If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Urban Fantasy Series Katherine "Kitty" Katt by Gini Koch Review

Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series by Gini Koch 


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
How can a sexy marketing manager join forces with an Alpha Centauri male in Armani to save the planet-using hairspray, a Mont Blanc pen, and rock n' roll?

Easy... 


Marketing manager Katherine "Kitty" Katt steps into the middle of what appears to be a domestic dispute turned ugly. And it only gets uglier when the man turns into a winged monster, straight out of a grade-Z horror movie, and goes on a killing spree. Though Kitty should probably run away, she springs into action to take the monster down.

In the middle of the chaos a handsome hunk named Jeff Martini appears, sent by the "agency" to perform crowd control. He's Kitty's kind of guy, no matter what planet he's from. And from now on, for Kitty, things are going to be sexy, dangerous, wild, and out of this world
.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

8.5/10

 * * *
I read the first book in the series absolutely ages ago, enjoyed the hell out of it, and then promptly forgot about it. As you do.

Then Meliane started reading the series, and I thought "why not? I'd get back into it too". Five books later I finally slowed down to a crawl, because I honestly overdid it, peeps. I stuffed myself silly with this series.

October New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!

I've read Parasite (good) and Banquet of Lies (fab). I also have Tempt The Stars and My Lady Quicksilver in my kindle waiting to be read. What are you waiting for?

Historical Fiction Review: Tainted Angel by Anne Cleeland

Tainted Angel by Anne Cleeland


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
A deadly game of deception
A notorious beauty with a shadowy past


In the time of Napoleon, Vidia Swanson appears to live a gilded life of ease and luxury. Beneath this façade, however, she works for the Home Office as an ‘angel,’ coaxing secrets from powerful men who may or may not be traitors to the Crown. In the course of her latest assignment, matters take an alarming turn when she realizes that her spymaster suspects that she is the one who is tainted--a double agent working for the enemy.

Lucien Carstairs is a fellow agent with his own dark secrets--unless he is setting an elaborate trap to reveal her own supposed treason. Backed into a corner, she can only hope to stay one step ahead of the hangman in a race to stop the next war before it destroys them--and destroys England.

Tainted Angel offers up a compelling game of cat and mouse in which no one can be trusted--and anyone can be tainted.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
I'm telling you straight away, if you like Michelle Diener and her 19th century spy historical novels, you'd really enjoy Anne Cleeland.

Paranormal Fantasy Early Review: The Scribe by Elizabeth Hunter

The Scribe by Elizabeth Hunter (Irin Chronicles #1)


review request from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Hidden at the crossroads of the world, an ancient race battles to protect humanity, even as it dies from within.

Ava Matheson came to Istanbul looking for answers, but others came looking for her. A reckless warrior guards her steps, but will Malachi’s own past blind him to the truth of who Ava might be? While ancient forces gather around them, both Ava and Malachi search for answers.

Whispering voices. Deadly touch. Their passion should be impossible... or it could be the only thing that will keep them alive.

THE SCRIBE is the first book in the Irin Chronicles, the new paranormal romance series from Elizabeth Hunter, author of the Elemental Mysteries.

Release date: October 15th 2013.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US($4.99)/UK(£3.36) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

* * *
This book doesn't read as a separate story, it reads as a beginning of something wonderful, and the ending especially confirms that impression.

Release Day Steampunk Review: Corroded by Karina Cooper

Corroded by Karina Cooper (The St. Croix Chronicles #3)


Egalley thanks to Carina Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
Hungry for vengeance, Cherry St. Croix is forced to the fog-ridden streets of Victorian London.

My rival, a collector of bounties like myself, has murdered one of my own. In consequence, I have been removed from my house, my staff, and all who would support me. I have nowhere else to turn, so I beg asylum within the Midnight Menagerie, London’s decadent pleasure garden.

Micajah Hawke’s dominance there will not tolerate my presence for long. I am fixated on revenge, but I walk a razor’s edge under his scrutiny His wicked power is not easily ignored, and I must not allow myself to submit—no matter how sweet the sacrifice.

Challenging my rival to a race is the only way to end this, no small task when the quarry is the murderous Jack the Ripper. As my enemies close in, I fear the consequences of this hunt. I am trapped between two killers, and what doesn’t kill me may leave its scars forever.

Amazon kindle US($3.03)/UK(£2.39)

8.5/10

* * *
I always enjoy this gritty, down to earth, fantastic steampunk series, but I admit that book #3 was a bit hard on me.

The Postman Knock #47, Last One in a While...

Hello, everyone!
By the time you are reading this I'll be driving on my way to the ferry, which will take us to Spain, and from there we'll drive to Portugal to our new farm.
All in all, I'm a nervous wreck and I'm tired and just want to get there. I'm also worried about our baby cat who is travelling with us, poor sod.
Anyway, the point is, I'll be off grid with very sporadic Internet for some time. I'm hoping that the worst case scenario is until the end of October, but who knows?
I'll keep you all posted and hopefully, we'll be able to celebrate Halloween together...
Keep fingers crossed for me, ladies and gents.
I love you all.

I'm actually reading a lot of books at the moment but finished only one as I'm a scatterbrain right now!

READ:


ACROBAT is my first book of Mary Calmes and it's definitely not the last. Really sweet, at times pretty hot, it was pure escapism on my part.

BOUGHT:



I bought quite a lot :) Most of it was under a pound, and I had these on my wishlist for absolute ages!

FOR REVIEW:

Thank you so much, Penny! You are a totally star! :)) It was like Christmas in my house when I got this.

FREEBIE:


This is it, I'm ending this with a travelling song and hope you are behaving while I'm not watching you, peeps! *wink*
Ciao!




A Regency Version of Mr. & Mrs. Smith? An Interview with Anne Cleeland


Hi, Anne and thank you for visiting Nocturnal Book Reviews! In one sentence can you tell us what Tainted Angel is all about?

Tainted Angel is a Regency version of the movie Mr. & Mrs. Smith.

What kind of reader do you think will gravitate towards your book?

This book will (hopefully!) appeal to a variety of readers—readers who love Regencies and
historicals, readers who love adventure stories, and readers who love romances. The plot mixes romance, adventure and mystery.

Your writing blends historical fiction and mystery. What made you choose this genre?

I like to call this type of story “Regency Adventure,” even though technically there is no such subgenre. My favorite stories are about ordinary people swept up in extraordinary events, so that’s what I like to write. If you can plot a romance that is tied up in a mystery, and then throw in a treasure hunt, you have the makings of a pretty interesting plot!

What kind of research did you have to undertake for Tainted Angel?

Language and historical accuracy are always very tricky; you have to try to strike a balance between evoking the Regency era and still appealing to the average modern reader (who is not a history professor and may not be familiar with that world.) I try not to overwhelm the reader with a lot of historical facts—only enough to explain why the stakes are so high for the characters.

And thank heaven for Google and Wikipedia; I am constantly checking to make sure I’m not making an obvious error. Did you know that bedsprings hadn’t yet been invented in 1814?

At last, what are your writing plans for the future?


I am also writing a contemporary British detective series; the first book is called Murder in Thrall, if any of your readers like mysteries. It is the first in a three-book series.

In November, the second book in this historical series will come out; Daughter of the God-King. It is about a heroine who travels to Egypt after her famous archeologist parents disappear, only to discover that various
factions from the last war are desperate to find her—for reasons that are unclear. She begins to suspect that her love interest is not what he seems, and she doesn’t know who to trust as she uncovers one devastating secret after the other, all while the next war looms on the horizon.

 Anne Cleeland holds a degree in English from UCLA as well as a degree in law from Pepperdine University, and is a member of the California State Bar.
She writes a historical fiction series set in the Regency period as well as a contemporary mystery series set in New Scotland Yard. A member of the Historical Novel Society and Mystery Writers of America, she lives in California and has four children.
 Find Anne:

Friday Mini Reviews #15 - Burn Mark, Insatiable and The Kingdom of Gods

Burn Mark by Laura Powell (Burn Mark #1)

won from the publisher through Book Chick City

Synopsis from Goodreads
In a modern world where witches are hunted down and burned at the stake, two lives intersect. Glory is from a family of witches, and is desperate to develop her 'Fae' powers and become a witch herself, though witch-activity carries a threat of being burned at the stake. Lucas is the son of the Chief Prosecutor for the Inquisition with a privileged life very different from the witches he is being trained to prosecute. And then one day, both Glory and Lucas develop the Fae. In one fell stroke, their lives are inextricably bound together.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK(£1.79) | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8.5/10

That was one fabulous dystopian paranormal YA! thrilling, fast-paced and gritty without all the moony eyes and instalove. I've enjoyed it so much I'm not hesitating to recommend it to fans of urban fantasy reads and Ally Carter's books, it has that feel about it. I'll be definitely reading book #2 soon.
* * *
Очень хороший подростковый фикшн в стиле Алли Картер, если бы она писала дистопии про ведьм и инквизиторов. Книга полная действия, читается очень быстро, в ней отсутствует инста-любовь, и вообще она фокусируется на событиях вместо чувств и главные герои оба сильные и решительные персонажи. 


 Insatiable by Meg Cabot (Insatiable #1)

library

Synopsis from Goodreads

Sick of hearing about vampires? So is Meena Harper.

Meena Harper is familiar with the supernatural. After all, she knows how you're going to die. (Not that you're going to believe her. No one ever does.) But not even Meena's precognition can prepare her for Lucien Antonescu--whom she meets and then makes the mistake of falling in love with--a modern-day prince with a bit of a dark side for which an ancient society of vampire hunters would prefer to see him dead.

The problem is Lucien's already dead. Maybe that's why he's the first guy Meena's ever met with whom she could imagine herself having a future. See, while Meena's always been able to see everyone else's destiny, she's never been able to look into her own. Lucien seems to be everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, though he might turn out to be more of a nightmare.

So now would be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future... if she has one.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK | Fishpond

8/10

I always thought after Meg Cabot's disastrous foray into paranormal YA series that she should just stick to what she does best - hilarious, sharp and awkward chic lit, and I was right. Insatiable is clutzy and cutesy and fab, and I enjoyed it immensely. Very much recommended for all fans of Meg Cabot of old.
* * *
Я уже давно ворчала после ужасающей попытки Мег Кэбот написать серию серьёзного паранормального кидалта, что лучше ей продолжать делать то, что у неё так хорошо получается - писать милые, смешные, помешанные на моде и красивых туфлях и сумках, неглубокомысленные романы чик-лит. Ненасытная мне очень понравилась и серьёзно насмешила. Ну очень мило, уютно и легко читается.


The Kingdom of Gods by N.K. Jemisin (The Inheritance Trilogy #3)

library

Synopsis from Goodreads

The incredible conclusion to the Inheritance Trilogy, from one of fantasy's most acclaimed stars.

For two thousand years the Arameri family has ruled the world by enslaving the very gods that created mortalkind. Now the gods are free, and the Arameri's ruthless grip is slipping. Yet they are all that stands between peace and world-spanning, unending war.

Shahar, last scion of the family, must choose her loyalties. She yearns to trust Sieh, the godling she loves. Yet her duty as Arameri heir is to uphold the family's interests, even if that means using and destroying everyone she cares for.

As long-suppressed rage and terrible new magics consume the world, the Maelstrom -- which even gods fear -- is summoned forth. Shahar and Sieh: mortal and god, lovers and enemies. Can they stand together against the chaos that threatens?

Includes a never before seen story set in the world of the Inheritance Trilogy.
Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

8/10

Personally I think it's not N.K. Jemisin's best book so far. The fault lies purely with Sieh - the child-god and main character of the book. He is too volatile and too much of a child to interest me enough to care. I did not care and I got pretty bored with this book despite some good parts here and there.
* * *
На настоящий момент не самая лучшая книга писательницы несмотря на то, что обычно я от неё в восторге. Проблема, как мне кажется, лежит на плечах Сье - главного героя, ребёнка-бога, который слишком недоразвит  и непостоянен, чтобы вызвать у читателя сострадание. Некоторые части книги были хороши, но в основном я скучала.

Urban Fantasy Early Review: On Midnight Wings by Adrian Phoenix

On Midnight Wings by Adrian Phoenix (The Maker's Song #5)


Egalley thanks to Pocket

Synopsis from Goodreads
A DESPERATE SEARCH. A DARK AND DANGEROUS JOURNEY. AND EVERY STEP COULD DESTROY EVERYONE DANTE LOVES.

ONLY ONE MORTAL WOMAN CAN SAVE HIM . . .

As Dante Baptiste’s true identity as both True Blood and Fallen ripples throughout New Orleans, he and Heather struggle for their lives against different foes, fighting their way back to each other. To free herself from her father’s treachery, Heather accepts help from an ally–and steps into even greater danger. Dante, lost to his brutal past, wavers between his own sense of self and the Bad Seed-programmed S that lurks within, between the never-ending Road and the Great Destroyer. And the danger of becoming both.

. . . UNLESS THE FALLEN REACH HIM FIRST.

Lucien searches frantically for the lovers, all too aware that time is running out. Dark forces continue to gather, eager to possess and manipulate the young vampire for their own ends. The fate of mortals, nightkind, and the Fallen pivots around Dante as he struggles to piece together his shattered psyche and gain control of his power before he rips all three worlds asunder.

Release date: September 24th 2013.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | The Book Depository US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
Most of the time I can't keep myself away from Adrian Phoenix's books, because they are pure, hard-boiled urban fantasy, but on this occasion I felt pretty overwhelmed. 

New Adult Release Day Review: Unspoken by Jen Frederick

Unspoken by Jen Frederick (Woodlands #2)


review request from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Whore. Slut. Typhoid Mary.

I've been called all these at Central College. One drunken night, one act of irresponsible behavior, and my reputation was ruined. Guys labeled me as easy and girls shied away. To cope, I stayed away from Central social life and away from Central men, so why is it that my new biology lab partner is so irresistible to me?

He's everything I shouldn't want. A former Marine involved in illegal fighting with a quick trigger temper and an easy smile for all the women. His fists aren't the danger to me, though, it's his charm. He's sliding his way into my heart and I'm afraid that he's going to be the one to break me.

Impulsive. Unthinking. Hot tempered.

I allow instinct to rule my behavior. If it feels good, do it, has been my motto because if I spend too much time thinking, I'll begin to remember exactly where I came from. At Central College, I've got fighting and I've got women and I thought I was satisfied until I met her.

She's everything I didn't realize I wanted and the more time I spend with her, the more I want her. But she's been hurt too much in the past and I don't want to be the one to break her. I know I should walk away, but I just can't.

Amazon  US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
I loved how this book carried a beautiful and important message about not giving up on yourself and not giving in to bullying. I really really enjoyed it.

The Postman Knock #46

Hello, everyone! How is things?
This is nearly my last Sunday post in UK, next Sunday we'll be going on a ferry to Spain and from there drive to Portugal. New live, new adventure and all that...
So... if I'm not getting back to you on time with emails or comments, etc. you know why - it's because I'm in the middle of the move and have no internet!
I'm pre-scheduling the posts, but they'll be pretty sporadic, until I connect to the web at home. Be patient, me dears, and I'll be back :)

This week I READ:

I've already reviewed SHADOWS OF VALOR and raised my concerns, so I won't mention anything else. JESSICA CLARE'S series was a pure escapism on my part. I needed to get away from my busy schedule and it definitely worked! Funny, sweet and short, that was all I needed.

NETGALLEY:

 I'm reading both right now, and they are fab, I just can't concentrate enough! :)

BOUGHT:


FREEBIES:

Both might still be free on Amazon, who knows? :)

This is it. 
Have a lovely Sunday, and here is a pair of fab artists I found last night.
Enjoy!



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

Search

Loading...

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger