If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Fantasy Early Review: The House of Four Winds by Mercedes Lackey & James Mallory

The House of Four Winds by Mercedes Lackey & James Mallory (One Dozen Daughters #1)


Egalley thanks to Tor Books

Synopsis from Goodreads
Mercedes Lackey is the New York Times bestselling author of the Valdemar series and romantic fantasies like Beauty and the Werewolf and The Fairy Godmother. James Mallory and Lackey have collaborated on six novels. Now, these New York Times and USA Today bestselling collaborators bring romance to the fore with The House of Four Winds.

The rulers of tiny, impoverished Swansgaard have twelve daughters and one son. While the prince’s future is assured, his twelve sisters must find their own fortunes.

Disguising herself as Clarence, a sailor, Princess Clarice intends to work her way to the New World. When the crew rebels, Clarice/Clarence, an expert with rapier and dagger, sides with the handsome navigator, Dominick, and kills the cruel captain.

Dominick leads the now-outlawed crew in search of treasure in the secret pirate haven known as The House of Four Winds. They encounter the sorceress Shamal, who claims Dominick for her own—but Clarice has fallen hard for Dominick and won’t give him up without a fight.

Full of swashbuckling adventure, buoyant magic, and irrepressible charm, The House of the Four Winds is a lighthearted fantasy romp by a pair of bestselling writers.


Release date: August 5th 2014.
 
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US| The Book Depository | Fishpond

8/10

* * *
Alright, folks. Truth be told, this is my first Mercedes Lackey book, and while it was utterly charming it was too middle-grade for me.

Urban Fantasy Early Review: Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews

Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews (Kate Daniels #7)


Egalley thanks to Ace

Synopsis from Goodreads
No matter how much the paranormal politics of Atlanta change, one thing always remains the same: if there’s trouble, Kate Daniels will be in the middle of it…

As the mate of the Beast Lord, Curran, former mercenary Kate Daniels has more responsibilities than it seems possible to juggle. Not only is she still struggling to keep her investigative business afloat, she must now deal with the affairs of the pack, including preparing her people for attack from Roland, a cruel ancient being with god-like powers. Since Kate’s connection to Roland has come out into the open, no one is safe—especially those closest to Kate.

As Roland’s long shadow looms ever nearer, Kate is called to attend the Conclave, a gathering of the leaders from the various supernatural factions in Atlanta. When one of the Masters of the Dead is found murdered there, apparently at the hands of a shapeshifter, Kate is given only twenty-four hours to hunt down the killer. And this time, if she fails, she’ll find herself embroiled in a war which could destroy everything she holds dear…


Release date: July 29th 2014.
 
 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

10/10

* * *
*very slight spoilers*
This is why I love Ilona and Gordon Andrews! For their explosive, mind-blowing, action-driven, charismatic books. Their Kate Daniels series for me personally is like a Holy Grail of urban fantasy, and yes, Anne Bishop came close to it this year, but Kate and Curran have something Simon and Meg don't have yet – lots and lots of mutual history.


Anyway, let's put my ramblings into a more coherent review.

The Postman Knock #89

My reading record is abysmal this week, ladies and gents, so I'm not even mentioning it. We had my cousin coming to visit, and I'm manic with harvesting and canning our veg, so I had no strength to finish any book :)

I've downloaded one freebie from Amazon though


In other NEWS:

Susan Illene, my author friend, revealed  the cover for her upcoming urban fantasy, Darkness Clashes, at Bitten by Books (there is an international giveaway for $50 Amazon card if you want to enter!), and I'm chuffed to bits. I gave feedback to the photoshoot she had for this cover a couple of months ago, and she happened to choose the shot I loved the most, so yay! Can't wait for this book :)


Also, 50 Shades of Grey trailer? Holy sh*t! I have a feeling the movie will be so much more interesting than the books :)


This is it for me, peeps, have a nice weekend and I'll get back to commenting and being active online in couple of weeks, I promise.

Here is a pic courtesy of my cousin wonderful camera of me and Al... She has talent, that girl! I loved it.


Mystery Thriller Early Review: Murder in Retribution by Anne Cleeland

Murder in Retribution by Anne Cleeland (Scotland Yard #2)


Copy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Doyle is assisting Acton in investigating a turf war between the Russian mafia and a Sinn Fein splinter group, with the warring sides in a fight to the death over who will control a money-laundering operation at the local race course. The London CID is racking up a body count and Doyle can dredge up little sympathy for the victims—that is, until she notices there is very little forensic evidence at any of the scenes.

In the second book of the Murder series, Doyle and Acton find themselves trying to outwit enemies foreign and domestic as they work to untangle the reason that the underworld war has spun out of control.

 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

 9/10

* * *
*SPOILER FREE*

 If you remember my review of Murder in Thrall last year, you know that I rated that book one of my best reads of 2013.

Acton and Doyle despite their vague resemblance to Sherlock and Watson are one of the sexiest, most dysfunctional and scariest couple there is in fiction, and that sh*t is only gonna get darker in Murder in Retribution, ladies and gents.

Vika's Early Dystopian Sci-Fi Review: Prototype by M.D. Waters

Prototype (Archetype #2) by M.D. Waters


Ecopy thanks to Edelweiss

Synopsis from Goodreads

The stunning debut that began with Archetype— and has readers buzzing—concludes in Prototype, when a woman’s dual pasts lock onto a collision course, threatening her present and future.

Emma looks forward to the day when she can let go of her past—both of them. After more than a year on the run, with clues to her parents’ whereabouts within her grasp, she may finally find a place to settle down. Start a new life. Maybe even create new memories with a new family.

But the past rises to haunt her and to make sure there’s nowhere on the planet she can hide. Declan Burke wants his wife back, and with a little manipulation and a lot of reward money, he’s got the entire world on his side. Except for the one man she dreads confronting the most: Noah Tucker.

Emma returns to face what she’s done but finds that the past isn’t the problem. It’s the present—and the future it represents. Noah has moved on and another woman is raising their daughter.

In the shocking conclusion to M.D. Waters’s spectacular debut, Emma battles for her life and her freedom, tearing down walls and ripping off masks to reveal the truth. She’s decided to play their game and prove she isn’t the woman they thought she was. Even if it means she winds up dead. Or worse, reborn.

Release date: July 24th 2014.
Amazon  US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

9.5/10

* * *

Stunning! Having just finished the novel and still riding the sweet high of this exhilarating read the only thing I can say is that it is a must read for any sci-fi/dystopian/romance fans. The writing is great, the story – exciting, and the characters are complex and interesting.

Time Travel/Historical Fiction Review: Written in My Own Heart's Blood by Diana Gabaldon

Written in My Own Heart's Blood by Diana Gabaldon (Outlander #8)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
WRITTEN IN MY OWN HEART’S BLOOD is the eighth novel in the world-famous OUTLANDER series. 

 In June of 1778, the world turns upside-down. The British army withdraws from Philadelphia, George Washington prepares to move from Valley Forge in pursuit, and Jamie Fraser comes back from the dead to discover that his best friend has married Jamie’s wife. The ninth Earl of Ellesmere discovers to his horror that he is in fact the illegitimate son of the newly-resurrected Jamie Fraser (a rebel _and_ a Scottish criminal!) and Jamie’s nephew Ian Murray discovers that his new-found cousin has an eye for Ian’s Quaker betrothed.

Meanwhile, Claire Fraser deals with an asthmatic duke, Benedict Arnold, and the fear that one of her husbands may have murdered the other. And in the 20th century, Jamie and Claire’s daughter Brianna is thinking that things are probably easier in the 18th century: her son has been kidnapped, her husband has disappeared into the past, and she’s facing a vicious criminal with nothing but a stapler in her hand. Fortunately, her daughter has a miniature cricket bat and her mother’s pragmatism.

The best of historical fiction with a Moebius twist, WRITTEN IN MY OWN HEART’S BLOOD weaves the fibers of a family’s life through the tapestry of historical drama.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Audible | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
 I started reading this on my kindle, but then remembered that Vika always listens to it on audio, and switched to it not being able to resist to Davina Porter's voice which sounds so like Dame Maggie Smith it's uncanny!

The Postman Knock #88

Hello, my dears!
We had a very eventful week, and I pretty much read bugger all. :)
My Russian cousin came to visit and we've been showing her around places like this one...
She just left today, so hopefully I'll get into reading and blogging more soon because I've pretty much run out of the pre-scheduled reviews.
 
READ:

Yes, I was binging on Annabel Joseph and I had to stop for now and go do other stuff as it's all blurring together. On one hand I love that she writes about artsy people, on the other hand sometimes she dips too much into dark romance for my comfort, so I'm on the fence about her.

NETGALLEY:

I got approved for this one, but the Adobe Digital copy is so badly formatted, unless Abrams kindly provides a copy on kindle (which wasn't available) I won't be able to read it.

BOUGHT:

 
So excited about both Rachel Aaron and Milan! Already started Courtney Milan, and she is exquisite as usual :)

This is it for me, lovelies. Have a fab weekend,
Tchau!

Friday Mini Reviews #26: Susan Illene, Tiffany Reisz & Heather Brewer



Playing with Darkness by Susan Illene (The Sensor #3.5)

Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
THIS NOVELLA IS INTENDED TO BE READ AFTER BOOK 3 OF THE SENSOR SERIES. 

There’s no avoiding it. Melena must keep her promise to return the fae device that opens the portal to Purgatory. Except there’s one problem—Kerbasi. How can she go when she has one of heaven’s minions practically attached to her hip? One who will strike fear in the hearts of the fae the moment they realize who he is.

When her shape-shifter cat suddenly gets sick, she can’t delay the trip any longer. Only the fae can help get Sable healthy again. And if Kerbasi tries to cause any trouble while they are there, she’ll just have to find creative ways to keep him in line.
Amazon kindle US/UK
7.5/10
Cute and fun, this is a lightning fast read, that showcasts the ongoing changes in Melena, and how the balance of power in her relationship with Lucas is at last shifting. Lucas was even *gasp*flirty at times! And I loved the amount of snark in this installment. Kerbasi's involvement was a good call which added a very much needed hilarity to the series overall. Recommended.
* * *
Миленькая малютка-новелла от Сюзан Иллен, которая добавляет шуточный тон к в общем-то мрачноватой серии городского фэнтези. Мы не только начинаем видеть перемены физические и моральные в состоянии Мелены, но даже Люкас наконец-то немного расслабляется и даже немного флиртует! Кербаси так и остаётся хитом, и я надеюсь, что он сыграет большую роль в следующей полноценной книге серии. Рекомендую.

 The Last Good Knight by Tiffany Reisz (#1 - 5)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

The 8th Circle - Three years before The Siren. When Mistress Nora, newly separated from her lover Søren, encounters a sexy newcomer at the 8th Circle it is lust at first sight. But when their session is cut short by Kingsley Edge, Nora vows to seduce the gorgeous submissive, even if it goes against all of Kingsley's orders.

The Last Good Knight is an Original Sinners novella told in five parts. 
Amazon kindle US/UK
8/10
 This was a very interesting short serial about Nora as a Domme way before we met her in The Siren for the first time. Her relationship with Lance was unexpectedly sweet and rang true, and her sass was just as formidable and sparkly as we remember. Also get ready for a judge with a foot fetish *smirks* Worth reading if you are craving more Nora between books, I really enjoyed it!
* * *
Интересный сериальный романчик о Норе 3 года до того, как мы впервые встретили её в Сирене. Он показывает её доминантом и рассказывает об её отношениях с Лансом. История получилась милой и горько-сладкой, и Нора даже в новеллах не потеряла свои дерзкое, острое чувство юмора и проницательность, за которые мы так её любим. Если вы по ней скучаете, очень эти новеллы советую.


Soulbound by Heather Brewer (Legacy of Tril #1)

gifted

Synopsis from Goodreads
Tril is a world where Barrons and Healers are Bound to each other: Barrons fight and Healers cure their Barrons' wounds in the ongoing war with the evil Graplar King. Seventeen-year-old Kaya was born a Healer, but she wants to fight. In Tril, and at Shadow Academy, where she is sent to learn to heal, it is against Protocol for Healers to fight. So Kaya must learn in secret. Enter two young men: One charming, rule-following Barron who becomes Bound to Kaya and whose life she must protect at all costs. And one with a mysterious past who seems bent on making Kaya's life as difficult as possible. Kaya asks both to train her, but only one will, and the consequences will change their lives forever.
 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond
 3/10
 So much potential wasted with this YA fantasy, ladies and gents! It's my first contact with Heather Brewer and I am glad this book was gifted, otherwise I'd be pissed off spending all this money on the hardback with so little to show between the pages. Great ideas, reminded me a bit of Leigh Bardugo, intriguing characters, but the execution is haphazard and so full of plot holes that I ended up being mostly annoyed instead of entertained.
* * *
Твою налево, такой хороший потенциал автор просто убила в этом подростковом фэнтези! Интересная концепция, интригующие персонажи, но в сюжете было так много совершенно непростительных дыр, что я по большей части была раздражена вместо того, чтобы получить от этой книги хоть какое-то удовольствие. Не советую.

Sci-Fi Review: Fortune's Pawn by Rachel Bach

Fortune's Pawn by Rachel Bach (Paradox #1)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Devi Morris isn't your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. It's a combination that's going to get her killed one day - but not just yet.
That is, until she just gets a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn't misnamed: it likes to get into trouble, so much so that one year of security work under its captain is equal to five years everywhere else. With odds like that, Devi knows she's found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn't give up its secrets without a fight, and one year on this ship might be more than even Devi can handle.

If Sigouney Weaver in Alien met Starbuck in Battlestar Galactica, you'd get Deviana Morris -- a hot new mercenary earning her stripes to join an elite fighting force. Until one alien bite throws her whole future into jeopardy.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
Now I know why this series is so often compared to Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews! While it's not urban fantasy, and there are absolutely no similarities in the plot, there is the same spirit of wild excitement and an extreme flair of badassery coming off the main heroine, Deviana Morris.

Crime Thriller Early Review: The Catch by Taylor Stevens

The Catch by Taylor Stevens (Vanessa Michael Munroe #4)


Egalley thanks to Crown

Synopsis from Goodreads
Vanessa Michael Munroe, the informationist, chameleon, and hunter who has built her life on a reputation for getting things done—often dangerous and not-quite-legal things—returns in this new novel from the New York Times bestselling series by Taylor Stevens.   In the wake of going head-to-head with international sex traffickers in The Doll, Munroe has retreated to Djibouti, where, while passing as a man, she finds work as an interpreter for a small, private, maritime security company. Pressed into duty at sea by her boss, Leo, Munroe discovers she is part of a gunrunning operation and she wants no part in protecting the crew or cargo. When the ship is attacked by pirates off the Somali coast, Munroe escapes and takes the unconscious captain with her to get answers. Leo's wife, Amber Marie, the only person Munroe has cared about since she arrived in Africa, is desperate when Leo goes missing along with the rest of the hijacked crew, so Munroe agrees to try to find him for Amber Marie's sake. She soon realizes it's not the cargo or the ship or the crew that the hijackers were after: they want the captain. On the run, wounded, without connections or resources, and with the life of the captain as bait and bartering chip, Munroe believes that the only way to save Leo, assuming he's still alive, is to hijack the ship back.

Release date: July 15th 2014.
 
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
 I'm in awe of Miss Stevens every time I read her book. Not only her heroine Vanessa "Michael" Munroe is one of the toughest chicks I've ever met, the sheer amount of research going into all the different settings and cultures blows me away. Every time.

The Postman Knock #87

Hello, peeps!
Amazing day yesterday despite the scorching temperatures. I ended it reading like this...
after a dip into a dam near our village
Gorgeous!
Haven't read much again. I seem to be gravitating to smut and light contemporary romance this summer. My brain must need some recuperation... How about you? Did you notice change in your pick of books in summer?

READ:


COMFORT OBJECT and CARESSA'S KNEES are both BDSM romances, and they are done really well. I'm on a binge reading all Annabel Joseph right now, and she is lovely. I also like that she chooses to write about artists, dancers and movie stars instead of your run of the mill billionaires *smirks*.

BOUGHT:

This is it for me, ladies and gents. Here is a lovely dance video with a powerful message, hope it will brighten your day as much as it did mine.
Tchau!


Friday Mini Reviews #25 - Darynda Jones x 2 & M.D. Waters







Fifth Grave Past the Light by Darynda Jones (Charley Davidson #5)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
The fifth in this fun and sexy New York Times bestselling paranormal series...

Charley Davidson may not look like your everyday, run-of-the-mill grim reaper, but she has vowed to reap grimness wherever she goes despite this unfortunate fact. Sadly, she gets sidetracked when the sexy, sultry son of Satan, Reyes Farrow, moves in next door. As he is the main suspect in her arson case, she has vowed to stay away from him until she can find out the truth.

However, when dead women start appearing in her apartment—lost, confused and terrified beyond reason—Charley has no choice but to ask for Reyes' help, especially when it becomes apparent that her own sister, Gemma, is the serial killer's next target. With his ability to observe incorporeally, surely he can find out who's responsible. And even if he can't, he is the one man alive who could protect Gemma no matter who or what came at her. But he wants something in return: Charley. All of her—body and soul. And to keep her sister safe, it is a price she might be willing to pay...
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
After a quiet forth book in the series, Charley is back in full force, and things are steaming up with Reyes. Oh boy, HOW they're steaming up! This book is absolutely delicious in so many ways - Reyes is using all the tricks in his arsenal to win over Charley, Cookie goes undercover, and Angel demands a raise. We also find out a bit more about mysterious Mr. Wong. The serial killer is vicious and chilling, and the end scene of the book is powerful in its resolution not only concerning Reyes and Charley but concerning her case. *winks* Definitely recommended, a very strong installment in this series.
* * *
Очень сильная книга серии, дамы и господа! Особенно посе слабенькой книги четвёртой. Отношения между Чарли и Рейсом наконец-то накаляются *краснеет*, и он использует каждый трюк в книге, чтобы её завоевать. Она также расследует большое дело с сериальным убийцей, и мы узнаём под самый конец как она с ним рассправляется. Добавьте к этому Рейса работающего и живущего рядом, Куки под прикрытием и Ангела, требующего прибавки к зарплате... положите рядом сюрприз в конце, - и получается очень развлекательное чтиво!



Sixth Grave On The Edge by Darynda Jones (Charley Davidson #6)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Charley Davidson—part-time P.I. and full-time Grim Reaper—is back in this new novel from the New York Times bestselling author

Sometimes I wrestle my demons. Sometimes we just snuggle.—bumper sticker

Most girls might think twice before getting engaged to someone like Reyes Farrow—but Charley Davidson is not most girls. She’s a paranormal private eye and grim reaper-in-training who’s known to be a bit of a hell-raiser, especially after a few shots of caffeine. Her beloved Reyes may be the only begotten son of evil, but he’s dark and sultry and deeply sexy and everything Charley could hope for. Really. But when the FBI file on Reyes’s childhood happens to land in her lap, she can’t help herself: She opens it...and then the real fun begins. First, Charley finds a naked corpse riding shotgun in her car. Then, a man loses his soul in a card game. Throw in a Deaf boy who sees dead people, a woman running from mobsters, and a very suspicious Reyes, and things can’t get any worse for Charley. Unless, of course, the Twelve Beasts of Hell are unleashed...
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
Book #6 is even more romantic and incredible, although emotionally I think the previous book packs a better punch, hence the lower rating on my behalf. I like how Miss Jones keeps adding new developments to Charley's gift, and this book especially shows us how extremely unexplored it is by our Grim Reaper. In fact the ending is so shocking I really don't know what Charley would decide to do next. Also I NEED to know more about Mr. Wong. What a mystery! *grins* Highly recommended!
* * *
Мне лично показалось, что шестая книга - слабее пятой в эмоциональном аспекте, однако и здесь читателя ожидает шокирующий сюрприз в конце, и мы всё больше и больше узнаём о скрытых талантах Чарли в качестве Смерти. Эта книга также добавляет нового партнёра к её команде, - хитрющего, двуличного мелкого демона. Под конец я даже и не знала, чего ожидать дальше, настолько он меня удивил... Читать обязательно!


Antitype (Archetype, #1.5) by M.D. Waters

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Antitype is the prequel to acclaimed novels, Archetype and Prototype.

Before Emma appears in their lives, two men face four months that will change their lives forever. One has dreams outside Richmond and away from his family business. The other wants to make the business his only focus. In one summer, outside forces drive them both to make brash and irrevocable decisions that will render them at once supremely powerful yet emotionally vulnerable. How can these peers with identical pasts, as well as seemingly identical futures, reach a threshold where only one escapes with his integrity intact? 
 Amazon kindle US/UK

9/10

* * *
Omg!!! This was so good, and I can't believe that is it; the end. I want need more! Pretty please?

But seriously, I'm in love with these characters! And I absolutely loved the glimpse into Noah's and Declan's life before the events of Archetype and Prototype. It was great to see what drove them and made them the men they are. Interesting enough, I found a lot of similarities between Noah and Declan initially, but the way their families (or rather their fathers) shaped their future passes in life varied drastically. I felt really sad for Declan, but at the end he chose his pass himself and he had to live with the consequences...

Great read for the fans of the series! Highly recommended. 


* * *
Замечательный рассказ! Читается на одном дыхании и для поклонников серии это настоящий подарок.

Было здорово еще раз окунуться в этот мир и увидеть Ноя и Деклана до событий Архитипа и Прототипа. И несмотря на то что Ной и Деклан настолько различны, в этом рассказе я нашла много общего между этими героями. Но то, как их семьи (или, скорее даже, их отцы) повлияли на их будущее подчеркивает их различие. Несмотря на все, мне в какой-то степени было жалко Деклана но в конце он сам выбрал свой путь, и ему пришлось жить с последствиями своего выбора... 

В целом, я абсолютно в восторге от книг и рассказов М.Д. Уотерс и очень рекомендую эту серию. Читайте! 

Steampunk Romance Serial Review: The Kraken King by Meljean Brook

The Kraken King by Meljean Brook (Iron Seas#3-8)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
 A former smuggler and thief, Ariq—better known as the Kraken King—doesn’t know what to make of the clever, mysterious woman he rescues from an airship besieged by marauders. Unsure if she’s a spy or a pawn in someone else’s game, Ariq isn’t about to let her out of his sight until he finds out…

After escaping her fourth kidnapping attempt in a year, Zenobia Fox has learned to vigilantly guard her identity. While her brother Archimedes is notorious for his exploits, Zenobia has had no adventures to call her own—besides the stories she writes.

But when she jumps at the chance to escape to the wilds of Australia and acquire research for her next story, Zenobia quickly discovers that the voyage will be far more adventurous than any fiction she could put to paper…

Amazon kindle US/UK

9/10

* * *
You know what I usually think of online serials, ladies and gents, but in this case it was worth it. What Meljean Brook did with her story, even with eight installments at £1.22 each, was marvelous.

Urban Fantasy Review: Bloodshifted by Cassie Alexander

Bloodshifted by Cassie Alexander (Edie Spence #5)


Egalley thanks to St. Martin's Paperbacks

Synopsis from Goodreads
Ambushed. Blindfolded. Kidnapped by vampires. Edie Spence must race against time to save herself and her baby—from the nightmare that flows through her veins…As a nurse in the hospital’s secret Y4 ward, Edie has seen her share of daytimers. Once-ordinary humans who’ve tasted vampire blood, daytimers are doomed to serve their nighttime masters. Forever. And now Edie has to face something even more horrifying: she’s become one too…BLOODSHIFTED  

Abducted by the vampire Raven, Edie is taken to the catacombs beneath the Catacombs, an ironically-named L.A. night club that supplies fresh blood and other favors for its vampire Masters. Edie has no intention of swapping her nurse’s uniform for a cocktail dress—not when her newborn infant needs her. But if she and Asher—her shapeshifter fiancé—can’t figure out a way to bleed Raven’s power, they may never get out of this plasma-soaked pleasure palace…undead or alive. 

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US | The Book Depository | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
What I always liked about Cassie Alexander it's that there is no glamour, glory or some sort of higher purpose to her supernaturals. They are nasty, vicious motherf*ckers and unapologetic to a boot. I LOVE it.

The Postman Knock #86

Hello, boys and girls!
I'm feeling a bit lethargic this week, so even as my Internet went back to normal, I had no inclination of blogging and commenting. I'm sorry for that. You were not forgotten but I needed a break. 
I got the news as well that my grandfather is dying, and it makes me incredibly sad. He's been battling cancer for 8-9 years, and his frail body is finally giving up. I am too far away and can't afford to fly over, otherwise I'll be there for him, so all I can do is talk to my mom about him.
Anyway, back to positive, good stuff, alright?

I READ:

BEAUTY FROM PAIN was very charming and had a cute Aussie slang coming from the main hero. I really enjoyed it. (It's still FREE on Amazon, peeps!) Otherwise I'm on re-reads - currently on Discovery of Witches, preparing to read The Book of Life... Oh, Matthew! *sighs*

NETGALLEY:

Thanks to the publishers!

FOR REVIEW:

Tempting Fate is a second book in an exceptionally good YA paranormal time-travel series! Thank you, April! I'm also looking forward to Second Daughter. First book in this bollywood steampunk fantasy was amazing. Thank you, Susan!

BOUGHT: (and not feeling guilty about it!)

Beauty from Pain was FREE by the way, so doesn't count! :)

I've also download CALIBRE after Vika mentioned it to me. Oh wow, now I can buy an ebook in any format and turn it into mobi file for my kindle! Well, well, well,
f*ck you, Amazon UK with your territorial restrictions. What a great program!

At last, Alex found an amazing mix of techno from 1991, and we've been listening to it non-stop, it's sooo good :)
Tchau, everyone! Have a lovely day!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger