just give you my bullet points of what I did not like and what showed a lot of promise.

Steampunk Fantasy Review: Storms of Lazarus by Karen Kincy

Storms of Lazarus by Karen Kincy (Shadows of Asphodel #2)


Egalley thanks to Curiousity Quills Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
Sometimes escape is impossible. Sometimes love isn't enough.

1913. Christmas Eve. Ardis hardly expects a quiet holiday with Wendel, between fleeing Constantinople and hiding from an ancient society of assassins. And they owe a debt to a certain archmage.

In Königsberg, Prussia, they work with Konstantin on the next evolution of Project Lazarus. Wendel once called Königsberg home, the city now besieged by the Russians and their clockwork engines of war. This may be Wendel’s last chance to save his family and find redemption, but he's tormented by nightmares and tempted by laudanum. Ardis fears her love isn’t enough to save Wendel. Her hands are full piloting the automatons, and she's terrified to tell him a secret of her own. Will they—and their love—survive the storms of war?


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository

 8/10

* * *
 This is a pretty snappy steampunk series, ladies and gents. It's just so fluid, and the tech is not in the face obvious. It's a well integrated part of everyone's life. I also love how organically it co-exists with magic in this world.

The Postman Knock #134

Hey, peeps!
I'm sorry, I am completely immersed in watching Sense8 right now, and what a series!!! I haven't been able to read or review anything in the last few days. Anyone watched it? 

READ/LISTENED TO:


EIGHTH GRAVE AFTER DARK is the first Darynda's book I finished disappointed. The last quarter of the book was a total mess. THE WELL OF ASCENSION will stay with me for a while. Another exceptional book from Sanderson. MISSING IN DEATH was a short and sharp novella in a fab series. At last, STORMS OF LAZARUS was light-hearted and fun, and I breezed through it in no time at all.

FOR REVIEW/NETGALLEY/AUDIBLE:

Thank you, Elizabeth, publishers and Audible!
P.S. you can see how good is Sense8 if I haven't started listening to Queen of Shadows yet?!


BOUGHT:


It was on offer in Audible UK, and while it's a different series, Sanderson is so good, I know I'll be reading everything he writes :)

This is it for me, peeps.

I've signed up for BLOG AHEAD challenge in October so wish me luck!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger