If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


May New Book Releases We're Dying to Read!

Karina:
I know there is new Darynda Jones which comes out in May, but  did not add her because I'm a book behind. What are you waiting for, folks?


Vika:
Oh! Looks like May is going to be an exciting month. So many wonderful books to look forward to.

Erotic Romance Review: Need You Tonight by Roni Loren

Need You Tonight by Roni Loren (Loving On The Edge #5)


bought
18+ only

Synopsis from Goodreads
She’s making a wish list, and he wants to be on top.

From foster kid to trophy wife, Tessa McAllen is about to reinvent herself all over again—and defy every insult her cheating ex-husband ever used against her: Selfish? She’s championing a charity. Stupid? She’s getting her degree.

Boring in bed?

Kade Vandergriff can help her with that one. When they encounter each other at a singles event held at one of his restaurants, Tessa blurts out that kink is for girls who try too hard, and Kade instantly wants to show this sassy stranger how thrilling a night under his command can be…but when he learns her name, the game changes for both of them.

In high school, Tessa was the popular girl who stuttering, awkward Kade fell for. But she chose another. Now, as she eagerly learns lesson after lesson, he’s going to make sure she never forgets him again.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
Aww, what a lovely read! I think it's my favorite in the series so far.  

Disregarding BDSM motive that goes throughout the whole series, the back story in this novel is amazing. Kade and Tessa had a crash on each other in high school. But he was a resident geek, and she was a foster kid cheerleader dating a popular jock who promised to take care of her, and stuff happened, so they were just not meant to be.

The Postman Knock #76

A cooler week for us here, peeps, which allowed me to work more, and we ate our first home grown lettuce! Yay! I am very excited about all the fruit and veg we're going to get soon :)

I've READ:

FOOL ME TWICE was an adorable historical romance, and it truly helped me to catch a well-needed break from other genres. NIGHT BROKEN was marvelous! I admit I lost hope a little bit with Miss Briggs's previous two books, but it seems that she found her groove again. A DANGEROUS MADNESS wasn't as engaging as I expected but I enjoyed it nevertheless.
I'm also re-reading In Death series by J.D. Robb, so three more books read which I did not count as a part of my Goodreads challenge *shrugs*

BOUGHT:

I still haven't read Amy Raby's second book, but it's on my kindle, so I bought the third one straight away. Meredith Duran is on my auto-buy list every time her new book comes out anyway.

FOR REVIEW:

I've been looking forward to more of Melena, thanks, Susan! :)

NETGALLEY:

Squee! Kimba, are you seeing this? Grab it! :)

And of course, newest Soren's book feels almost too hot to handle... I'll be reviewing it soon.

All are planned review copies, and now with my empty to-be-reviewed shelf I can read them straight away! *huge grin*

This is it for me, folks. Have a lovely weekend!
Tchau!

Dreaming of Books #16

This feature/meme is very much like On The Smugglers Radar from The Book Smugglers , and we will use it when we really want to bring to your attention some of the very cool book releases we're looking forward to. You are welcome to borrow this feature if you want.

KARINA:

Have I got some wicked reads for you to add to your wishlist or what, my dear readers?  And they all look extra yummy. *grinning*

Summary

Book Two of the Witching Savannah series

Graceful trees and historic buildings fill Savannah, Georgia, but beneath the city's Southern splendor, its supernatural roots run deep. The members of local witch families grace the society pages...when they're not secretly protecting their magical work from dark forces.

Savannah resident Mercy Taylor may now be in control of the South's most powerful family of witches, but she's struggling to master her newfound magic. Pregnant with her first child and still reeling from a heartbreaking betrayal, she just wants to be able to use her supernatural abilities without accidentally destroying dishes or blasting the doors off buildings.

But when Mercy's long-presumed-dead mother suddenly returns, begging Mercy to keep her presence under wraps, the witch wonders how many secrets her family is hiding...and who she can really trust. And when the danger around her intensifies to deadly levels, Mercy knows she must discover the truth behind her family's magic—before it destroys her.

The second book in J.D. Horn's Witching Savannah series, The Source casts a thrilling spell.

Release date: June 3rd 2014.

I don't know who does JD Horn's covers, but he surely sold his soul to cover gods for this. Both The Line and The Source have outstanding covers! I am looking forward to the next book in this intensely atmospheric Southern adventure.

Summary

From the Amazon UK #1 bestselling self-published author of the Jessica Daniel's series, Kerry Wilkinson, comes a gripping debut young adult novel about one girl's determination to survive the whims of a cruel king.

One girl. One reckoning. One destiny.

In a far-off future, after years of war and famine have eliminated all technological advancement, returning society to a feudal system, in the village of Martindale, hundreds of miles north of the new English capital of Windsor, sixteen-year-old Silver Blackthorn takes the Reckoning. This coming-of-age test not only decides her place in society – Elite, Member, Inter or Trog – but also determines that Silver is to become an Offering for King Victor.

But these are uncertain times and no one really knows what happens to the teenagers who disappear into Windsor Castle. Is being an Offering the privilege everyone assumes it to be, or do the walls of the castle have something to hide?

Trapped in a maze of ancient corridors, Silver finds herself in a warped world of suspicion where it is difficult to know who to trust and who to fear. In this novel by Kerry Wilkinson, the one thing Silver does know is that she must find a way out . . .

Release Date: July 1st 2014.

To be honest, this can be amazing or amazingly bad. Too many YA dystopians turn out to be that way. Still... the premise caught me.

Summary

In Robin York’s provocative New Adult novel, two young ex-lovers find themselves together again in the shadow of tragedy—and an intense, undeniable attraction.

Caroline still dreams about West. His warm skin, his taut muscles, his hand sliding down her stomach. Then she wakes up and she’s back to reality: West is gone. And before he left, he broke her heart.

Then, out of the blue, West calls in crisis. A tragedy has hit his family—a family that’s already a fractured mess. Caroline knows what she has to do. Without discussion, without stopping to think, she’s on a plane, flying to his side to support him in any way he needs.

They’re together again, but things are totally different. West looks edgy, angry at the world. Caroline doesn’t fit in. She should be back in Iowa, finalizing her civil suit against the ex-boyfriend who posted their explicit pictures on a revenge porn website. But here she is. Deeply into West, wrapped up in him, in love with him. Still.

They fought the odds once. Losing each other was hard. But finding their way back to each other couldn’t be harder.

Release Date: July 1st 2014.

Deeper was simply outstanding and brought me to tears. The question is: will the second book do the same? No matter what, I have to read it.

Summary
Valentina Cruz no longer exists.

One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she was witnessing the unthinkable: a murder in cold blood, ordered by her father and carried out by her boyfriend. When Emilio pulled the trigger, Valentina disappeared. She made a split-second decision to shed her identity and flee her life of privilege, leaving the glittering parties and sultry nightlife of Miami far behind.

She doesn’t know how to explain to herself what she saw. All she knows now is that nothing she believed about her family, her heart, or Emilio’s love, was real.

She can change her name and deny her past, but Valentina can’t run from the truth. The lines between right and wrong, and trust and betrayal, will be blurred beyond recognition as she untangles the deceptions of the two men she once loved and races to find her own truth.

Release date: October 7th 2014.

Not only this book sounds fantastic, Jessica Martinez is a very good writer, so I'm determined to read this one.

Summary

FORBIDDEN is a sweepingly epic and sensuous novel, a story of peer pressure and cults set against the ancient art of belly dance, in which 16-year-old Jayden’s faith and character is tested to their limits, even death, as she watches her family and the world around her fall apart.

Betrothed to the tribal leader's son, Jayden is blackmailed over the murder of their beloved leader when he is found poisoned, all while hiding her forbidden love of Kadesh, a stranger from the secret frankincense lands.

The Goddess temples of Ashtoreth may be Jayden’s only escape, even though the allure of the sexual rites tempt the women of the desert to turn their back on everything they hold sacred.

Jayden must undertake a deadly journey to save the ones she loves—and find a true love for herself.

Release date: November 4th 2014.

You tell me "fantasy with belly dance", and I'm in! :)

Summary

Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.

Release date: September 9th 2014.

 Not only Kiersten White is a damn good writer, when you start throwing names like Libba Bray and show me gorgeous covers like this one, I'm a goner!

Summary

Epic and provocative, STRAY is an original fairy tale in which magic is a curse that only women bear and society is dictated by a strict religious doctrine called The Path.

Princess Aislynn knows all about the curse. Its magic is a part of her, like her awkward nose and thin fingers. It’s also something she can’t control. And girls who can’t control their abilities have a tendency to disappear. So for her own protection, Aislynn is sworn into the order of Fairy Godmothers where she must spend the rest of her life chaste and devoted to serving another royal family.

Tasked with tending to the sweet, but sheltered Princess Linnea, Aislynn also finds a reluctant friend in the palace gardener, Thackery, who makes no secret of his disdain for her former life. The more time they spend together, though, the more she begins to doubt the rules she has observed so obediently. As Aislynn’s feelings threaten to undo the sacred vows she has taken, she risks not only her own life but Linnea’s as well. With the princess engaged to a devoted follower of The Path, there are some who would do anything to keep Aislynn from straying.

Release date: October 7th 2014.

Don't know what's gonna happen here, but there is a princess in the woods, and I am sold on that.

 Summary

Interns are invisible. That’s the mantra behind HR, Inc., an elite "placement agency" that doubles as a network of assassins-for-hire, taking down high-profile executives who wouldn't be able to remember an intern’s name if their lives depended on it.

At the ripe old age of twenty-five, John Lago is already New York City’s most successful hit man. He’s also an intern at a prestigious Manhattan law firm, clocking eighty hours a week getting coffee, answering phones, and doing all the grunt work no one else wants to do. But he isn't trying to claw his way to the top of the corporate food chain. He was hired to assassinate one of the firm’s heavily guarded partners. His internship is the perfect cover, enabling him to gather intel and gain access in order to pull off a clean, untraceable hit.

The Intern’s Handbook is John Lago's unofficial survival guide for new recruits at HR, Inc. (Rule #4: "Learn how to make the perfect cup of coffee: you make an exec the best coffee he’s ever had, and he will make sure you’re at his desk every morning for a repeat performance. That’s repetitive exposure, which begets access and trust. 44% of my kills came from my superior coffee-making abilities.")

Part confessional, part how-to, the handbook chronicles John’s final assignment, a twisted thrill ride in which he is pitted against the toughest—and sexiest—adversary he’s ever faced: Alice, an FBI agent assigned to take down the same law partner he’s been assigned to kill.

Release date: April 8th 2014.
Goodreads

Oh my God, this sounds like tons of fun! Hired men posing as interns? Yes, please!


Summary
Full of romance and nature magic, this debut fantasy is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale, Juliet Marillier, and Kristin Cashore.

Lark has foreseen two things—she will fall for a young man with sage green eyes,and he will kill her.

Sixteen-year-old Lark Carew is happiest close to home, tending her garden and gathering herbs for medicines. But when her Sight warns her that monsters called Troths will soon invade her village, Lark is summoned on a journey to seek help from the legendary Riders of Tarnec. Little does she suspect that one of the Riders, Gharain, is the very man who has haunted her visions. Or that the people of Tarnec have called her there for another reason: Lark is the Guardian of Life, the first of four Guardians who must awaken their powers to recover four stolen amulets. Together, the amulets—Life, Death, Dark, and Light—keep the world in Balance. To take back the Life amulet, Lark will have to discover her true inner strength and give in to a love that she swears will be her downfall.


Release date: September 23rd 2014.
Goodreads


Usually when someone is compared to Kristin Cashore I pay attention, wouldn't you?


Summary

FIRST IN A NEW SERIES!

Known as the wicked witch of Russian fairy tales, Baba Yaga is not one woman, but rather a title carried by a chosen few. They keep the balance of nature and guard the borders of our world, but don’t make the mistake of crossing one of them…

Older than she looks and powerful beyond measure, Barbara Yager no longer has much in common with the mortal life she left behind long ago. Posing as an herbalist and researcher, she travels the country with her faithful (mostly) dragon-turned-dog in an enchanted Airstream, fulfilling her duties as a Baba Yaga and avoiding any possibility of human attachment.

But when she is summoned by a woman desperate to find her missing child, Barbara suddenly finds herself caught up in a web of deceit and an unexpected attraction to the charming but frustrating Sheriff Liam McClellan.

Now, as Barbara fights both human enemies and Otherworld creatures to save the lives of three innocent children, she discovers that her most difficult battle may be with her own heart….


Release date: September 2nd 2014.
Goodreads

Come on, I'm Russian, I grew up on these fairytales! Of course, I'm dying to read this!

 This is it for me. What about you, Vika?

 VIKA:
Hold on, hold on! I'm scribbling down the names of all these books, cause they all look amazing! :)

Summary
WRITTEN IN MY OWN HEART’S BLOOD is the eighth novel in the world-famous OUTLANDER series. In June of 1778, the world turns upside-down. The British army withdraws from Philadelphia, George Washington prepares to move from Valley Forge in pursuit, and Jamie Fraser comes back from the dead to discover that his best friend has married Jamie’s wife. The ninth Earl of Ellesmere discovers to his horror that he is in fact the illegitimate son of the newly-resurrected Jamie Fraser (a rebel _and_ a Scottish criminal!) and Jamie’s nephew Ian Murray discovers that his new-found cousin has an eye for Ian’s Quaker betrothed.

Meanwhile, Claire Fraser deals with an asthmatic duke, Benedict Arnold, and the fear that one of her husbands may have murdered the other. And in the 20th century, Jamie and Claire’s daughter Brianna is thinking that things are probably easier in the 18th century: her son has been kidnapped, her husband has disappeared into the past, and she’s facing a vicious criminal with nothing but a stapler in her hand. Fortunately, her daughter has a miniature cricket bat and her mother’s pragmatism.

The best of historical fiction with a Moebius twist, WRITTEN IN MY OWN HEART’S BLOOD weaves the fibers of a family’s life through the tapestry of historical drama.

Release date: June 10th 2014.
Goodreads

As I'm writing this, I just finished An Echo in the Bone (Outlander #7) and I'm dying to read the next book! I probably have no rights to complain though, as it's only a few months away rather than years that other fans have been waiting, but still - I can hardly wait.

 Summary

Captain Garret Reed of the Nighthawk guard has a deadly mission: capture a steel-jawed monster preying on women. He hates to put his partner, Perry, in jeopardy, but she’s the best bait he has. Little does he realize, he’s about to be caught in his own trap.

Perry has been half in love with Garrett for years, but this is not exactly the best time to start a relationship—especially when their investigation leads them directly into the clutches of the madman she thought she’d escaped...


Release date: September 2nd 2014.
Goodreads

I'm a big fan of this series and I'm pretty certain that Garret and Perry will be one very kick-ass couple! :)


Summary

More Four! Fans of the Divergent series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth will be thrilled by Four: A Divergent Story Collection, five short stories told from Four's perspective. Each brief story—"The Transfer," "The Initiate," "The Son," "The Traitor," and "Free Four"—explores the world of the Divergent series through the eyes of the mysterious but charismatic Tobias Eaton, revealing previously unknown facets of his personality, backstory, and relationships.
 

Release date: July 8th 2014.
Goodreads

I've actually read Free Four and The Transfer before the publisher decided to make it a set release. I am bit grumpy about the fact but still want to read it because I <3 Four! 

What books are your dreaming of?

Joint Paranormal Fantasy Early Review: The Singer by Elizabeth Hunter

The Singer by Elizabeth Hunter (Irin Chronicles #2)


Ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
When you've lost everything you love, how do you fight the darkness?

Ava left Istanbul with a new identity, new name, and new magic she could barely control. Laid low by Malachi's sacrifice, she searches for help from the fabled Irina. But will the secretive women of the Irin race welcome or shun her? Ava's origins are still a mystery, and her powers are darker than any they've encountered before.

The Irin world hangs in the balance. And as the children of angels battle their own demons, ancient rivalries among the Fallen threaten to wreak havoc on earth.

Thousand of miles away, a warrior wakes with no memory of his identity or his people. Stumbling though the dark and twisted schemes of fallen angels, ravenous Grigori, and even his own leaders, he must find a way back to the one thing he remembers. A single voice calls him. Malachi has one mission.

"Come back to me."

THE SINGER is the second book in the Irin Chronicles, a contemporary fantasy series from Elizabeth Hunter, author of the Elemental Mysteries.
 


Release date: May 6th 2014.

Amazon  US | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

8/10

* * *
Karina:
I loved The Singer even more than The Scribe. If the first book was tentative and spent a lot of time establishing the world-building, in the second book Elizabeth started spreading her wings. Her world expanded, her secondary characters multiplied and the plot thickened.

Paranormal fantasy is the right genre to describe this book. It's not straightforward enough to be paranormal romance and it's not as full of action as urban fantasy. Instead, it follows the route Elizabeth established in her Elemental World series - a variety of characters and settings; and I have to say I am loving the angels intrigues here. Loving it.

YA Fantasy Review: Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen

Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen (The Malediction Trilogy #1)


Egalley thanks to Strange Chemistry

Synopsis from Goodreads
For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she’s waiting – she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods – part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As Cécile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer’s daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(£2.71) | The Book Depository | Fishpond

9/10

* * *
I don't read YA fantasy often, but when I do I'm incredibly lucky to rely on it as a pretty great read. Kristine Cashore, Maria V. Snyder, Sarah J. Maas, Laura Lam or Sherry Thomas with her Burning Sky - they all hit the mark and were highly rated reads on this blog.

Now I can add Danielle L. Jensen to this list.

The Postman Knock #75


photo credit: chicks57 via photopin cc

HAPPY EASTER, everyone!
Personally, I'm here for the cake. We also have egg hunts on regular basis as our chickens hide them all over the places :)

Lovely week with lots of people coming for our BBQ! Wow, I was so knackered afterwards I took a day off :) How was your week, peeps?

I've READ:


MAGIC BREAKS was absolutely awesome! In fact, I was ever so lucky in reading only excellent books this week. The list also included MURDER IN RETRIBUTION which will have a nice dark surprise for all the fans of Acton, and ONE KICK, which was a chilling, high-octane thriller. At last, SERAPHINA was a very beautiful read, and I enjoyed it immensely.

Yay, I am clear of all my review books, peeps! Such a cool feeling of freedom :) I actually don't know what to read next!

BOUGHT:


This is it for me this week, guys. Have a great weekend and enjoy good weather! 
Tchau!

Friday Mini Reviews #21 - Sierra Dean, Emma Chase & Ava Lovelace aka Delilah S. Dawson


KARINA:

Winter by Sierra Dean (Dog Days #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Eloise “Lou” Whittaker can’t shake the feeling she’s forgetting something.

After surviving the explosion of the Poisonfoot Library, she struggles to find her footing again, and she’s grateful Archer Wyatt is there to make sure she’s all right. But Archer seems to be around an awful lot and Lou has trouble controlling herself when she’s with him. She should be thrilled the most popular guy in school wants to be with her, but still, there’s that nagging feeling…

Cooper Reynolds knows he ought to let Lou go. He was putting her at risk by letting her in the first time, and now that she’s a blank slate he should just let her go on blissfully unaware of his curse. But she’s given him a taste of something dangerous… hope.

Can Cooper and an unlikely ally help Lou break free from the spell she’s under?

And can they do it before a new force threatens to destroy the whole town?
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(£1.87)| The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8/10
* * *
 I like the development of this series; a very enjoyable paranormal YA, and coming from Sierra Dean it's done just right. Autumn was good, but Winter is even better. If you are a fan of Caster Chronices by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl or Brightest Kind of Darkness series by P.T. Michelle, this blend of magic and mystery is right up your alley. 
* * *
Очень неплохо написанный паранормальный подростковый фикшн, особенно потому что разводить сопли для Сьерры Дин совершенно нехарактерно. Первая книга, Осень, хороша, но вторая, Зима, ещё лучше. Советую поклонникам Ками Гарсии и Маргарет Стол, а также П.Т. Мишель.

VIKA:

Holy Frigging Matrimony: A Tangled Series Short Story (Tangled #1.5)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
What does Drew Evans have to say next? Find out in this forty page short story, filled with his sexy charm, unique advice and hilarious one-liners.

Marriage: the final frontier. Steven went first. He was kind of our test subject. Like those monkeys that NASA sent off into space in the fifties, all the while knowing they’d never make it back.

And now another poor rocket is ready to launch.

But this isn’t just any posh New York wedding. You’ve seen my friends, you’ve met our families, you know you're in for a treat. Everyone wants their wedding to be memorable. This one’s going to be un-frigging-forgettable.

Holy Frigging Matrimony takes place about a year after Tangled’s end and is from Drew’s POV.
Amazon kindle US($0.99)/UK(£0.75)

8/10
* * *
This was a very fun and sexy short story that I would definitely recommend to fans of the series. For some reason I didn’t realize until after I finished Tangled that the second book is not out yet, so this was my sweet treat, as I was craving more of Drew (and who wouldn’t, right?). Of course I was also dying to know how he and Kate were faring, and I’m happy to find him still trying to make it work and be the boyfriend Kate deserves, but the guy can’t stay out of trouble long. It’s all in good fun though. So expect plenty of shenanigans once more; told in Drew’s humorous and sarcastic tone it makes for another laugh-out-loud funny and entertaining reading experience. 

* * *
Замечательный короткий рассказ от Эммы Чейз! Я как-то уже успела соскучится по Дрю и его юмористическому и саркастичному тону повествования, и, в общем, не смогла устоять и решила прикупить эту историю. Все-таки, хотелось убедиться, что все его старания не пошли насмарку, и он и Кейт поживают благополучно вместе. Все конечно так и есть, но это совсем не мешает Дрю попадать в разные забавные ситуации, что собственно и описывается в этой истории. Так что, фанатам серии рекомендую читать.


JOINT REVIEW:

The Lumberfox by Ava Lovelace (aka Delilah S. Dawson)

Ecopy courtesy of the author

Synopsis from Goodreads

Caught in Atlanta's Snowjam 2014, self-confessed geek Tara is rear-ended by the hottest guy she's ever met. Ryon is a beer brewer and restauranteur who fits the bill of what Tara and her friends call a "lumberfox": sartorial lumberjack style, cultivated facial hair, tattoos, and specialized tastes. When he invites Tara to spend the snowstorm in his nearby condo, she takes a gamble and slogs through the Hothlike blizzard, where she learns that a man who takes that much time with his mustache knows exactly what to do with his mouth.
 Amazon kindle US/UK

7/10
* * *

Vika:
Well, this was different. And I truly didn’t know what to expect but found myself enjoying this quirky short story from the talented Ms. Dawson, who, under the pen-name of Ava Lovelace, is exploring a new-to-her genre. Speaking of genres, ever heard of geekrotica? Cause it’s certainly a first for me!

What did you think K.?

Karina:
I haven't heard of it either, V., and while I consider myself geeky, the majority of cultural references (apart from the obvious ones!) went way over my head. Still, it was funny (especially the vibrator moment), sweet and adorable, and despite the shortness of the story, warmed my cockles. I hear, that Delilah plans on two more stories in this novella format, and I'm looking forward to reading them too. Recommended.
* * *
Вика:
Очень забавный рассказ. Я честно не знала что нас тут будет ожидать, но была приятно удивлена. Талантливая г-жа Доусон решила попробовать себя в новом для нее жанре литературы, который она любовно называет эксцентричной эротикой. Когда нибудь слышали о таком? Нет? Я тоже нет, поэтому было весьма любопытно почитать.

Какие у тебя мысли на этот счет Карина?

Карина:
Эротика для ботаников или скорее для ярых поклонников Звёздных Войн? Нет, сталкиваться мне с ней не приходилось. И меня и Вику заинтриговало такое описание новой работы Делайлы С. Доусон под псевдонимом Ава Ловлэйс, так что мы решили прорецензировать её вместе.

Что я могу сказать? Мило, смешно и неожиданно коротко, так как по размеру это - новелла. Происхождение большинство шуточек я не смогла понять, а узнала только те, что уж очевидно относились к Звёздным Войнам. Рекомендую, но не очень восторженно. Читать можно для книжного перекуса.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger