If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Friday mini reviews #17: Emma Jane Holloway, R. Lee Smith and Marta Acosta

A Study in Darkness by Emma Jane Holloway (The Baskerville Affair #2)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
When a bomb goes off at 221B Baker Street, Evelina Cooper is thrown into her Uncle Sherlock’s world of mystery and murder. But just when she thought it was safe to return to the ballroom, old, new, and even dead enemies are clamoring for a place on her dance card.

Before Evelina’s even unpacked her gowns for a country house party, an indiscretion puts her in the power of the ruthless Gold King, who recruits her as his spy. He knows her disreputable past and exiles her to the rank alleyways of Whitechapel with orders to unmask his foe.

As danger mounts, Evelina struggles between hiding her illegal magic and succumbing to the darker aspects of her power. One path keeps her secure; the other keeps her alive. For rebellion is brewing, a sorcerer wants her soul, and no one can protect her in the hunting ground of Jack the Ripper.

Amazon  US | Amazon kindle US | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond
9/10
* * *
 I remember that I had a slight complaint after the first book. It was to do with too many inner monologues to explain the world building to the reader. Well, it's all gone now. A Study in Darkness is extremely intense and utterly awesome. There, I said it. Wonderful steampunk read, and I even didn't mind a unique spin on Jack The Ripper. Wholly recommended, what an adventure!
* * *
Я помню, что жаловалась на присутствие множества внутренних монологов, объясняющих построение мира в первой книге. Так вот, ко второй книге у меня нет никаких претензий. Отличнейший стимпанк, полный экшн и масштабных политических интриг. Даже твист с Джеком Потрошителем меня не раздражал, потому как написано было с умом и смекалкой. В общем, прекрасная серия, и всем поклонникам жанра читать обязательно!



 
Lords of Arcadia series by R. Lee Smith

bought 
 
Taryn MacTavish found the egg in a pile of wet leaves on a camping trip when she was only nine years old. A nine-year old believes in a lot of things--killer snipes, flying dragons, magical powers and fantastic worlds--but the woman that Taryn has become is firmly rooted in the real world...until the egg she has safely kept all these years hatches into a baby griffin. Now she must make a choice: Abandon Aisling and lead a normal life, or follow a mysterious singing gypsy out of Earth and into Arcadia, where wizardry is very real and each new day brings unimaginable new dangers.

The first installment of R. Lee Smith's Lords of Arcadia series, THE CARE AND FEEDING OF GRIFFINS raises the genre of erotica to a whole new level. Richly-styled and filled with Smith's defining blend of horror and humor, Griffins tells a fast-paced suspenseful story that takes the reader right to the edge of the darkest thrills.
 Amazon kindle US/UK 
8.5/10
* * *
To be honest, this might not be the best fantasy series you've ever read, but R. Lee Smith has a such a compelling voice I could not stop devouring these three books. Alternative worlds, lots of magic, strange creatures. The heroine is goody two shoes with a big heart, who saves everyone through sex *smirk*, and at some point there is no escape from the comparison to Meredith Gentry series by LKH... and yet I couldn't stop reading. Recommended.
* * *
Ну да, это не самая умная серия фэнтэзи, что вы когда-либо читали, однако есть что-то в голосе Р.Ли Смит, что не позволяет оторваться от книг пока не дочитаешь их до конца. Альтернативные миры, полные магии;  наивная героиня с большим сердцем, что спасает всех, кого можно с помощью магического секса *ржу не могу*, и всё очень напоминает по тематике серию Мерри Джентри Лорел К. Гамильтон... и всё же книги цепляют и читаются на одном духу. Рекомендую.



Nancy's Theory of Style by Marta Acosta

kindle freebie

Synopsis from Goodreads
Lively young socialite Nancy Carrington-Chambers has always believed an excellent sense of style and strict attention to detail are what it takes to succeed, but her own husband Todd is showing symptoms of incurable tackiness, so Nancy flees their McMansion for her posh San Francisco apartment. She knows her event planning company, Froth, is a real winner, but she must prove herself by reinventing the turgid Barbary Coast Historical Museum fundraiser. Luckily, Nancy now has the perfect assistant. Derek Cathcart is British, impeccably dressed, gorgeous, and clearly gay; so why does Nancy find him so attractive?

Before Nancy can unravel her feelings, her irresponsible cousin Birdie abandons her little daughter with Nancy and takes off. Nancy, Derek, and Eugenia make an unlikely family, but strangely it seems incredibly right. Now Nancy's parents are pressuring her to return to Todd, and she still has to pull off a spectacular party. For someone who's always known exactly where she's going, Nancy is in dangerously uncharted waters.

Irresistibly funny and romantic, Nancy's Theory of Style shows that happiness and
love just like fashion aren't about playing it safe.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK
8/10
* * *
I've always loved Marta Acosta's style, and this book is not an exception. I've no clue why the publisher wanted it to be printed under a pseudonym, especially if it's a story of Milagro's best friend, but Marta republished it recently under her own name with a different cover. It's funny, lighthearted and very very clever. This is a particular brand of witticism I adore and very much recommend to you all.
* * *
Весёлая, остроумная, лёгкая книжка, но в этом отношении Марта Акоста меня всегда радует. Я не знаю почему издатель решил опубликовать книгу о лучшей подруге Милагро под псевдонимом вместо устоявшегося имени автора, однако я так понимаю, что Марта уже переиздала книгу о Нэнси под своим именем и с другой обложкой. Милоё чтиво, и как обычно автор играет английским языком как самый настоящий виртуоз! Рекомендую.

Sci-Fi Fiction Review: Heat by R. Lee Smith

Heat by R. Lee Smith


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Mature subject matter for adults only.

Earth. A world quarantined since its discovery by the Far-Reachers of Jota's history. And where the fortunes of slavers and chemists have been made ever since.

It was to Earth that Kanetus E'Var, the son of Jota's most ruthless slaver, escaped to make Vahst, a powerful drug manufactured from the human brain. And it was to Earth that Tagen Pahnee, Fourth-ranking officer of the Jotan Off-World Security Fleet, was sent to bring the criminal back to justice. Neither of them could have anticipated that at that moment, E'Var's hunting grounds were experiencing the worst heat wave in years, triggering the Jotan breeding cycle in both males.

Home is not an option for either of them. Both are determined to find a way to work on this hostile planet, surrounded by humans, surrounded by dangers, surrounded by Heat.


Adult readers only, due to graphic gore, violence, and explicit sexual situations.

Amazon kindle US/UK

9/10

* * *
 This is a twisted, addictive and utterly compelling read, which will leave you confused and wanting. Why? Because despite the villain being a really evil, alien and extremely ruthless character, you can't help but root for him.

Urban Fantasy Review: Hunter by Skyla Dawn Cameron

Hunter by Skyla Dawn Cameron (Demons of Oblivion #2)


review request

Synopsis from Goodreads
Sometimes natural predators need to be kept in check, and for that, there's Ryann David. Orphaned as an infant and raised by an exiled branch of the church to become a warrior for God, she and her fellow members of Venatores Daemonum have trained all their lives with only one purpose: destroy all demons in the mortal realm.

But when Ryann and her team are sent to hunt down a vampire who has killed one of their own, a new world of danger, betrayal, and conspiracy greets her. Allied with an irreverent psychic detective and the very monsters she was raised to kill, Ryann will risk everything—her life, her faith, and her heart—in pursuit of the truth as the black and white existence she knew turns a murky shade of gray.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10

* * *
Another fun read from Ms Cameron which reminded me slightly of Vampire Academy because the main heroine was a young, inexperienced vampire hunter who constantly questioned authority. Sounds like Rose, right? There were other similarities as well.

The Postman Knock #55

Hello, everyone!
My Internet connection is crap at the end of the month when we exceed our bandwidth, so I have been reluctant to write any posts this week, besides we are at the end of olive harvest and everyone is exhausted.
All I was doing was reading some great books and hope you were doing the same.

Here is what I've READ:

Fantastic series.
The covers make you think about steampunk-ish YA, but it's far from the truth. It's proper steampunk, very intense, gritty, dark and full of political intrigue and tragedies. First book is solid four star, but the next one upped the ante and shot right into five star category. Really recommended!

NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS:

I'm reading A Study in Ashes right now. I just couldn't resist to read the whole trilogy in one go as soon as I was halfway through book #1. 
Michelle Diener got requested because she in on my absolute must read list; Robin York is a pseudonym for Ruthie Knox who writes really good contemporaries, and Amy Carol Reeves writes a pretty good Gothic historical fiction and I've been following this trilogy for awhile.

BOUGHT:


This is it for me, peeps. 
Hope you have a lovely weekend!
Adeus!

Friday Mini Reviews #16: Sierra Dean, Sherry Thomas and Susan Illene

 
Autumn by Sierra Dean (Dog Days #1)
 bought
 
Synopsis from Goodreads
Cooper Reynolds's life is going to the dogs... literally. As if being a high school senior in a small Texas town wasn't hard enough, Cooper has bigger things to worry about than who he'll take to prom and whether or not the Poisonfoot Padres will win homecoming. He has less than a year before his eighteenth birthday, when a curse placed on his family will doom him to live in coyote form forever. The last thing he needs to complicate his already messed-up life is a girl, but fate has other plans in mind for him when it brings Eloise "Lou" Whittaker to Poisonfoot. She's grouchy, sarcastic and has no love for her new Texas home, but she might be exactly the right person to help Cooper break the curse. The clock is ticking, and Cooper will have to decide if he's willing to let Lou in on his dirty little secret before it's too late.
 Amazon kindle US($0.99)/UK(£0.77)
8.5/10
 A quick, easy and very enjoyable read which reminded me of A Brightest Kind of Darkness series by P. T. Michelle. I was curious to see Sierra Dean get away from her usual genre of urban fantasy and try this one, but this is one of paranormal YA books done right. Nice, simple with no overblown drama and sensible main heroine. I'm very much looking forward to the next book, Winter, which comes out in December 2013.
 * * *
Классный, простенький паранормальный подростковый фикшн без особых соплей и с хорошими главными героями. Сьерра Дин мне нравится теперь не только в городском фэнтези, но и в этом жанре. Напоминает серию П.Т.Мишель и написано на солидную четвёрку. Продолжение выходит в декабре, будем читать.


The Luckiest Lady in London by Sherry Thomas
bought
 
Synopsis from Goodreads

Felix Rivendale, the Marquess of Wrenworth, is The Ideal Gentleman, a man all men want to be and all women want to possess. Felix himself almost believes this golden image. But underneath is a damaged soul soothed only by public adulation.

Louisa Cantwell needs to marry well to support her sisters. She does not, however, want Lord Wrenworth—though he seems inexplicably interested in her. She mistrusts his outward perfection and the praise he garners everywhere he goes.But when he is the only man to propose at the end of the London season, she reluctantly accepts.

Louisa does not understand her husband's mysterious purposes, but she cannot deny the pleasure her body takes in his touch. Nor can she deny the pull this magnetic man exerts upon her. But does she dare to fall in love with a man so full of dark secrets, anyone of which could devastate her, if she were to get any closer?
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond
 8.5/10
 
Gorgeous writing, strong characterisation, charismatic, loveable main heroes, - this is pretty much a trademark for Sherry Thomas. Both Louisa and Felix wear masks, and it takes one skillful pretender to see another. Ironic, sensual, unexpected, this book reminds me of the latest gem by Courtney Milan. However, a slightly disappointing ending made me take a point off my rating.
* * *
Как обычно у Шерри Томас, - написано совершенно шикарно, хотя оценку я занизила из-за неудачной концовки. Оба главных героя скрывают от высшего света свою сущность и носят маски, и как раз их схожесть позволяет им увидеть друг друга такими как они есть. Харизматично, замечательные диалоги и смелые решения, совершенно без клише. Читала с огромным удовольствием. Напоминает последнюю книгу Куртни Милан.

 
Chained by Darkness by Susan Illene (The Sensor #2.5)
review request
 
Synopsis from Goodreads
The longer a man lives, the greater the chance his actions will cost him in the future. When that man is an immortal nephilim, the misdeeds can really pile up. Lucas has paid for the crimes of his past for centuries, resisting any close relationship that might make his life even more difficult. Until Melena. Only she could begin to melt the ice shielding his heart, but then he was captured by his greatest enemies—angels.

Now imprisoned in Purgatory, he’s awaiting trial for his latest crime and knows the verdict will not be in his favor. Lucas is resigned to the fact his life might be over, but fears without his protection Melena may not survive for long. She’s got her own enemies back in Alaska and her mortality makes her easy prey. Whatever happens to him, he must find a way to keep her safe. No matter the cost.
Amazon kindle US($1.99)/UK(£1.27)
8/10

 As a really intriguing insight into Lucas's mind, this is a very good novella. Before I read it I was moaning about another shirtless hero on the cover of urban fantasy book, but this cover suits Lucas and this story to a tee. It was pretty great, especially the ending with Melena, which made me really look forward to the next book. Also, loved Sons of Anarchy mention. *thumbs up*
* * *
Хаха, у Люкаса есть конечно свои прикольные моменты. Он со своим сарказмом и упоминанием современных сериалов типа Сынов Анархии меня насмешил и порадовал. Он мне всё-таки напоминает своим характером Эдварда из серии про Аниту Блэйк Лорел Гамильтон. Такой жизнерадостный, упрямый и симпатичный социопат. Интересно, и теперь мне очень  хочется прочитать следующую книгу серии.

Steampunk Novel Review: A Study in Silks by Emma Jane Holloway

A Study in Silks by Emma Jane Holloway (The Baskerville Affair #1)


Egalley thanks to Del Rey

Synopsis from Goodreads
Evelina Cooper, niece of Sherlock Holmes, is ready for her first London Season - except for a murderer, missing automatons, a sorcerer, and a talking mouse. In a Victorian era ruled by a ruthless steam baron council, mechanical power is the real monarch, and sorcery the demon enemy of the empire. Evelina has secretly mastered a coveted weapon - magic that can run machines. Should she trust the handsome, clever rake who speeds her breath, or the dashing trick rider who would dare anything she would ask?

 Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * * 
This was really pleasurable steampunk fiction, ladies and gents. Not steampunk-ish which is pretty popular these days, but something that was full of delightful cogs and gadgets, and with a whole empire running on steam. Loved it!

Paranormal YA Review: Destiny by P.T. Michelle

Destiny by P.T. Michelle (Brightest Kind of Darkness #3)


review request from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
When destiny is on the line, will love be enough to light the way?

In order to save Ethan, Nara gets pulled deeper into his dark world, where everything she thought she knew about Ethan and herself turns on its head. Ethan and Nara turn up the heat with bone-melting seduction and heart-rending moments, but surprising revelations, lies, treachery, betrayal, and unimaginable evil will challenge their relationship and their future together. As the stakes rise, encompassing more than just her relationship with Ethan, will Nara make the ultimate sacrifice?

Note: DESTINY is the 3rd book in the BRIGHTEST KIND OF DARKNESS series. It isn't the last book. There will be one more book.

Amazon kindle US($3.99)/UK(£2.99)

8/10

* * *
I've mentioned before that I really enjoy this paranormal YA series, and its first two books A Brightest Kind of Darkness and Lucid were certainly fantastic. However, I felt like in this particular installment the plot went woolgathering.

The Postman Knock #54

Brr, it's been getting much colder in the last few days, the winter is coming *grinning*
We had an awesome barbeque on Friday and we took it easy the day after. I spent all day updating Olives And Acorns, and I think I'm up to date on most of what happened in the last 8 weeks.
So sorry, peeps, that I haven't had time to look at other blogs and comment! 
I love you all, especially Blodeuedd, Bea, Vika, Dehlia, Aurian, Kimba, Maria, Mel, Melissa and Joy who haven't deserted me while I've abandoned their blogs. Huge hugs xxx
I will try to do better by you all!

I've READ:

HEAT was absolutely awesome, and I want the author to make it into a series, because it definitely needs to go on. I also loved AUTUMN which reminded me of Brightest Kind of Darkness series by P.T. Michelle. At last, both DESTINY and CHAINED BY DARKNESS were solid 4 star reads, and I'll be reviewing them very soon.

NETGALLEY/EDELWEISS:
I am really looking forward to both!

FOR REVIEW:
Thank you, Melanie!

BOUGHT:
This is it for me, ladies and gents.
Stay warm and have a lovely weekend,
tchau!


Sci Fi Review: The Last Hour of Gann by R. Lee Smith

The Last Hour of Gann by R. Lee Smith


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
It was her last chance:

Amber Bierce had nothing left except her sister and two tickets on Earth’s first colony-ship. She entered her Sleeper with a five-year contract and the promise of a better life, but awakened in wreckage on an unknown world. For the survivors, there is no rescue, no way home and no hope until they are found by Meoraq—a holy warrior more deadly than any hungering beast on this hostile new world…but whose eyes show a different sort of hunger when he looks at her.

It was his last year of freedom:

Uyane Meoraq is a Sword of Sheul, God’s own instrument of judgment, victor of hundreds of trials, with a conqueror’s rights over all men. Or at least he was until his father’s death. Now, without divine intervention, he will be forced to assume stewardship over House Uyane and lose the life he has always known. At the legendary temple of Xi’Matezh, Meoraq hopes to find the deliverance he seeks, but the humans he encounters on his pilgrimage may prove too great a test even for him…especially the one called Amber, behind whose monstrous appearance burns a woman’s heart unlike any he has ever known.

From R. Lee Smith, author of Heat and Cottonwood, comes an epic new story of desire, darkness and the dawn that comes after The Last Hour of Gann.

WARNING: This book contains graphic violence, strong sexual content and explicit language. It is intended for mature readers only.


 Amazon kindle US/UK

9/10

* * *
The good thing, ladies and gents, is that this book will blow your mind. The bad thing, - it's not for everyone. 

This is a pretty epic sci-fi romance; a hefty tome, at 1000+ pages, with quite a lot of world building and various trials and tribulations for the main group of characters, which at times are very hard to stomach, but the whole experience is absolutely addictive.

Urban Fantasy Review: Bloodlines by Skyla Dawn Cameron

Bloodlines by Skyla Dawn Cameron (Demons of Oblivion #1)


review request from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
After three hundred years of unlife, vampire Zara Lain has seemingly done it all, and she's now making a living as a successful thief-turned-assassin. Her newest assignment seems simple enough--kill the aging leader of the O'Connor Coven and his only heir, and she'll have another ten million in the bank. But in the dangerous world of the supernatural, few things are ever "simple."
When a massive assault decimates the continent's population of powerful witches and warlocks, and its orchestrator has vampires being hunted down and captured, Zara realizes the tables have turned and now she'll be playing the hero. Forced to join with a smart-mouthed fellow vampire, a demonologist who's also a fan of hers, a recently widowed--and frequently brooding--warlock, and her best friend's mom, Zara's grudgingly willing to do what she can to save the day. If only people would stop ruining all her outfits...
Amazon  UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond 

8.5/10

* * *
What a riot this book was! I felt like rediscovering what the genre of urban fantasy is about all over again. Loved it!

Historical Crime Fiction Review: Delia's Shadow by Jaime Lee Moyer

Delia's Shadow by Jaime Lee Moyer (Delia Martin #1)


Egalley thanks to Tor

Synopsis from Goodreads
A dark, romantic fantasy set against the backdrop of San Francisco devastated by the Great Quake

It is the dawn of a new century in San Francisco and Delia Martin is a wealthy young woman whose life appears ideal. But a dark secret colors her life, for Delia’s most loyal companions are ghosts, as she has been gifted (or some would say cursed) with an ability to peer across to the other side.

Since the great quake rocked her city in 1906, Delia has been haunted by an avalanche of the dead clamoring for her help. Delia flees to the other side of the continent, hoping to gain some peace. After several years in New York, Delia believes she is free…until one determined specter appears and she realizes that she must return to the City by the Bay in order to put this tortured soul to rest.

It will not be easy, as the ghost is only one of the many victims of a serial killer who was never caught. A killer who after thirty years is killing again.

And who is now aware of Delia’s existence.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond 

8/10

* * *
To be honest I was expecting some sort of historical YA fiction, pretty light, slightly paranormal, with a heavy accent on a love story.

Instead this book is dark, sinister and gripping. It's a paranormal thriller, and I really think the fans of Amanda Stevens would appreciate it the most. Also, it's not a YA.

The Postman Knock #53

Hello, my precious!
How is things with you?
I've been gorging myself on R Lee Smith's books this week. I can't help it. She is addictive.

READ:

All was read for pure pleasure and I haven't even touched my review books!

BOUGHT:

This is it for me for today, folks. Hope your reading week was as good as mine!
Lots of love xxx

P.S. This is me in our orchard. It was a great week.

Dreaming of Books #14

This feature/meme is very much like On The Smugglers Radar from The Book Smugglers , and I will use it when I really want to bring to your attention some of the very cool book releases I'm looking forward to. You are welcome to borrow this feature if you want.

 Summary
 Night Owls book store is the one spot on campus open late enough to help out even the most practiced slacker. The employees’ penchant for fighting the evil creatures of the night is just a perk….

Valerie McTeague’s business model is simple: provide the students of Edgewood College with a late-night study haven and stay as far away from the underworld conflicts of her vampire brethren as possible. She’s lived that life, and the price she paid was far too high to ever want to return.

Elly Garrett hasn’t known any life except that of fighting the supernatural werewolf-like beings known as Creeps or Jackals. But she always had her mentor and foster father by her side—until he gave his life protecting a book that the Creeps desperately want to get their hands on.

When the book gets stashed at Night Owls for safe keeping, those Val holds nearest and dearest are put in mortal peril. Now Val and Elly will have to team up, along with a mismatched crew of humans, vampires, and lesbian succubi, to stop the Jackals from getting their claws on the book and unleashing unnamed horrors.

Release date: February 25th 2014.

Three words: vampire book store. I have to read this!

Summary

RAGNAR AND JULIET, a romantic comedy space opera:

Bounty hunting is usually so easy. Flash a little cleavage, mix a roofie cocktail, and Juliet has her man right where she wants him: out cold, ready to be swapped for cash.  Her passions are freedom, trashy clothes, and pie -- not necessarily in that order.

Hunky alien ship captain Ragnar doesn't deserve torture at the hands of the psychotic king who hired Juliet; he liberated one of William the Nefarious' illegal concubines. Juliet can't ignore such a noble act.  She doesn’t trust men, but this one, with the kindest smile she's ever seen, picks away at her resolve to stay aloof and clothed. He's just so...nice! Crazy she can deal with; sincerity is terrifying.

Before she gives in to her irrational urge to get a timeshare with him (and his cute tail), they're caught by the bad guys. Ragnar disappears and abandons her to her disgusting captors -- so much for togetherness. Perhaps he’s not such a saint. Even worse, Nefarious William (who prefers "Bob") has nominated her for Concubine of the Evening. This dubious honor does not thrill her, and only a few hours remain before the king’s mind-altering drugs obliterate her free will.

Sexual slavery might not be fatal, but Juliet would rather die. Of course, the third option (run away to a beach and hump Ragnar silly) is the best, if they can live that long.

Okay, have you read the summary? This sounds hilarious. I've got another book of this author on my kindle to try first, but I'll get to this one eventually. 

Summary

It is the spring of 1885 and wealthy New York socialite Beret Osmundsen has been estranged from her younger sister, Lillie, for a year when she gets word from her aunt and uncle that Lillie has died suddenly in Denver.  What they do not tell her is that Lillie had become a prostitute and was brutally murdered in the brothel where she had been living.  When Beret discovers the sordid truth of Lillie’s death, she makes her way to Denver, determined to find her sister’s murderer.  Detective Mick McCauley may not want her involved in the case, but Beret is determined, and the investigation soon takes her from the dangerous, seedy underworld of Denver’s tenderloin to the highest levels of Denver society.  Along the way, Beret not only learns the depths of Lillie’s depravity, but also exposes the sinister side of Gilded Age ambition in the process.  

Sandra Dallas once again delivers a page-turner filled with mystery, intrigue, and the kind of intricate detail that truly transports you to another time and place.  

In recent years I've rediscovered my love for historical fiction especially if there is a mystery involved. This sounds pretty great.

Summary

What if there was an app that told you what song to listen to, what coffee to order, who to date, even what to do with your life—an app that could ensure your complete and utter happiness? What if you never had to fail or make a wrong choice?

What if you never had to fall?

Release date: May 13th 2014.

I loved Parallel by this author, she's got an amazing imagination, and I have no doubt I will enjoy Free to Fall.

Summary

Gamin, Maine, is a remote seaside town where everyone seems to know Ellis Harkington better than she knows herself—but she doesn’t remember any of them.

Unknown events have robbed Ellis of her memory. Concerned individuals, who purport to be her friends and loved ones, insist that she simply needs to recuperate, that her memories may return in time, but refuse to divulge what has brought her to this state. For her own sake, so they say.

Ellis finds herself adrift in a town of ominous mysteries, cryptic hints, and disturbingly familiar strangers. The Nightbirds, a clique of fashionable young men and women, claim her as one of their own, but who among them can she truly trust? And what of the phantom suitor who visits her in her dreams? Is he a memory, a figment of her imagination, or a living nightmare beyond rational explanation?

Only her lost past hold the answers she seeks—if she can uncover its secrets before she fall prey to an unearthly killer.

Release date: July 1st 2014.

Memory loss along with the mystery plus creepy book cover. How can I resist?

Summary

Samuel Hawkins, Sergeant in the King's Sentry, has been called in to investigate a murder case. As he awaits the Archivists to arrive—the team who will use a special device to extract the memories of the dead man to help find clues to his murder—he never expects to come face to face with the woman he'd left behind when he'd fled the Archives five years earlier.

Piper Smith has grown from the girl Samuel remembered into a strong woman and full-fledged archivist. Shadowed by her mentor, Master Ryerson, Piper will be performing her first extraction. When she sees Samuel, she must push aside her childhood crush, else risk her standing within the Guild.

As the two begin working together to find the killer, Samuel and Piper explore their intense attraction to each other. But "Jack the Ripper" proves to be harder to catch than the two originally thought. What's worse, they discover he may very well work for the Archives. Now, Samuel and Piper must battle internal and external threats as they try to foil a plot against the Crown and stop Jack the Ripper from taking his next victim.

Release date: January 7th 2014.

Sounds like something Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris would write, doesn't it? I just wish every other steampunk and historical fiction writer would stop using Jack The Ripper already. It's getting stale.

Summary
 
It’s hard being a regular police officer in Galilee Falls, a city with the highest concentration of superheroes and villains in the country. It’s even harder watching your best friend, the man you’re secretly in love with your whole life, planning to marry another woman. Detective Joanna Fallon has to contend with both. When the vilest supervillain in the city’s history, Alkaline, the former crime boss who can shoot acid from his wrists, escapes from the maximum security prison, the whole city is gripped by panic. Leading the pursuit is Captain Harry O’Hara, Joanna’s boss and secret lover, and the city’s champion superhero Justice, who caught the villain last time, much to Joanna’s chagrin. Before her father was murdered in a mugging twenty years earlier, Joanna worshiped the hero, but when he disappeared and failed to save her father, that adoration turned to contempt for all supers. After Alkaline attacks too close to home and targets Joanna as his next victim, tough-as-nail Joanna has to contend with her increasing fear while struggling to choose between her life-long crush and her new-found love.

At turns vulnerable and fierce, equally mordant and winsome, Joanna is an earnest yet emotionally damaged heroine, who despite the tough breaks of her childhood sees the good in people and vow to protect her beloved city at all costs. An ass-kicking petite firecracker with no superpowers of her own, she charges after supervillains unflinchingly, never losing her wit even when facing her toughest fight. With a coy blend of whimsy and vivid imagination, she delivers both humor and thrills in an action-packed and edgy blend of comic book cool, fantasy-noir, and bitter-sweet romance.

Anything to do with superheroes or supervillains is a win-win in my book. Love the cover as well!


Summary

At the turn of the twentieth century, London’s political climate is in turmoil, as women fight for the right to vote. Dody McCleland has her own battles to fight. As England’s first female autopsy surgeon, not only must she prove herself, she must prove that murder treats everyone equally… After a heated women’s rights rally turns violent, an innocent suffragette is found murdered. When she examines the body, Dody McCleland is shocked to realize that the victim was a friend of her sister—fueling her determination to uncover the cause of the protestor’s suspicious death. For Dody, gathering clues from a body is often easier than handling the living—especially Chief Detective Inspector Pike. Pike is looking to get to the bottom of this case but has a hard time trusting anyone—including Dody. Determined to earn Pike’s trust and to find the killer, Dody will have to sort through real and imagined secrets. But if she’s not careful, she may end up on her own examination table…

A female autopsy surgeon at that age? It sounds pretty unique, and I've only heard about this series recently. 

Summary

Move over, Sookie Stackhouse—the witches of Savannah are the new talk of the South. Bold, flirty, and with a touch of darkness, debut author J.D. Horn spins a mesmerizing tale of a family of witches . . . and the problem that can arise from being so powerful. As Charlaine Harris’ series winds down—and as Deborah Harkness’ series heats up—Witching Savannah is new contemporary fantasy that will be sure to enchant new readers.

Mercy Taylor, the youngest member of Savannah’s preeminent witching family, was born without the gift of magic. She is accustomed to coming in a distant second to the minutes older, exquisite and gifted twin she adores. Hopelessly in love with her sister’s boyfriend, she goes to a Hoodoo root doctor for a love spell. A spell that will turn her heart to another man, the best friend who has loved her since childhood.

Aunt Ginny, the family’s matriarch, would not approve. But Mercy has more to worry about than a love triangle when Aunt Ginny is brutally murdered. Ginny was the Taylor family’s high commander in the defense of the bewitched line that separates humankind from the demons who once ruled our realm.

A demon invasion looms now that the line is compromised. Worse yet, some within the witching world stand to gain from a demon takeover. Mercy, entangled in the dark magic of her love spell, fighting for her sister’s trust, and hopelessly without magic, must tap the strength born from being an outcast to protect the line she doesn’t feel a part of...

In this riveting contemporary fantasy, Horn delivers the full betrayal, blood, and familial discord of the best of Southern gothic.

Release date: January 7th 2014.

Anything similar to my beloved Deborah Harkness I will gobble up, plus the cover is some badass awesomeness!


Summary

An opium-addicted beauty.
An infamous poet living in self-imposed exile.
An ancient treasure about to fall into the wrong hands.

Melanie Karsak's Chasing the Star Garden takes readers on a thrilling adventure from the gritty opium dens of gaslamp London to the gem-colored waters of the ancient world. Lily Stargazer, a loveable but reckless airship racer with a famous lover and shattered past, reluctantly plunges into a centuries-old mystery in a romantic adventure best described as Dan Brown meets Mary Shelley.

It all begins on one of the worst days of Lily’s life. She just lost the London leg of the 1823 Airship Grand Prix. To top it off, a harlequin fleeing from constables shoved a kaleidoscope down her pants, told her to fly to Venice, then threw himself from her airship tower. What’s a girl to do? For Lily, the answer is easy: drink absinthe and smoke opium.

Lily’s lover, Lord Byron, encourages her to make the trip to Venice. Lily soon finds herself at the heart of an ancient mystery which has her running from her past and chasing true love and the stars along the way.

Release date: December 4th, 2013.

The cover is stunning and the description sounds very intriguing. I am truly looking forward to this book! 

This is it for today. Anything you are interested in, peeps?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger