If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


The Postman Knock #93

Hot, hot, hot this week! Apart from that, I've discovered Anne Bishop's Black Jewels series on audio and enjoying the heck out of it :)

READ:

BROKEN HOMES was awesome, and I told you why in this review. FORGED by DESIRE showed me that this series is still going strong and I loved both main characters and their friendship to love romance. At last, TEMPTING FATE started slow, but then wow! It sped up and went crazily intense. Awesome book, fab series, very much recommended!

BOUGHT:

It's on audio, and I can't stay away from this book. Sooo good, peeps! Seriously.

This is it for me, and here is to the last day of summer...


Tchau!

Friday Mini Reviews #29: Jen Frederick, Georgia Cates & Annabel Joseph


Losing Control by Jen Frederick (Kerr Chronicles #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
I’d do anything to keep my mother alive.

Anything, including ask Ian Kerr for help. I don’t know much about him, except that he has more money than some small countries. And he’s willing to spend it on me. Just one catch: there’s a string attached, and not just the one I feel pulling me into his arms and his bed. There’s also the plan for revenge he wants my help with.

Every time he says my name, it makes my body shiver and my heart stutter. I know he’s going to wreck me, know there won’t be anything left of me but lust and sensation by the time he’s done with me, but even though I can see the heartbreak coming towards me like a train, ready to crash into me, I can’t get out of the way. I want what he makes me feel. Want what he’s offering.

This may have started out as something to save my mother, but now…now it’s about what he makes me feel. I’m in danger of losing everything that’s important. Worse? Ian's whispered words and hot caresses are making me believe that's okay.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond 
8.5/10



I really enjoy Jen Frederick's writing, and Losing Control just underlined why. Her characters are real to me, and I not only feel for them, I understand them. Ian and Tiny weren't an exception. The balance of power was done really well, and I loved that Tiny despite her disability (severe dyslexia) and unfortunate background wasn't a pushover. I also appreciated that her and her step-brother looked after each other albeit in an unorthodox way. Ian was scrumptious and kept his jerk impulses under a tight reign *smirks* All in all, a lovely romance novel.
* * *
И очень даже неплохой роман у Джен вышел. Мне всегда её стиль пера импонировал, у неё выходят живые, интересные персонажи, которым очень легко симпатизировать, и эта книга не исключение. Тайни и Иан - хорошая пара, и несмотря на классическую расстановку в стиле Золушки, баланс сил между ними был выдержан довольно хорошо. Вторую книгу буду читать с удовольствием, и вам эту серию советую.






Beauty from Pain by Georgia Cates (Beauty #1)

kindle freebie

Synopsis from Goodreads

They agreed on three months...but their love knew no boundaries.

Jack McLachlan is a winemaking magnate and easily one of Australia’s most eligible bachelors. His success and wealth make him no stranger to the complications of romantic relationships and that’s why he goes to extreme measures to avoid the hassle. He prefers simplicity in the form of a beautiful female companion with no strings attached. He arranges relationships like business deals and they’re always the same. No long term relationships. No real names.

It’s his game and his rules. He’s content to play as usual, but when Laurelyn Prescott enters his life, his strategy must change because this player is like none he's ever encountered. His world is turned on its head after he begins a three month affair with the beautiful American musician. Nothing goes according to plan and as he breaks more and more of his own rules for her, she’s exceptionally close to becoming something he never thought possible. His ultimate game changer.
Not recommended for younger readers due to sexual content and language. 
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(FREE) | Fishpond | The Book Depository 
8/10
It's not often I read books based in Australia, and on this occasion  a kindle freebie was a lovely surprise. First of all it's based in Australia, and secondly, the main heroine is a singer and songwriter, which I always adore reading about. There are lovely lyrics in this book. It's about a spur of the moment love affair, where both parties know they live on borrowed time, so it was very romantic and very bittersweet. Recommended. I'll be reading more of this author. Plus Australian slang was adorable!
* * *
Мне не часто приходится читать романы, действие которых происходит в Австралии, так что эта книга оказалась приятным сюрпризом, да ещё и сюрпризом двойным, так как главная героиня - певица и песни свои пишет сама, а я безумно люблю читать о всяческих артистах и просто творческих людях. Книга горько-сладкая, так как герои вступают в любовную связь, зная, что у них всего лишь три месяца, а потом они разбегутся в разные континенты. Романтично и нежно.




Comfort Object by Annabel Joseph (Comfort #1)

bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads

Nell, an out-of-work professional submissive, is desperate to find a job when she meets handsome film star Jeremy Gray at the restaurant where she works. He says he needs a personal assistant, but the work contract he shows her details not organizational duties, but sexual ones. Jobless and homeless, Nell agrees to work for him anyway, on the promise that he will pay for her to finish her college degree when her stint as his “assistant” is complete.

The start of their formal Dom/sub relationship is rocky, but they soon fall into a mutually satisfying, highly sexual routine. They play vanilla boyfriend and girlfriend in public, while Jeremy uses Nell as his kinky comfort object behind the scenes. Then a stalker threatens their secret lifestyle, and their contract may not be strong enough to hold them together.

This book contains explicit sexual content and situations that some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, strong BDSM theme and content including spanking, exhibitionism, ménage (m/f/m), group sex.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Fishpond | The Book Depository
8/10
 Another interesting find. I love discovering good BDSM writers, and Annabel Joseph was a curious experience. It's just on the edge of being an uncomfortable reading for me, but still very attractive and crazily sexy. Since this book I read quite a few of her novels, and the quality varies. First two books in this series are superb though.  In Comfort Object the hero is a famous actor, who wants an uncomplicated relationship away from the limelight which is why he creates a contract, so both parties would know what they can and can not expect from each other. Of course it doesn't work quite like he expects, but in the end it's a nice romance, where both characters are really intriguing people in their own right. Recommended.
* * *
Интересная для меня находка в жанре романа БДСМ. Несмотря на то, что чтение на грани моего уровня комфорта в этом жанре, герои очень интересные как вместе, так и сами по себе, и искры между ними сыпятся просто феерические. Я прочитала несколько книг этой писательницы, и первые два романа этой серии у неё вышли самые удачные, так что советую. Остальное у неё скатывается в "дарк романс", и я этого жанра не фанат.

Urban Fantasy Audiobook Review: Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch

Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch (Peter Grant #4)

Read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
My name is Peter Grant, and I am a keeper of the secret flame — whatever that is.

Truth be told, there's a lot I still don't know. My superior Nightingale, previously the last of England's wizardly governmental force, is trying to teach me proper schooling for a magician's apprentice. But even he doesn't have all the answers. Mostly I'm just a constable sworn to enforce the Queen’s Peace, with the occasional help from some unusual friends and a well-placed fire blast. With the new year, I have three main objectives, a) pass the detective exam so I can officially become a DC, b) work out what the hell my relationship with Lesley Mai, an old friend from the force and now fellow apprentice, is supposed to be, and most importantly, c) get through the year without destroying a major landmark.

Two out of three isn’t bad, right?

A mutilated body in Crawley means another murderer is on the loose. The prime suspect is one Robert Weil, who may either be a common serial killer or an associate of the twisted magician known as the Faceless Man — a man whose previous encounters I've barely survived. I've also got a case about a town planner going under a tube train and another about a stolen grimoire.

But then I get word of something very odd happening in Elephant and Castle, on a housing estate designed by a nutter, built by charlatans, and inhabited by the truly desperate. If there's a connection to the Crawley case, I'll be entering some tricky waters of jurisdiction with the local river spirits. We have a prickly history, to say the least.

Just the typical day for a magician constable.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond | Audible US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
Wow, what an ending, ladies and gents! I'm still processing it...

Since I've been too busy to read these past two months I've been trying more books on audio but only with the narrators that captured my attention straight away. Kobna Holdbrook-Smith was one of those lucky finds.

Paranormal Fantasy Joint Review: The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness (All Souls Trilogy #3)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
The highly anticipated finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling trilogy that began with A Discovery of Witches

After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, the second book in Deborah Harkness’s enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches—with one significant exception. But the real threat to their future has yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on even more urgency. In the trilogy’s final volume, Harkness deepens her themes of power and passion, family and caring, past deeds and their present consequences. In ancestral homes and university laboratories, using ancient knowledge and modern science, from the hills of the Auvergne to the palaces of Venice and beyond, the couple at last learn what the witches discovered so many centuries ago.

With more than one million copies sold in the United States and appearing in thirty-eight foreign editions, A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night have landed on all of the major bestseller lists and garnered rave reviews from countless publications. Eagerly awaited by Harkness’s legion of fans, The Book of Life brings this superbly written series to a deeply satisfying close. 

 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8/10

* * *
 Karina:
Well, I'm actually at a bit of a loss, my dear readers. I did a marathon reread of the previous two books in the series so I wouldn't get confused by any references in The Book of Life, but in the end the re-reads only outlined what I would have noticed anyway more clearly - I think that after a strong first and even stronger second book, the final instalment in the series was all over the place and felt like a right mess.

What do you think, V.?

The Postman Knock #92

Hello, my darlings!
I am mostly back to normal now, and thankfully picked up my reading pace again. Amen to that.

Here is what I've READ:


BURN FOR ME was ah-mazing! Another one from Andrews couple this year that will be one of my favorite reads of 2014. Seriously awesome. MAID FOR THE BILLIONAIRE was a sweet, simple read and I quite enjoy it, because it was a total zone out. DESTROYED was a DNF for me. I think I need to give up on dark romance. I keep trying and trying, and I just don't have stomach for it. At last, BEAUTY AND THE MUSTACHE was gorgeous, poetic, sexy and touching. At some point I had to hold back tears. Please, read it. It's out next week.

BOUGHT:

It's been a long time

KINDLE FREEBIES:

All were recommended by my favorite authors, so I'm looking forward to reading them!

This is it for me. 

Also, Outlander? *fans herself* 
I'm enjoying it sooo much! 

 She is an amazing Clare!

How about you? Have a great Sunday,
Tchau!

Friday Mini Reviews #28: Jessica Clare, Meredith Wild & C.D. Reiss






Once Upon a Billionaire by Jessica Clare (Billionaire Boys Club #4)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Fans of Maya Banks, Melody Anne and J. Kenner - prepare to be dazzled by Jessica Clare's Billionaire Boys Club.


The Billionaire Boys Club is a secret society of six incredibly wealthy men who have vowed success in business - at any cost. but success when it comes to love is a different matter...


When scholarly billionaire Griffin Verdi must return to his country for the wedding of the century, he needs a good assistant at his side. Unfortunately for him, he's stuck with Maylee Meriweather, a pretty, charming, and thoroughly unsuitable woman who doesn't know a thing about high society...but she sure can kiss. But will Griffin be able to get past Maylee's lack of polish? And will Maylee be able to fall for a man that looks down on everything she's come from?

Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10
Oh my stars, for me this was the most hilarious fairy-talish and outlandish romance Jessica Clare managed to come up with so far, and I enjoyed it immensely! *grinning* If you want a Cinderella story, look no further, and you find a kind, naive Southern belle paired with a snotty European royal who has absolutely no social skills. Funny and outrageously entertaining. Recommended.
* * *
Ржала как лошадь с этой современной юморной истории про Золушку! А если серьёзно, - отлично, чаруще, романтично и очень смешно, так как ни автор ни герои себя серьёзно не воспринимают. Читайте, если позарез хочется узнать как друг в друга по уши влюбились высокомерный европейский принц и наивная милая красотка с жутким акцентом аамериканского юга.




Hardwired by Meredith Wild (Hacker #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Determined to overcome a difficult past, Erica Hathaway learns early on to make it on her own. Days after her college graduation, she finds herself face to face with a panel of investors who will make or break her fledgling startup. The only thing she didn’t prepare for was going weak in the knees over an arrogant and gorgeous investor who seems determined to derail her presentation.

Billionaire and rumored hacker Blake Landon has already made his fortune in software, and he’s used to getting what he wants. Captivated by Erica’s drive and unassuming beauty, he’s wanted nothing more than to possess her since she stepped into his boardroom. Determined to win her over, he breaks down her defenses and fights for her trust, even if it means sacrificing a level of control he’s grown accustomed to.

But when Blake uncovers a dark secret from Erica’s past, he threatens not just her trust, but the life she’s fought so hard to create.

 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository
8/10
Not bad actually. Typical plot akin fifty shades, but the main heroine is gutsy, and he is a hacker for a change. There is a bit of overblown drama as usual, but I'll reserve judgement until I finish this trilogy. Plus it's in Boston, which I find very charming!
* * *
Неплохо, хотя сюжет слизан с 50 Оттенков Серого. Главная героиня, слава богу, дверной коврик своим поведением не напоминает, герой - хакер, что само по себе свежо, а сюжет развивается на фоне очаровательного Бостона, хотя я бы чрезмерную драматизацию убрала. Я воздержусь от какого-либо осуждения пока не дочитаю всю трилогию.


 Use by C.D. Reiss (Songs of Perdition #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

In the end, did I stab him to be free of him? And free to what? Fuck? Snort? Party? Or free to be normal?

It was a very interesting situation, up there on Maundy,” Elliot said.

“Nothing like it in the world. It’s a safe place for people like me.”

“People like you? Can you be more specific?” He ran his finger on the edge of his blotter, and a chill went up my inner thighs.

“People like me means, I don’t know. Fuckers. We fuck because it’s what we do. Bus drivers drive. Accountants account. Policemen police. I’m a fucker. I fuck.”

 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK
9/10

Oh wow! I can't help but admire Miss Reiss's talent. This serial might be short, but the author manages to use such succinct, sharp words, their impact on the reader is enormous. It's like there is this vast amount of information behind each sentence, and I can't help being compelled and wretched by it all. I want more!
* * *
У меня даже нет слов, честно говоря. Мисс Рейсс - просто королева коротких новелл. Она умудряется пропитать маленькие предложения таким количеством информации, что под конец остаётся ощущение, что прочёл полноценную книгу. Я обожаю её чёткие, веские, глубокие диалоги и характеры, которых просто невозможно не полюбить. Вот ведь правда,  краткость - сестра таланта. Блестяще и остро написано, хочу ещё!

Audiobook Urban Fantasy Review: Shattered by Kevin Hearne

Shattered by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles #7)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

For nearly two thousand years, only one Druid has walked the Earth—Atticus O’Sullivan, the Iron Druid, whose sharp wit and sharp sword have kept him alive as he’s been pursued by a pantheon of hostile deities. Now he’s got company.

Atticus’s apprentice Granuaile is at last a full Druid herself. What’s more, Atticus has defrosted an archdruid long ago frozen in time, a father figure (of sorts) who now goes by the modern equivalent of his old Irish name: Owen Kennedy.

And Owen has some catching up to do.

Atticus takes pleasure in the role reversal, as the student is now the teacher. Between busting Atticus’s chops and trying to fathom a cell phone, Owen must also learn English. For Atticus, the jury’s still out on whether the wily old coot will be an asset in the epic battle with Norse god Loki—or merely a pain in the arse.

But Atticus isn’t the only one with daddy issues. Granuaile faces a great challenge: to exorcise a sorcerer’s spirit that is possessing her father in India. Even with the help of the witch Laksha, Granuaile may be facing a crushing defeat.

As the trio of Druids deals with pestilence-spreading demons, bacon-loving yeti, fierce flying foxes, and frenzied Fae, they’re hoping that this time, three’s a charm.


Audible (narrator Luke Daniels) |  Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8/10

* * *
I don't know if it's my newbiness in audio books or the book itself, but this wasn't my favourite book in the series. Partly because Atticus is way too serious these days, and the very much needed hilarity was provided by his Arch druid, Owen, instead. But the majority of my issues came from Granuaile's narrative.

Mystery Thriller Early Review: One Kick by Chelsea Cain

One Kick by Chelsea Cain (Kick Lannigan #1)


Egalley thanks to Simon & Schuster

Synopsis from Goodreads
Kick Lannigan, 21, is a survivor. Abducted at age six in broad daylight, the police, the public, perhaps even her family assumed the worst had occurred. And then Kathleen Lannigan was found, alive, six years later. In the early months following her freedom, as Kick struggled with PTSD, her parents put her through a litany of therapies, but nothing helped until the detective who rescued her suggested Kick learn to fight. Before she was thirteen, Kick learned marksmanship, martial arts, boxing, archery, and knife throwing. She excelled at every one, vowing she would never be victimized again. But when two children in the Portland area go missing in the same month, Kick goes into a tailspin. Then an enigmatic man Bishop approaches her with a proposition: he is convinced Kick's experiences and expertise can be used to help rescue the abductees. Little does Kick know the case will lead directly into her terrifying past…

Release date: August 19th 2014.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
If there is only one thing to be said about Chelsea Cain, it needs to be said that she is a damn fine writer. In fact, along with Taylor Stevens, she will be my go-to-author if I want to read an action-driven, intense thriller with an absolute kick-ass of a heroine.

The Postman Knock #91

Hello, my dears!
I feel so absolutely knackered, I have no energy to be very creative for the rest of the month, peeps. So please bear with me!
I'm busy canning all our produce right now, it's hot, and we are building our kitchen, so my plate is full.
However, I managed to get these lovelies
FOR REVIEW:

Thank you, Penny and Jen!

I also BOUGHT:

 
The only thing I managed to finish reading was THE BOOK of LIFE, and I have mixed feelings about it. 

Friday Mini Reviews #27: S.E. Lund, Rachel Bach & Kit Rocha

source

The Agreement by S.E. Lund (Unrestrained #1)

bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads
Journalism graduate student Kate McDermott is a good girl who has done everything she can to please her very powerful and domineering father -- a Justice on New York's Supreme Court with hopes for political office. When she decides to write an article about BDSM in popular culture, she tells herself it's just research and nothing personal for she can't afford to become the target of gossip or scandal. She hopes that the carefully worded agreement she writes up will keep her relationship with the Dominant she will interview strictly professional.

Then 'Master D' - Drake Morgan - walks into the interview and Kate is mortified for not only is he gorgeous, he's the son of her father's best and oldest friend…

Drake Morgan, MD, bass player, philanthropist – Dominant. Known as Master 'D' in Manhattan's BDSM Community, Drake must keep the kinky side of his life secret to protect his very successful career as a neurosurgeon. After a heartbreaking divorce, Drake doesn't do girlfriends, he doesn’t do sleepovers, and he certainly doesn't do breakfast in bed the morning after. He keeps everything in his well-ordered life separate and under his firm control.

Then Kate McDermott crosses his path and screws everything up. Now, nothing is neat and tidy anymore, and no longer under control for Drake is smitten and things are going to get messy…

From Amazon Bestselling Romance author S. E. Lund comes a story of two people who find themselves in each other's arms. The Agreement will stay with you long after you read the final page. 

 Amazon kindle US/UK

 5/10

It wasn't a bad book, peeps, but at some point I got fed up with the main heroine allowing her so called "best friend" to blackmail her. This was an absolutely ridiculous, overblown drama that should have been easily avoided by telling her friend to shove it where the sun doesn't shine! Otherwise it's a very soft, charming BDSM romance.
* * *
Так себе, вроде бы и милый современный роман с небольшими элементами БДСМ, однако на какой-то момент моя терпимость к слезливой главной героине-тряпке, которая позволила своей так называемой "лучшей подруге" себя шантажировать, закончилась, и вся эта раздутая драматизация нормальных отношений между двумя взрослыми людьми качеству этого романчика совершенно не помогла. Так что, не рекомендую.



Beyond Jealousy by Kit Rocha (Beyond #4)

bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads

She’s been looking for the perfect man. She found two.

When Rachel Riley sacrificed a life in Eden to protect the O’Kanes, she earned her place in the powerful Sector Four gang. But the former crime princess is tired of being everyone’s sweet little sister . It’s time for her to get wild, to embrace her fantasies as only an O’Kane can—with a delicious exiled soldier and the gang’s wickedly sinful tattoo artist.

A saint...

Lorenzo Cruz is a warrior, taught by his commanding officers in Eden that involvement equals distraction. Emotion is a liability, and desire a sin. In Sector Four, he finds decadence, shameless sex—and his own dark urges. No battle strategy prepared him for how Rachel makes his heart race…or the way his rival for her affections sets his blood on fire.

...and a sinner.

Ace Santana has a dirty reputation and a mind to match, especially where his new lovers are concerned. He’s eager to help Cruz embrace his dominant side, and to explore the lines between pleasure and pain with Rachel. But corrupting them quickly becomes an obsession, a need he can’t deny—and a love he never imagined.

Three hearts on the line means a hundred ways their ménage a trois could go wrong. After all, even O’Kanes do forever two-by-two. One of them could be the missing piece that makes them all whole…or a temporary diversion destined for a broken heart.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10
 Well, we've been waiting for their story for a long time, right, folks? *grinning* This was scorching hot and sweet, and the trio did work together really well. I would have liked more on the story development front, hence my lower rating, - otherwise it was a good installment in this series.
* * *
Неплохо написано, да и историю Рэйчел, Эйса и Еруза мы ждали от Кит Роша давно. Ну что же, писатели не подвели. Этот тандем получился нежным и чувственным, хотя я жалела, что сама история и построение мира пострадали в угоду развития самих героев. Что ж, во всём не выиграешь. *пожимая плечами*



Beyond Solitude by Kit Rocha (Beyond #4.5)

bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads

When a motorcycle accident leaves Derek Ford riding a desk at the O’Kane compound, the last thing he needs is a sexy new assistant upending his office and his life. But Mia isn’t scared of her domineering boss. The friction between them generates an undeniable heat—but Mia will not be kept, and Ford will do anything to protect what’s his.

A few notes:

Unlike Beyond Temptation, this story stands separate from the main series plotline, with a tight focus on the hero and heroine as they travel through some parts of the Sectors we don't usually get to show.

 Amazon kindle US/UK

 7/10

 Wasn't the best novella in the series for me, but I did enjoy meeting my favorite characters nevertheless, even if the main characters didn't do anything for me. *sigh* Novellas are almost never rated highly by me, because there is just not enough story, and this  one unfortunately went into that category.
* * *
Мне кажется, можно вообще эту новеллу пропустить. Для линейного сюжета она ничего не сделает, а сами главные характеры симпатии у меня н вызвали. Читать можно было разве только для упоминания моих любимых персонажей.


Honor's Knight by Rachel Bach (Paradox #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

The rollicking sequel to Fortune's Pawn -- an action packed science fiction novel.

Devi Morris has a lot of problems. And not the fun, easy-to-shoot kind either.

After a mysterious attack left her short several memories and one partner, she's determined to keep her head down, do her job, and get on with her life. But even though Devi's not actually looking for it -- trouble keeps finding her. She sees things no one else can, the black stain on her hands is growing, and she is entangled with the cook she's supposed to hate.

But when a deadly crisis exposes far more of the truth than she bargained for, Devi discovers there's worse fates than being shot, and sometimes the only people you can trust are the ones who want you dead.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8.5/10
I actually liked the first book much more, ladies and gents. I think it was an overly convoluted plot that threw me. I felt like after a blast I had with book #1 Honor's Knight slowed down and went a bit murky. It's still an amazing sci-fi, but I would be able to judge it better as a series after the third book. What did you think of it? Loooved Rupert!
* * *
 По сравнению с книгой первой, вторая часть по качеству проигрывает. Это всё-равно очень хорошая научная фантастика, однако книга чересчур заполнена новыми поворотами сюжета, и я заметила что к середине её темп сбавляется, поэтому я начала терять интерес, который держал меня в напряжении на протяжение всей книги первой. Однако Руперт по прежнему рулит.

Contemporary Romance Review: The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me by Lucy Robinson

The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me by Lucy Robinson


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Sally is an incredible singer but she sings only in her wardrobe where nobody can hear her. She'd rather join a nudist colony than sing in public.

That is until she ventures to New York where a wild and heady summer of love and loss changes her forever. No longer able to hide in the shadows, Sally must return home to London to fulfill a promise she cannot break - to share her voice.

But just as she's about to embark on her new life, a beautiful man turns up on Sally's doorstep bearing a sheepish smile and a mysterious hand-written message.

How did he find her? Why is he here? Does he hold the truth to what happened back in New York? And, with him back on the scene, will she still have the courage to step into the spotlight?

 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

 8.5/10

* * *
 I first heard of this book at Ellie's blog, and decided there and then I'd have to buy it. I haven't been reading much chick lit lately comparing to 5-6 years ago, but this was exceptionally good.

Young Adult Adventure Fiction Review: Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber (Perry & Gobi #1)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Ferris Bueller meets La Femme Nikita in this funny, action-packed young adult novel.

It’s prom night—and Perry just wants to stick to his own plan and finally play a much-anticipated gig with his band in the Big Apple. But when his mother makes him take Gobija Zaksauskas—their quiet, geeky Lithuanian exchange student—to the prom, he never expects that his ordinary high school guy life will soon turn on its head. Perry finds that Gobi is on a mission, and Perry has no other choice but to go along for a reckless ride through Manhattan’s concrete grid with a trained assassin in Dad’s red Jag.

Infused with capers, car chases, heists, hits, henchmen, and even a bear fight, this story mixes romance, comedy, and tragedy in a true teen coming-of-age adventure—and it’s not over until it’s “au revoir.”

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
This was such a fantastic, lightning fast read, that ultimately I was left wishing for more. On one side, Perry's story is of that of a typical young boy struggling to meet his father's expectations and his own dreams of playing in a band.

Dreaming of Books #18

This feature/meme is very much like On The Smugglers Radar from The Book Smugglers , and we will use it when we really want to bring to your attention some of the very cool book releases we're looking forward to. You are welcome to borrow this feature if you want.

KARINA:

 Summary
In the waning days of the last dynasty, in a quiet, beautiful corner of imperial Peking, a young girl's blissful ignorance is shattered when she learns that she is the illegitimate daughter of an English adventurer and a Chinese courtesan. What future is there for such a girl? But a mysterious figure steps forward and offers to instruct her in the highest forms of martial arts--a path to a life of strength and independence.

Half a world away in England, a young boy's idyllic summer on the Sussex downs implodes with the firing of a single bullet. Torn from his family, he becomes the hostage of a urbanely sadistic uncle. He dreams of escaping to find his beloved friend--but the friend is in China, ten thousand miles away.

The girl trains to be deadly. The boy flees across continents. They do not know it yet, but their lives are already inextricably bound together, and will collide one fateful night when they least expect it.

'Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon' meets 'Downton Abbey,' this remarkable tale of friendship, danger, and coming of age will stay with you long after you have finished the last page.

A prequel to MY BEAUTIFUL ENEMY.

OMG, how did I miss it? It sounds so awesome, I have to read it very, very soon! :) 


Summary

Between her service in the U.S. Army and her new life living with supernaturals in Alaska, Melena Sanders has had her loyalty and duty tested in every possible way.

Or so she thought.

Tensions among supernatural factions in Fairbanks are growing after the city’s recent attacks and she must pick a side. Her nephilim lover, Lucas, needs her help to search for his missing brother— whose disappearance may not be all it seems. And agents from the Department of Homeland Security are lurking about investigating the suspicious “earthquake” that rocked the region four months ago.

It’s not the best time to be planning a trip out of town, but troubles in Fairbanks aren’t her only problem. A greater supernatural plot is developing and only by attending an upcoming ball in New Orleans can she discover more. There’s no way to avoid it. Her loyalty and duty to those she cares for are about to clash.
Release date: August 30th 2014.

I've been following this series from the very beginning, and I love how sensible, down-to-earth the main heroine is. Looking forward to murder and mayhem in New Orleans!

Summary

An epic fantasy about dragons, dark secrets, Pendragons, and magic

On the southernmost tip of Wilde Island--far from the Dragonswood sanctuary and the Pendragon Castle--live the native Euit people. Uma, who is half Euit and half English, and not fully accepted by her tribe, wants to become a healer like her Euit father. But the mad English queen in the north, desperate for another child, kidnaps Uma and her father and demands that he cure her barrenness. After her father dies, Uma must ensure that the queen is with child by the time of the Dragon Moon, or be burned at the stake.
Terrified and alone, Uma reaches out to her only possible ally: the king's nephew Jackrun, a fiery dragonrider with dragon, fairy, and human blood. Together, they must navigate through a sea of untold secrets, unveil a dark plot spawned long ago in Dragonswood, and find a way to accept all the elements--Euit, English, dragon, and fairy--that make them who they are.
Release date: March 24th 2015.

I've heard only good things about Janet Lee Carey, but seriously even without it, this gorgeous cover and dragons would be enough to lure me in!

Summary

Sixteen-year-old Nina Kane should be worrying about her immortal soul, but she's too busy trying to actually survive. Her town's population has been decimated by soul-consuming demons, and souls are in short supply. Watching over her younger sister, Mellie, and scraping together food and money are all that matters. The two of them are a family. They gave up on their deadbeat mom a long time ago.

When Nina discovers that Mellie is keeping a secret that threatens their very existence, she'll do anything to protect her. Because in New Temperance, sins are prosecuted as crimes by the brutal Church and its army of black-robed exorcists. And Mellie's sin has put her in serious trouble.

To keep them both alive, Nina will need to trust Finn, a fugitive with deep green eyes who has already saved her life once and who might just be an exorcist. But what kind of exorcist wears a hoodie?

Wanted by the Church and hunted by dark forces, Nina knows she can't survive on her own. She needs Finn and his group of rogue friends just as much as they need her.
Release date: June 9th 2015.

To be honest, Vincent is always hit or miss for me, but this certainly sounds intriguing.. What do you think?

Summary

An acerbic thriller from a Nebula award finalist, set against the backdrop of a near-future world of celebrity ambassadors and assassins who manipulate the media to the point where the only truth seekers left are the paparazzi.

When Suyana, Face of the United Amazonia Rainforest Confederation, secretly meets Ethan of the United States for a date that can solidify a relationship for the struggling UARC, the last thing she expects is an assassination attempt. Daniel, a teen runaway-turned-paparazzi out for his big break, witnesses the first shot hit Suyana, and before he can think about it, he jumps into the fray, telling himself it's not altruism, it's the scoop. Just like that, Suyana and Daniel are now in the game of Faces. And if they lose, they'll die.
Release date: March 10th 2015.

 Again, this sounds absolutely fabulous! Truth seekers? Definitely sign me in!

Summary
 Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with red and those with silver. Mare and her family are lowly Reds, destined to serve the Silver elite whose supernatural abilities make them nearly gods. Mare steals what she can to help her family survive, but when her best friend is conscripted into the army she gambles everything to win his freedom. A twist of fate leads her to the royal palace itself, where, in front of the king and all his nobles, she discovers a power of her own—an ability she didn't know she had. Except . . . her blood is Red.

To hide this impossibility, the king forces her into the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks her new position to aid the Scarlet Guard—the leaders of a Red rebellion. Her actions put into motion a deadly and violent dance, pitting prince against prince—and Mare against her own heart.

From debut author Victoria Aveyard comes a lush, vivid fantasy series where loyalty and desire can tear you apart and the only certainty is betrayal.
Release date: March 26th 2015.

I think it has great potential to turn out fantastic or drab either way. It's a debut, so I hope this book would be amazing! How about you?

Summary

Katy Parker likes being the invisible girl almost as much as she obsesses over the campus golden boy, Martin Sandeke. But when she inadvertently overhears a nefarious plot about Martin, she'll have to overcome her fears and summon the courage to be seen.

**Full novel/continuation of the short story 'Bunsen Burner Bingo' from the Breakaway anthology.**
Release date: sometime in 2015.

Yes, please! I'll read anything by Penny, and you should too!

Okay, this is it for me. How about you, Vika?

 VIKA:



Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Gail Carriger comes a new novel in the world of the Parasol Protectorate starring Prudence, the daughter of Alexia Tarabotti.

When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (Rue to her friends) is given an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female would under similar circumstances - names it the Spotted Crumpet and floats to India in pursuit of the perfect cup of tea. But India has more than just tea on offer. Rue stumbles upon a plot involving local dissidents, a kidnapped brigadier's wife, and some awfully familiar Scottish werewolves. Faced with a dire crisis and an embarrassing lack of bloomers, what else is a young lady of good breeding to do but turn metanatural and find out everyone's secrets, even thousand-year-old fuzzy ones?
Release date: March 17th 2015

It's been years! And I really, really miss Alexia and Lord Maccon (although this is technically not their story), but I'll read about Prudence anytime as well! March can't come soon enough!
 Summary
Class is back in session...
Sophronia continues her second year at finishing school in style--with a steel-bladed fan secreted in the folds of her ball gown, of course. Such a fashionable choice of weapon comes in handy when Sophronia, her best friend Dimity, sweet sootie Soap, and the charming Lord Felix Mersey stowaway on a train to return their classmate Sidheag to her werewolf pack in Scotland. No one suspected what--or who--they would find aboard that suspiciously empty train. Sophronia uncovers a plot that threatens to throw all of London into chaos and she must decide where her loyalties lie, once and for all.

Gather your poison, steel tipped quill, and the rest of your school supplies and join Mademoiselle Geraldine's proper young killing machines in the third rousing installment in the New York Times bestselling Finishing School Series by steampunk author, Gail Carriger.

Release date: November 4th 2014

As you can tell, I'm a fan of Ms. Carriger's writing and while I patiently wait for Prudence to finally make an appearance, I'll have to settle for another of Gail's heroines, who is in no way less fun.

Summary
A spinning wheel. A prick of a finger. A terrible curse.

One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairytale.

Her family is long dead. Her “true love” is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept. Everyone expects Aurora to marry her betrothed and restore magic and peace to the kingdom before revolution tears it apart. But after a lifetime spent locked in a tower for her own safety, Aurora longs for the freedom to make her own choices. When she meets a handsome rebel, he tempts her to abandon everything for a different kind of life.

As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her.

With her wedding day drawing near, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.
Release date: February 24th 2015

Fairytale retelling(s) are getting quite popular and this Sleeping Beauty story is garnering quite the reviews. Can't wait to check it out! 



Summary
Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

ELIAS is the academy’s finest soldier— and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.

Vow your blood and body to the empire.

Keep your heart for yourself.
Release date: April 28th 2015

Last but not least! Another story that's making a splash. What books are you dreaming of? :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger